Author Topic: AVAST 2015 Beta2 (10.0.2200)  (Read 102600 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline user-name

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Super Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 2313
Re: AVAST 2015 Beta2 (10.0.2200)
« Reply #30 on: September 19, 2014, 05:12:57 PM »
It would be nice if an avast employee were to explain NG in finer detail.

Offline CraigB

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Serious Graphoman
  • *****
  • Posts: 11020
  • No support PM's thanks
Re: AVAST 2015 Beta2 (10.0.2200)
« Reply #31 on: September 19, 2014, 05:15:35 PM »
Yes, and I see avast NG folder in C:\Program Files\AVAST Software\Avast, but I can't find Internet Explorer NG on my PC...
One of the dev's will have to look into it further, I'm not sure if it works on your Starter Edition or not :-\

Offline schmidthouse

  • VIRUS FREE A Long Time
  • Avast Evangelist
  • Starting Graphoman
  • ***
  • Posts: 6459
  • When you think you know, Think Again
Re: AVAST 2015 Beta2 (10.0.2200)
« Reply #32 on: September 19, 2014, 05:19:05 PM »
Anyone with install of B2 on xpSP4 or SP3.
Operating systems/ Service Packs aren't being mentioned by testers. ???
« Last Edit: September 19, 2014, 05:52:31 PM by schmidthouse »
***HP ENVY 15K LT W10 Pro 2004 64Bit/750GB HD/16GB Ram/Avast Premium 20.7.2421 beta /Secureline v.5.6.4982/VS 5.77/ASB v.84b/SANDBOXIE/Prey Project
**HP Compaq 8510p LT W10 Pro 2004 64Bit/1TB HD/8GB Ram/Avast Premium 20.7.2421 beta/ASB v.84b/SANDBOXIE/Prey Project/HotSpot Shield Elite vpn 
     
*Dell Inspiron XPsp4 PRO 32Bit/Avast(since 2002)18.8.2356/WP/Comodo FW 3.14/Secureline/Comodo IceDragon v.40
<LAYERED SECURITY SOFTWARE PROTECTION all OS

Offline RejZoR

  • Polymorphic Sheep
  • Serious Graphoman
  • *****
  • Posts: 9343
  • We are supersheep, resistance is futile!
    • RejZoR's Flock of Sheep
Re: AVAST 2015 Beta2 (10.0.2200)
« Reply #33 on: September 19, 2014, 05:19:57 PM »
It would be nice if an avast employee were to explain NG in finer detail.

Well, DeepScreen does emulation in a similar way like any sandbox app. Basically you run parts of system in RAM and you throw apps in there to run them in virtual environment (imagine running an app inside Sandboxie).

NG on the other hand is entire OS emulated on hardware level (that's why you need CPU capable of hardware virtualization). It's still being run in RAM, but is entirely physically separated. Which mean it shouldn't conflict with OS and other apps, should be faster and more flexible.
Visit my webpage Angry Sheep Blog

Offline clocks

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 106
Re: AVAST 2015 Beta2 (10.0.2200)
« Reply #34 on: September 19, 2014, 05:39:28 PM »
Does Avast NG use VT-x or VT-d, or both.  For instance the processor on one of my machines (J1900) only supports VT-x.

http://ark.intel.com/products/78867/Intel-Celeron-Processor-J1900-2M-Cache-up-to-2_42-GHz

Offline Andrey,pro

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Ultra Poster
  • *****
  • Posts: 5017
  • Things happen
Re: AVAST 2015 Beta2 (10.0.2200)
« Reply #35 on: September 19, 2014, 05:47:03 PM »
Yes, and I see avast NG folder in C:\Program Files\AVAST Software\Avast, but I can't find Internet Explorer NG on my PC...
One of the dev's will have to look into it further, I'm not sure if it works on your Starter Edition or not :-\
Thanks.
I think It can be useful: I have an AMD C-50 processor which support AMD-V.

Offline RejZoR

  • Polymorphic Sheep
  • Serious Graphoman
  • *****
  • Posts: 9343
  • We are supersheep, resistance is futile!
    • RejZoR's Flock of Sheep
Re: AVAST 2015 Beta2 (10.0.2200)
« Reply #36 on: September 19, 2014, 05:50:02 PM »
Though C-50 is incredibly slow. I have the bigger brother E-450 and it's still slow as hell.
Visit my webpage Angry Sheep Blog

Offline Andrey,pro

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Ultra Poster
  • *****
  • Posts: 5017
  • Things happen
Re: AVAST 2015 Beta2 (10.0.2200)
« Reply #37 on: September 19, 2014, 05:53:48 PM »
Though C-50 is incredibly slow. I have the bigger brother E-450 and it's still slow as hell.
Yes, you're right, but it's just a cheap lenovo g575 laptop  :)

Offline pk

  • Avast team
  • Super Poster
  • *
  • Posts: 2085
Re: AVAST 2015 Beta2 (10.0.2200)
« Reply #38 on: September 19, 2014, 05:58:15 PM »
Some information about new avast! NG component: our classic sandbox technology (used for DeepScreen, Sandbox and SafeZone components) restricts a sandboxed application to modify your system. As Windows OS is quite rich for various APIs and frameworks, we need to monitor more and more OS functions invoked from the unknown applications. This works perfect for Sandbox/SafeZone, but it's not enough for DeepScreen analysis. When a malware is analyzed in DeepScreen, we'd like to allow it to behave freely without any restrictions and monitor only its activities. Unfortunately, we might end up very soon if it tries e.g. to load a kernel-mode driver (you can't monitor kernel-mode, and if it gets there, it can control your entire OS, hide itself, connect to internet, ...), or use some undocumented system calls on 64-bit OSes (we use own hypervisor driver to fully protect 64-bit OSes, but this doesn't work on older PCs or with disabled VT-X/AMD-V feature in BIOS).

