Author Topic: AVAST 2015 Beta2 (10.0.2200)  (Read 104459 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Lord_Ami

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 227
Re: AVAST 2015 Beta2 (10.0.2200)
« Reply #75 on: September 20, 2014, 09:42:12 AM »
Did avast adjust my system restore point space to 100%?, I had it set to 1% of a 2tb disk, how much space does NG need? ive only got 3 snapshots that aren't very big at all, is it correct?, can I adjust system restore space to around 10/20% of 2tb and use NG properly.

I also noticed it.

By the way, today at starting PC I caught NG making new snapshots etc.
Code: [Select]
20.09.2014 10:34:49.724 | Creating snapshot...
20.09.2014 10:35:48.589 | Volume shadow set: {73723f8f-e121-4b1e-96cc-cda339f85b0d}
20.09.2014 10:35:48.589 | BCD volume: \\?\GLOBALROOT\Device\HarddiskVolumeShadowCopy13
20.09.2014 10:35:48.589 | Windows volume: \\?\GLOBALROOT\Device\HarddiskVolumeShadowCopy14
20.09.2014 10:35:48.592 | Creating new hive files...
20.09.2014 10:37:30.687 | Cloning NTFS volumes...
20.09.2014 10:38:22.321 | 20.09.2014 10:38:22.321 | 20.09.2014 10:38:22.327 | Creating a new VM machine...
20.09.2014 10:38:28.481 | Starting VM machine to create initial snapshot, it can take a couple of minutes...
20.09.2014 10:45:45.720 | OK
20.09.2014 10:45:46.242 | New Ng_f5d66950-2fa5-4c17-abd2-e5c8bcdbdb85 machine has been created, uuid: 1ad9aa10-e60b-458a-932a-61198028777d
20.09.2014 10:45:46.982 | New Ng_419a6214-95ac-4e86-95a0-c7bc8d4fcc57 machine has been created, uuid: 94ca8bca-4adb-4c43-bd5b-eeb9d8b2055f
20.09.2014 10:45:47.367 | New Ng_1b64b777-6189-4675-89b1-6a6ee560fa77 machine has been created, uuid: a0145f0e-d298-4fdf-8d81-c434352cf283
20.09.2014 10:45:47.423 | CmdAvastRepairWrapper done (result: 0x00000000)

Just thought that after initial restart avast! should pop up a window or something about NG technology working on PC and it could be slow for some minutes until NG is set up? Just to avoid "My computer starts slow with new version and HDD usage is high".

Moreover - all this was done (10 minutes of HDD/CPU usage) while using battery. Can this be improved (ignore snapshot/NG making while running on battery or similar option)?
« Last Edit: September 20, 2014, 09:48:02 AM by Lord_Ami »

Offline boe323

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 107
Re: AVAST 2015 Beta2 (10.0.2200)
« Reply #76 on: September 20, 2014, 12:53:53 PM »
The last thing I need on my pc is 1.5tb of restore points, why is it set so high?.

Offline TrueIndian

  • Poster
  • *
  • Posts: 434
Re: AVAST 2015 Beta2 (10.0.2200)
« Reply #77 on: September 20, 2014, 01:00:00 PM »
Well,its annoying int the way that avast changed my restore point settings.I reverted it back and rebooted the system and now aswfe.exe which is avast ng service is constantly using 52% cpu and according to the log its creating vm.I guess this area needs to be optimized anything should not be taking so long to do these things and secondly its hogging the cpu.
« Last Edit: September 24, 2014, 12:33:48 PM by True Ind »
Malware Hunter/Tester/Analysis
https://twitter.com/avman1995

“When I despair, I remember that all through history the way of truth and love have always won. There have been tyrants and murderers, and for a time, they can seem invincible, but in the end, they always fall. Think of it--always.”
― Mahatma Gandhi

Offline boe323

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 107
Re: AVAST 2015 Beta2 (10.0.2200)
« Reply #78 on: September 20, 2014, 01:08:16 PM »
The whole idea of antivirus is stop your system being altered, yet avast is altering system settings for the worse, it can have a major impact on everyone setting it that high. Im always installing and uninstalling stuff, im gonna have a pooh load of space waisted. Its also making my login longer, it goes to a please wait screen, and then my network icon as got a triangle on it for ages on the login page/screen
« Last Edit: September 20, 2014, 01:16:54 PM by boe323 »

Offline TrueIndian

  • Poster
  • *
  • Posts: 434
Re: AVAST 2015 Beta2 (10.0.2200)
« Reply #79 on: September 20, 2014, 01:14:46 PM »
The whole idea of antivirus is stop your system being altered, yet avast is altering system settings for the worse, it can have a major impact on everyone setting it that high, im always installing and uninstalling stuff, im gonna have a pooh load of space waisted.

Well definately this thing has something to do with system restore.Whatever it does it shouldnt be taking like for 15 minutes and alter my system settings and make like a 2 gb file.I know we asked for better detection capabilities from deepscreen but this is just ridiculous no Av behaves like this neither eats so much space.

