Author Topic: How disable background scanning  (Read 12374 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline cgvnhvcg

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 9
How disable background scanning
« on: July 22, 2014, 11:34:20 PM »
The only thing I have installed in avast is the file system shield and have only deepscreen enabled in that one settings tab and the persistent and transient cache enabled and other stuff in another tab... I can't figure out what I need to disable so that avast doesn't scan random files when the system is basically idling. I currently see it scanning random my document files that I'm most definitely not accessing (old backup files that I never use) so why is it scanning there? I'd much rather not add my documents to the exclusion, is there anyway to reduce the amount of background scanning avast does, preferably down to zero?

Offline Pondus

  • Probably Bot
  • ****
  • Posts: 37027
Re: How disable background scanning
« Reply #1 on: July 23, 2014, 12:00:11 AM »
Why install a antivirus like avast and then disable all its features?
Why not go for one with no features ..... it seems like that is what you want


Online DavidR

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 85069
  • No support PMs thanks
Re: How disable background scanning
« Reply #2 on: July 23, 2014, 12:23:14 AM »
That is the whole point of having an on-access resident scanner to scan files before they are run to prevent malware from running.

It isn't scanning files when the system is basically idle, avast only scan activity (newly created, modified, run, etc.. Even then it is only certain files that will be scanned, executable files and those which can be infected and would represent an immediate risk if run.

Have you made any other changes to the file shield scanner settings ?
Do you have any other security application installed ?

Avast isn't designed to be an on-demand scanner.
Windows 10 Home 64bit/ Acer Aspire F15/ Intel Core i5 7200U 2.5GHz, 8GB DDR4 memory, 256GB SSD, 1TB HDD/ avast! free 21.4.2464 (build 21.4.6266.561) UI 1.0.639/ Firefox, uBlock Origin, uMatrix/ MailWasher Pro/ Avast! Mobile Security

Offline Eddy

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Maybe Bot
  • ***
  • Posts: 31305
  • Watching (over?) you
    • Malware removal, Biljart and other things.
Re: How disable background scanning
« Reply #3 on: July 23, 2014, 12:57:21 AM »
Keep in mind that also old files, back-upped files can get infected.
Be glad avast is checking them.

It sounds like you have the backup files on the same system as the original files.
That is really something you should not do.
Let's say that your house burns down...

Offline cgvnhvcg

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 9
Re: How disable background scanning
« Reply #4 on: July 23, 2014, 01:26:48 AM »
Well in the statistics it shows files in "my documents" repeatably as being last scanned. Would windows indexing or something like that be searching/indexing folders and causing avast to scan the files there? Would disabling scan on read solve that and just keep it to scan on execute? I really only want it to scan on execute. And don't give me the usual anti-virus elitism I really don't ever get viruses and I know that sounds arrogant but I mean really if I get a exe or something from a site I don't trust ill just sandbox it, same with email attachments their not just going to run on their own so I would just sandbox them (with sandboxie), and if a trusted sites java or flash gets hijacked as has happened in the past apparently I'll just sandbox the browser (or re-enable noscript, but that thing is a pain sometimes). What I need is a lightweight antivius that has virtually no HD usage (I had a HD fail recently so I def want to kill anything that causes unnecessary read/writes) and is just on demand, if avast is the worst possible AV for this job then I guess I need to find another one.

A few changes to the file shield that I did is exclude read/writes for image/video/text files because if im using them as image/video/text files there should be no risk LOL (.docx and doc files aren't excluded because those can have those weird macro viruses or whatever and microsoft is just incompetent) and I've really never had or heard of a virus executing files hidden as media files in a different way, they would have to bundle themselves with the media files, download them, or create them, all of which have never happened in my experience. And I really just want on-demand, which means executing files in their intended fashion which makes those files safe in that way so no point in doing that, unless its going to find hidden al qaeda meta data in the media files, but that's for the NSA not a AV LOL. The only other excludes are my steamapps folders (no need to scan huge gigabyte files) and some trusted programs, especially ones that I never update even, so their safe in their frozen states.

Other than that I just turned off scan files when writing option but it didn't help since I saw random files get scanned again in history.

I have malwarebytes and avira and others but I only use them for manual scanning after updating if I ever find a virus so I can diversify scan definitions (I don't really like using those scan websites that supposedly have multiple definitions), so they are disabled and especially those 4 or 6 avira and spybot S&D services, such bloat. And I use comodo firewall for program leak protection or w/e (preventing things from accessing internet)

And to the other person I have those files backed up on 2 other drives I just keep them around because I haven't run out of space yet. And really the only things avast ever picks up is false positive keygens or cracks, which again ill either sandbox or find one without the "threat". I even had this AV and I think others detect some ".url" file(s) as viruses LOL... guess their making assumptions based on the websites they link to, which one of them was a harmless code repository website.

I've used computers for more than a decade I know how to not get infections, It's daft old people like my parents that I make sure use all of the bloat found in AV these days. So can we please just stay on topic?

Offline Pondus

  • Probably Bot
  • ****
  • Posts: 37027
Re: How disable background scanning
« Reply #5 on: July 23, 2014, 01:36:00 AM »
Quote
I really don't ever get viruses......................................

then why have all this   ???
Quote
I have malwarebytes and avira and others....................