Avast! NG helps us to analyze malware real-time totally without any restrictions - it can load a kernel driver, it can delete any Windows files, format your volume, everything it wishes. The malware is executed on your OS using VirtualBox engine and the entire OS with malware is monitored. NG was heavily tested for a few months by our user base and we have fixed various HW/SW conflicts and tuned performance. After avast installation, it takes a couple of minutes to prepare NG (this is executed in the background with normal priority in this Beta, it'll be on idle priority in final release).

Avast! NG system requirements:
- physical machine
- Vista+ (32-bit OS with 1.5GB+ RAM, 64-bit with 2.5Gb+ RAM), XP will be supported in final release
- VT-X/AMD-V must be enabled in BIOS for all Win8+ 32-bit OS and for all 64-bit OSes (NG will work correctly on other OSes without VT-X/AMD-V)
- 10% free space on system disk, not less than 2GB (this won't be required in final release)
- in RTM, NG will be disabled on slower computers
If NG components is missing in custom installation, you can check "setup.log" why NG can't be installed on your computer.

In Beta2, new web browsers icons on desktop will be created and you can try to run these web browsers in NG (just for testing purposes, this will be removed after Beta2/RC testing).
« Last Edit: September 19, 2014, 06:11:47 PM by pk »

Offline Lord_Ami

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 227
Re: AVAST 2015 Beta2 (10.0.2200)
« Reply #39 on: September 19, 2014, 05:59:36 PM »
Fresh install.

No problems except aswFe.exe CPU usage (between 10-25 on one core for some time now). Did Smart scan and left home. Came back and there it is.
I'll do one restart and see how it behaves after that. No boot delay here !:)

Also I like the UI very much. + SafeZone browser version is now 38.0.2078.1
« Last Edit: September 19, 2014, 06:01:48 PM by Lord_Ami »

Offline Andrey,pro

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Ultra Poster
  • *****
  • Posts: 5017
  • Things happen
Re: AVAST 2015 Beta2 (10.0.2200)
« Reply #40 on: September 19, 2014, 06:08:56 PM »
Hello pk,
Can you please confirm that avast NG will be working on Windows 7 Starter edition?

Offline fred.singh

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 1
  • NorthSeaGhost001
Re: AVAST 2015 Beta2 (10.0.2200)
« Reply #41 on: September 19, 2014, 06:16:42 PM »
@pk

Many thanks for taking the time to explain this tech.

Offline Lord_Ami

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 227
Re: AVAST 2015 Beta2 (10.0.2200)
« Reply #42 on: September 19, 2014, 06:22:29 PM »
Just noticed that Secure DNS has no box under "Monitoring" settings so that if it is turned off, you can not hide warning about it from main UI.
Made a post with more details on feedback site too :)

//
When turning off Secure DNS under Settings, "Turn on" has no affect (main UI button). It does nothing.

Windows 7 x64.
« Last Edit: September 19, 2014, 06:34:17 PM by Lord_Ami »

Offline schmidthouse

  • VIRUS FREE A Long Time
  • Avast Evangelist
  • Starting Graphoman
  • ***
  • Posts: 6459
  • When you think you know, Think Again
Re: AVAST 2015 Beta2 (10.0.2200)
« Reply #43 on: September 19, 2014, 06:27:46 PM »
Folks, I think it would be prudent if testing, to include OS info in posts as some issues may be "Operating System Specific" :)
***HP ENVY 15K LT W10 Pro 2004 64Bit/750GB HD/16GB Ram/Avast Premium 20.7.2421 beta /Secureline v.5.6.4982/VS 5.77/ASB v.84b/SANDBOXIE/Prey Project
**HP Compaq 8510p LT W10 Pro 2004 64Bit/1TB HD/8GB Ram/Avast Premium 20.7.2421 beta/ASB v.84b/SANDBOXIE/Prey Project/HotSpot Shield Elite vpn 
     
*Dell Inspiron XPsp4 PRO 32Bit/Avast(since 2002)18.8.2356/WP/Comodo FW 3.14/Secureline/Comodo IceDragon v.40
<LAYERED SECURITY SOFTWARE PROTECTION all OS

Offline mokito

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 34
Re: AVAST 2015 Beta2 (10.0.2200)
« Reply #44 on: September 19, 2014, 06:36:38 PM »
still having issues with [DNS Shield] [Web Shield] [Firewall] when accessing some websites....

got to turn all of those of....