Author Topic: Forum relaunch  (Read 25108 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Cyberpunk

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 46
  • Man is virus.
Re: Forum relaunch
« Reply #15 on: June 13, 2014, 09:33:02 PM »
I used the same e-mailaddress for the program and for this form. But when I login with that e-mailaddress it doesn't make the link to my original username. So now I have a brand new account... I am NOT amused.  >:(

Also, I expected an e-mail to inform me about the forum being fixed and with a link to recover my original profile. I mean, there was an e-mail informing the forum was down... Again: NOT amused.  >:(

And I can only agree with kls490a: the CAPTCHA is a real PITA. Very difficult to read. Too difficult!

Changed my password without any issues.
It's great to have the forums back.  ;D ;)  ;D

@ kls490a

1) Log-out
2) Log-in
3) Click "forgot log-in information".
4) Follow the procedure to reset password.

It took me all of five minutes on a 8 MB/sec connection.  8)

I have a 30Mbps connection, but your m.o. doesn't work for me. Probably because I used the same e-mailaddress for the avast! account and the avast! forum account.

Edit 1: Can't seem to create an avatar either. Not with a URL and not with uploading.



Edit 2: This problem is solved, but I still can't access my old profile... :(
« Last Edit: June 14, 2014, 02:19:32 PM by Cyberpunk2 »
--
Windows 7 Home Premium x64 SP1 - avast! Free Antivirus 12.2.2276

Offline Dch48

  • Massive Poster
  • ****
  • Posts: 3152
Re: Forum relaunch
« Reply #16 on: June 13, 2014, 09:42:24 PM »
I had no problems logging in but an email informing me that the forum was back up would have been nice.
Avatar FX6327X desktop, FX-6300 CPU, RX 470 GPU, 8GB RAM, Windows 10 Home 64 bit
HP dv6-6140us laptop, A8-3500M APU, 8GB RAM, Windows 7 Home Premium 64 bit
RCA W101 v2 10" tablet, Intel Atom Bay Trail Z3735F processor, 2GB RAM, Windows 10 Home 32 bit

Offline MikeBCda

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Super Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 2253
Re: Forum relaunch
« Reply #17 on: June 13, 2014, 09:46:09 PM »
Interesting at my end ... I was delighted to see the email from chocholo, clicked on my old bookmark and found myself at the https addy, already logged in.

The only minor problem apparently was with some cookies ... as others have noted, I found that all postings in all forums were considered "new", plus I had to reset my local time.  So I left (without logging out), deleted all avast cookies (without touching permissions), came back in and made appropriate changes including "mark all as read", and things seem to be fine now.

Part of the minor problems may have been due to the upgrade to Firefox 30 ... I found that "site preferences" for some other places, such as Amazon, have also gone astray and need restored.

Many thanks, chocolo (and probably Vlk and others, too), it's good to be back.
Intel Atom D2700, 2 gig RAM, Win 7 x64 SP1 & IE-11, Firefox 51.0
(default). 320 gig HD, 15Mb DSL, Win firewall, Avast 12.3.2280 free, SpywareBlaster, MBAM Prem., Crypto-Prevent

Offline jamtomorrow

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 3
Re: Forum relaunch
« Reply #18 on: June 13, 2014, 10:06:45 PM »
I used the login of my avast account but had to choose a different display name to the one I previously had on the forum. I had a different email address on the old forum

I've now noticed that when I click on My Devices within the program an "Unexpected Error" is shown and in General Settings my avast account status is shown as "not connected".

Offline Dch48

  • Massive Poster
  • ****
  • Posts: 3152
Re: Forum relaunch
« Reply #19 on: June 13, 2014, 10:14:36 PM »
The local time is wrong and I can't find where to change it.
Avatar FX6327X desktop, FX-6300 CPU, RX 470 GPU, 8GB RAM, Windows 10 Home 64 bit
HP dv6-6140us laptop, A8-3500M APU, 8GB RAM, Windows 7 Home Premium 64 bit
RCA W101 v2 10" tablet, Intel Atom Bay Trail Z3735F processor, 2GB RAM, Windows 10 Home 32 bit

Offline Charyb

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Super Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 2240
Re: Forum relaunch
« Reply #20 on: June 13, 2014, 10:17:49 PM »
The local time is wrong and I can't find where to change it.
Profile -> Modify profile -> Look and layout


@Cyberpunk2
I also get that same error message.