Offline Eddy

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Maybe Bot
  • ***
  • Posts: 31305
  • Watching (over?) you
    • Malware removal, Biljart and other things.
Re: How disable background scanning
« Reply #6 on: July 23, 2014, 02:19:06 AM »
Quote
A few changes to the file shield that I did is exclude read/writes for image/video/text files because if im using them as image/video/text files there should be no risk
You are wrong. image and video files can also spread malware.
Quote
The only other excludes are my steamapps folders (no need to scan huge gigabyte files) and some trusted programs, especially ones that I never update even, so their safe in their frozen states.
Wrong again. Those can get infected too.
Quote
I have malwarebytes and avira and others
Wrong again. Never have 2 (or more) av's at the same time at a system. Malwarebytes and avast = ok.
Quote
And really the only things avast ever picks up is false positive keygens or cracks
So, you are using illegal software. That makes you a thief.
Quote
I've used computers for more than a decade I know how to not get infections
No you don't know how to prevent infections. Wow, more than a decade... I only since 1983 when I build my first computer with transistors, resistors and other electric components.

You disable things that help prevent infections and you claim you know how to prevent infections?
You are using illegal software and such and you claim how to prevent infections?

You don't know anything at all when it comes to prevention.

Offline cgvnhvcg

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 9
Re: How disable background scanning
« Reply #7 on: July 23, 2014, 02:39:37 AM »
the other antiviruses and spyware/maylware programs are not and never are running... their services and startup items are disabled there are no incompatibilities taking place. video files don't spread malware if A video files makes a certain media player say "blah blah needs to access internet to get data or cert" or w/e used to happen years ago you just close that thing down and delete the file cause its trash. If you learned how to read, I said I have them only for manual scanning if I EVER detect a virus that I don't think is a false positive on the off chance it ever happens. Please learn reading comprehension.
Sure viruses and stuff have shifted to be less destructive and more on the keylogger side but then avast wouldnt help with that because every AV I've ever used never found one. Please try to be less ignorant, I'm sure you deal with plenty of dumb people on these forums but I'm not one of them, not by a longshot. Prevention is not doing obviously stupid things that will get you viruses like running things you don't know anything about. Most of the things you mentioned would only ever happen if a virus was a full blown process or something or behind a rootkit actively moving around files and stuff, which again isn't happening.

Offline Alikhan

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Super Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 2234
Re: How disable background scanning
« Reply #8 on: July 23, 2014, 02:42:49 AM »
the other antiviruses and spyware/maylware programs are not and never are running... their services and startup items are disabled

If you disable avast! and it's services, avast! won't run too.

That defeats the point of having it to be honest with you.

An anti-virus is there to prevent infection not to remove them once infected.
Windows 10 Home 64-bit • Avast Free (latest stable version) •  Malwarebytes 4 Premium (On-Demand) • Windows Firewall Control • Google Chrome • LastPass • CCleaner • O&O ShutUp10 •

Offline cgvnhvcg

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 9
Re: How disable background scanning
« Reply #9 on: July 23, 2014, 02:49:44 AM »
If you disable avast! and it's services, avast! won't run too.

That defeats the point of having it to be honest with you.

An anti-virus is there to prevent infection not to remove them once infected.
Avast has its services and startup item enabled, obviously, how else am I asking how to make the scanner more on-demand and less do whatever the hell it wants to? If you took the time to read instead of glance you would know I have other AV only for manual scanning in the event of an actual infection if it were to happen, because its foolish to rely on one program's full scan virus definitions.

Offline Alikhan

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Super Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 2234
Re: How disable background scanning
« Reply #10 on: July 23, 2014, 02:53:37 AM »
If you disable avast! and it's services, avast! won't run too.

That defeats the point of having it to be honest with you.

An anti-virus is there to prevent infection not to remove them once infected.
Avast has its services and startup item enabled, obviously, how else am I asking how to make the scanner more on-demand and less do whatever the hell it wants to? If you took the time to read instead of glance you would know I have other AV only for manual scanning in the event of an actual infection if it were to happen, because its foolish to rely on one program's full scan virus definitions.

Last comment I'm making on this thread since you aren't understanding:

All anti-virus have services and startup enabled unless a user disables them.

2. There are many on demand scanners such as Malwarebytes, Hit Man Pro, SAS, HerdProtect and even virus removal tools of many AV companies.

You should run 1 AV and for on demand use on demand scanners and virus removal tools of AVs.
Windows 10 Home 64-bit • Avast Free (latest stable version) •  Malwarebytes 4 Premium (On-Demand) • Windows Firewall Control • Google Chrome • LastPass • CCleaner • O&O ShutUp10 •

Offline cgvnhvcg

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 9
Re: How disable background scanning
« Reply #11 on: July 23, 2014, 03:06:17 AM »
All anti-virus have services and startup enabled unless a user disables them.
Yes and I manually disabled them, EXCEPT for avast. Comprende?
There are many on demand scanners such as Malwarebytes, Hit Man Pro, SAS, HerdProtect and even virus removal tools of many AV companies.
Yes but I try to use an AV with a good detection rate to resource usage ratio. Maybe avast isn't the best possibly, but I thought I'd try to make it work?
You should run 1 AV and for on demand use on demand scanners and virus removal tools of AVs.
Yes, I currently ONLY run Avast all the time for AV.

