Author Topic: avast has shut down  (Read 3070 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline ravenwolf

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 2
avast has shut down
« on: July 29, 2005, 01:03:49 PM »
for some unknown reason, avast has shut down on my system. if anyone can give me some help, please do. don't think i want to go back to norton.

Offline Eddy

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Maybe Bot
  • ***
  • Posts: 31352
  • Watching (over?) you
    • Malware removal, Biljart and other things.
Re: avast has shut down
« Reply #1 on: July 29, 2005, 01:13:46 PM »
Please provide more information.

What OS?
Did you remove Norton as instructed on this board?
What have you tried already to solve the problem?
What other security (related) software do you have installed?
etc etc.
« Last Edit: July 29, 2005, 01:15:17 PM by Eddy »

Offline ravenwolf

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 2
Re: avast has shut down
« Reply #2 on: July 30, 2005, 01:18:08 AM »
i am using windows xp and it was running fine. then all of a sudden, it just wouldn't activate. all i did was install bf2 and bfvietnam. no other virus protection programs are on my system.

Offline Lisandro

  • Avast team
  • Certainly Bot
  • *
  • Posts: 67275
Re: avast has shut down
« Reply #3 on: July 30, 2005, 05:28:09 AM »
Do you use any other antivirus in your computer?

Can you try to repair your installation?
Go to Control Panel > Add/Remove programs > avast! antivirus > Remove. Then choose Repair function in the popup window (Repair). You must be connected to the internet while repairing.

If this does not help, can you uninstall / boot / install / boot again?
The best things in life are free.

Offline Eddy

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Maybe Bot
  • ***
  • Posts: 31352
  • Watching (over?) you
    • Malware removal, Biljart and other things.
Re: avast has shut down
« Reply #4 on: July 30, 2005, 12:27:38 PM »
Could be the 16 bit subsystem from Windows that is causing the error.
Lets see if this solves it:
1) Goto THIS PAGE
2) Download the HijackThis Log Analyzer
3) Install it
4) In the installation folder there is a file called winrep.zip
5) Extract the contents of that file to %windows%\system32, ovrewrite excisting files
6) See if the problem is solved.

ps: after doing this, you can ofcourse keep/remove the util as you like.