Author Topic: Any upgade that would gobble all my CPU  (Read 1905 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline tom.green

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 2
Any upgade that would gobble all my CPU
« on: August 03, 2014, 09:01:04 AM »
Suddenly, yesterday, Avast started eating up all my CPU. It was so bad I could would watch mouse moves delayed by 10 seconds! It took me 4 hours to find it. The only solution was to disable Avast.exe at startup in MSConfig and reboot. When I then tried to configure Avast it restarted the process and gobbled up my CPU again and I had to do it again. My machine was completely unusable.

This just started yesterday. Did something change? Is there some horrendous bug in an update?

-- Tom

Offline Asyn

  • Avast √úberevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 76213
  • Urlaub/Vacation
    • >>>  Avast Forum - Deutschsprachiger Bereich  <<<
Re: Any upgade that would gobble all my CPU
« Reply #1 on: August 03, 2014, 09:09:59 AM »
- Which avast!..?? (Free/Pro/IS/Premier)
- Which version..??
- OS..?? (32/64 Bit..? - which SP..?)
- Other security related software installed..??
- Which AV(s) did you use before avast!..??
W8.1 [x64] - Avast PremSec 22.7.7366.BC [UI.713] - Firefox ESR 91.11 [NS/uBO/PB] - Thunderbird 91.11
Avast-Tools: Secure Browser 103.0 - Cleanup 22.2 - SecureLine 5.18 - DriverUpdater 22.2 - CCleaner 6.01
Avast Wissenswertes (Downloads, Anleitungen & Infos): https://forum.avast.com/index.php?topic=60523.0

Offline tom.green

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 2
Re: Any upgade that would gobble all my CPU?
« Reply #2 on: August 10, 2014, 01:59:50 AM »
Avast version 2014.9.0.2021 free version.

I had tried Kaspersky before. I think I get rid of everything except maybe some registry entries.

No, I didn't install anything else recently, nor since. And the problem was happening before I had started any applications, so I don't think it wasn't anything else. Anyhow, stopping Avast solved the problem.

Weird: Now it is working fine. I'm not sure why, but I did uncheck all 3 options under Active Protection. I assume that there was some bug in one of the Avast updates that was causing the problem, and that was subsequently fixed.

Anyhow, I guess it doesn't matter any more. Thanks for following up my message.

-- Tom

Offline bob3160

  • Avast √úberevangelist
  • Probably Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 47259
  • 62 Years of Happiness
    • bob3160 Protecting Yourself, Your Computer and, Your Identity
Re: Any upgade that would gobble all my CPU
« Reply #3 on: August 11, 2014, 04:36:01 PM »
Quote
but I did uncheck all 3 options under Active Protection
Which options ??? Doing this can leave you without protection.


There may be leftover items from Kaspersky unless you used their removal tool:
http://support.kaspersky.com/faq/?qid=208279463
Free avast! Security Seminar: http://bit.ly/2N1eaR2  -  Important: http://www.organdonor.gov/ -- My Web Site: http://bob3160.strikingly.com/ - Win 11 Pro v21H2 64bit, 16 Gig Ram, 1TB SSD, Avast Free 22.5, How to Successfully Install Avast http://goo.gl/VLXdeRepair & Clean Install https://goo.gl/t7aJGq -- My Online Activity https://