Offline Eddy

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Maybe Bot
  • ***
  • Posts: 31305
  • Watching (over?) you
    • Malware removal, Biljart and other things.
Re: How disable background scanning
« Reply #12 on: July 23, 2014, 03:20:29 AM »
Quote
video files don't spread malware
Keep dreaming.
Quote
if A video files makes a certain media player say "blah blah needs to access internet to get data or cert..."
It can do so without saying anything at all.
Quote
If you learned how to read, I said I have them only for manual scanning if I EVER detect a virus
I know how to read. If you detect malware with only a manual scan, you are too late. Your system is already infected.
Quote
if I EVER detect a virus
And how do you thing to detect malware without scanning....  :P
Quote
that I don't think is a false positive
You are not thinking at all. That is the real problem.
Quote
Please try to be less ignorant, I'm sure you deal with plenty of dumb people on these forums but I'm not one of them, not by a longshot.
The only one who is ignorant is you. And yes you are one of the dumbest people that has ever joined this webboard. You don't even know the difference between a webboard and a forum.
Quote
Prevention is not doing obviously stupid things
And yet you are doing it. Using keyloggers, cracks, illegal software and such.

You obviously don't know even what a virus is.

Offline cgvnhvcg

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 9
Re: How disable background scanning
« Reply #13 on: July 23, 2014, 03:54:40 AM »
Quote
Quote
video files don't spread malware
Keep dreaming.
That must be the most sophisticated virus/or w/e ever. (apparently have to sound like a book when I talk to you, I can't just use "virus" as a general all encompassing term)

Quote
Quote
if A video files makes a certain media player say "blah blah needs to access internet to get data or cert..."
It can do so without saying anything at all.
Tell me then how VLC will suddenly run a video file as a virus and making a virus become "activated", when it only plays the video file and audio, yet somehow inadvertently propagates a virus. Maybe on antiquated and horribly vulnerable players like realtime player (if that even exists still and I never would use such fringe players)
Quote
Quote
If you learned how to read, I said I have them only for manual scanning if I EVER detect a virus
I know how to read. If you detect malware with only a manual scan, you are too late. Your system is already infected.
I never said I detect malware with a manual scan, if I detect something with a real time active AV I'm using then I may consider going through multiple manual scanning programs because reformatting is a pain.
Quote
Quote
if I EVER detect a virus
And how do you thing to detect malware without scanning....  :P
HEH HEH, your so funny bro, ignoring the fact I use avast and its active shield for scanning things as i get them or use them. Really grabbing at straws now aren't you?
Quote
Quote
]that I don't think is a false positive
You are not thinking at all. That is the real problem.
sick burn! Being really mature idiot.
Quote
Quote
Please try to be less ignorant, I'm sure you deal with plenty of dumb people on these forums but I'm not one of them, not by a longshot.
The only one who is ignorant is you. And yes you are one of the dumbest people that has ever joined this webboard. You don't even know the difference between a webboard and a forum.
Way to prejudge, because obviously assuming someone who doesn't use every unnecessary feature in an AV program is instantly doing everything wrong and must be dumb, facist. Exactly what I expected on an AV forum. And who cares what the difference is between a webboard and a forum, you post threads on them why care about them anymore then that you moron?
Quote
Quote
Prevention is not doing obviously stupid things
And yet you are doing it. Using keyloggers, cracks, illegal software and such.

You obviously don't know even what a virus is.
I haven't used cracks or keygens in years, take that stick out of your high and mighty recepticle if you havn't ever used one. And I obiously don't want to give exact scientific terms for viruses/malware/adware/keyloggers/trojan for some random loser on the internet who only wants to start a flamewar.

Anyway since you all are only SO SHOCKED HEY YOUR ANTIVIRUS ISN'T USING EVERY FEATURE ARE YOU OK HAVE YOU TRIED TURNING IT OFF AND ON AGAIN level of stupid and assumptioning. I added "*\*" to file system scanner exceptions with read and write ticked, should that turn avast into a on-demand scanner then by only scanning things that get executed? It seems like it may have worked but it may be scanning things that other programs are executing, is that all then? Or is it babying me by ignoring that exclusion because it "must be a mistake" even though it isn't on my part.
« Last Edit: July 23, 2014, 03:59:27 AM by cgvnhvcg »

Offline CraigB

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Serious Graphoman
  • *****
  • Posts: 11110
  • No support PM's thanks
Re: How disable background scanning
« Reply #14 on: July 23, 2014, 04:41:35 AM »
To repeat in laymen's terms what has already been said you shouldn't have two or more AV's on the same system, even if you think you have disabled them there will still be active low level drivers running which will at some point cause conflicts, if you are going to just ignore the smart advice that has been placed out for your learning benefit then you are on your own I'm afraid ::)