Offline DJBone

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Starting Graphoman
  • ***
  • Posts: 6214
Re: Forum relaunch
« Reply #21 on: June 13, 2014, 10:18:04 PM »
The local time is wrong and I can't find where to change it.
Profile --> Modify Profile --> Look and Layout

DJBone
Main PC: Win 7 Professional SP1 64 Bit, Firefox ESR, IE11, AIS 17.7.2314, MBAM 3 (latest version)
Laptop: Win 10 Home Premium 64 Bit, Firefox ESR, IE11, AIS 17.8.2316Beta, MBAM 3 (latest version)
Avast Mobile Security (always latest Beta version)

Offline Dch48

  • Massive Poster
  • ****
  • Posts: 3152
Re: Forum relaunch
« Reply #22 on: June 13, 2014, 10:21:20 PM »
The local time is wrong and I can't find where to change it.
Profile --> Modify Profile --> Look and Layout

DJBone
Options do not exist. There is no Modify Profile and then obviously, no look and layout.
Avatar FX6327X desktop, FX-6300 CPU, RX 470 GPU, 8GB RAM, Windows 10 Home 64 bit
HP dv6-6140us laptop, A8-3500M APU, 8GB RAM, Windows 7 Home Premium 64 bit
RCA W101 v2 10" tablet, Intel Atom Bay Trail Z3735F processor, 2GB RAM, Windows 10 Home 32 bit

Offline kls490a

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 2
Re: Forum relaunch
« Reply #23 on: June 13, 2014, 10:23:00 PM »
(@ Para-Noid)

Thanks for your comments, however to be blunt......I had already done everything you stated and still Avast! managed to screw everything up!  Sorry.

Like Cyberpunk2...I ALSO have a 30 mbps connection.

I've said my peace here.  Any further discussion is pointless and only serves to anger me even more than I presently am...which I hardly need at my age and end-stage health status.

Regards.

Offline Charyb

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Super Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 2240
Re: Forum relaunch
« Reply #24 on: June 13, 2014, 10:23:52 PM »
The local time is wrong and I can't find where to change it.
Profile --> Modify Profile --> Look and Layout

DJBone
Options do not exist. There is no Modify Profile and then obviously, no look and layout.
When you click on Profile, don't you see it to the right of Profile info? It's a bum deal that I can't attach an image.

Offline George Yves

  • Avast √úberevangelist
  • Massive Poster
  • *****
  • Posts: 4148
  • Help you I can
Re: Forum relaunch
« Reply #25 on: June 13, 2014, 10:24:10 PM »
Well, me too, I am back and glad to see you all, guys!
May the FOSS be with you!

Offline Charyb

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Super Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 2240
Re: Forum relaunch
« Reply #26 on: June 13, 2014, 10:26:11 PM »
Good to see you Jedi master.

Offline DJBone

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Starting Graphoman
  • ***
  • Posts: 6214
Re: Forum relaunch
« Reply #27 on: June 13, 2014, 10:26:48 PM »
The local time is wrong and I can't find where to change it.
Profile --> Modify Profile --> Look and Layout

DJBone
Options do not exist. There is no Modify Profile and then obviously, no look and layout.
Click on Profile --> move cursor over Modify Profile --> in the opening menu click on Look and Layout

DJBone
Main PC: Win 7 Professional SP1 64 Bit, Firefox ESR, IE11, AIS 17.7.2314, MBAM 3 (latest version)
Laptop: Win 10 Home Premium 64 Bit, Firefox ESR, IE11, AIS 17.8.2316Beta, MBAM 3 (latest version)
Avast Mobile Security (always latest Beta version)

Offline Dch48

  • Massive Poster
  • ****
  • Posts: 3152
Re: Forum relaunch
« Reply #28 on: June 13, 2014, 10:27:58 PM »
The local time is wrong and I can't find where to change it.
Profile --> Modify Profile --> Look and Layout

DJBone
Options do not exist. There is no Modify Profile and then obviously, no look and layout.
When you click on Profile, don't you see it to the right of Profile info? It's a bum deal that I can't attach an image.
I found it. It goes -- Profile-->Account Settings-->Modify Profile-->Look and Layout. One extra step  :)
Avatar FX6327X desktop, FX-6300 CPU, RX 470 GPU, 8GB RAM, Windows 10 Home 64 bit
HP dv6-6140us laptop, A8-3500M APU, 8GB RAM, Windows 7 Home Premium 64 bit
RCA W101 v2 10" tablet, Intel Atom Bay Trail Z3735F processor, 2GB RAM, Windows 10 Home 32 bit

Offline Michael (alan1998)

  • Massive Poster
  • ****
  • Posts: 2491
Re: Forum relaunch
« Reply #29 on: June 13, 2014, 11:16:37 PM »
I don't understand why it took 3 weeks? Why is the site so messed up? It takes about the length, but not the width. (About an inch on each side).

Anyways, great to have Avast! back regardless of time.