Ok on my system the process is stuck in a loop and not moving on.
« Last Edit: September 24, 2014, 12:33:27 PM by True Ind »
Malware Hunter/Tester/Analysis
https://twitter.com/avman1995

“When I despair, I remember that all through history the way of truth and love have always won. There have been tyrants and murderers, and for a time, they can seem invincible, but in the end, they always fall. Think of it--always.”
― Mahatma Gandhi

Offline essexboy

  • Malware removal instructor
  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Probably Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 40631
  • Dragons by Sasha
    • Malware fixes
Re: AVAST 2015 Beta2 (10.0.2200)
« Reply #80 on: September 20, 2014, 01:28:29 PM »
The last thing I need on my pc is 1.5tb of restore points, why is it set so high?.
I have started a separate topic on this, so if you can add your comments there.  Remember this is a beta so there will be weird problems popping up :)

Offline neverseen76

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 3
Re: AVAST 2015 Beta2 (10.0.2200)
« Reply #81 on: September 20, 2014, 01:29:46 PM »

Our internal tests says, NG improves DeepScreen greatly (nearly 30 percents improvement).

So, at the end, if I understood well, without HW we lose around 30 percent of detection.  :(


Offline TrueIndian

  • Poster
  • *
  • Posts: 434
Re: AVAST 2015 Beta2 (10.0.2200)
« Reply #82 on: September 20, 2014, 01:45:43 PM »
Well we dont know anything yet as pk said they still have to tweak and figure compatability stuff for ng.I think in next couple of weeks once we have dyna gen that will cover up but we will see.
« Last Edit: September 24, 2014, 12:35:03 PM by True Ind »
Malware Hunter/Tester/Analysis
https://twitter.com/avman1995

“When I despair, I remember that all through history the way of truth and love have always won. There have been tyrants and murderers, and for a time, they can seem invincible, but in the end, they always fall. Think of it--always.”
― Mahatma Gandhi

Offline pk

  • Avast team
  • Super Poster
  • *
  • Posts: 2085
Re: AVAST 2015 Beta2 (10.0.2200)
« Reply #83 on: September 20, 2014, 02:28:05 PM »
In Beta2, NG uses volume shadow copy service (VSS) to snapshot your system. We plan to get rid of it as soon as possible, because VSS doesn't fit our needs (it's very storage consuming, as you noticed; very problematic, can be disabled, and it's not supported on XP). That's why we're working on our solution, but we didn't have enough time to integrate it into this Beta2. So, as a workaround, we still use VSS with taking notice of all its disadvantages. Changing maximum size for a shadow copy storage is a bug. Sorry for that.

@Lord_Ami: maybe we were unable to find your web browsers in your system (I'll send you a PM how to fix it); preparing NG machine will be run in background (in Beta2 it's set to normal priority).

@Mahmudul Hasan Shohag, @sanandreas: thanks for your screenshots of UI flaws, I'll forward them to UI devs

Quote
So, at the end, if I understood well, without HW we lose around 30 percent of detection.  :(
@neverseen76: since avast is connected to internet, we check if your executable isn't known among our users. If this is a new unknown application, it'll be analyzes in DeepScreen (with classic sandbox or with NG). If your PC isn't suitable for NG, we'll gather & analyze application's log from the classic sandbox. However, someone else will later analyze it under NG and we can compare those two logs from both engines. These results are shared immediately among our users and help new users to decide if this unknown application is safe to run or not (even if your computer doesn't have NG installed... other avast users analyzed it for you).

Offline Lord_Ami

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 227
Re: AVAST 2015 Beta2 (10.0.2200)
« Reply #84 on: September 20, 2014, 02:36:55 PM »
@Lord_Ami: maybe we were unable to find your web browsers in your system (I'll send you a PM how to fix it); preparing NG machine will be run in background (in Beta2 it's set to normal priority).

Thanks, that could be the issue as I don't see NG browser shortcuts on desktop.

Offline RejZoR

  • Polymorphic Sheep
  • Serious Graphoman
  • *****
  • Posts: 9353
  • We are supersheep, resistance is futile!
    • RejZoR's Flock of Sheep
Re: AVAST 2015 Beta2 (10.0.2200)
« Reply #85 on: September 20, 2014, 02:56:27 PM »
Yet another problem free build. I don't ever recall so problem free beta builds. In fact Beta2 feels a lot lighter compared to v2014 stable or Beta1.
Visit my webpage Angry Sheep Blog

Offline bob3160

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Probably Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 44529
  • 60 Years of Happiness
    • bob3160 Protecting Yourself, Your Computer and, Your Identity
Re: AVAST 2015 Beta2 (10.0.2200)
« Reply #86 on: September 20, 2014, 02:58:27 PM »
how do i know that how to enable HW on my bios by defeault without installing the beta version? I am not a computer expert that i will be able to change the bios settings.
Beta testing is never recommended for those that aren't very familiar with computers.
You also need to make provisions to restore your computer if something goes wrong and,
 your system crashes and can't be restored.
Free avast! Security Seminar: http://bit.ly/2N1eaR2  -  Important: http://www.organdonor.gov/ -- My Web Site: http://bob3160.strikingly.com/ - Win 10 Pro v20H2 64bit, 24 Gig Ram, 1TB SSD, AvastOmni 20.7.xxx, How to Successfully Install Avast http://goo.gl/VLXdeRepair & Clean Install https://goo.gl/t7aJGq

Offline AlphaZab

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 145
  • bali!
bad use RAM
« Reply #87 on: September 20, 2014, 03:01:58 PM »
about avast free


I did not do a scan but the use of very large ram, This as I see it is not avast  :-\


new features
avastNG always do job 40-50% makes computer lag


I know this is beta

I hope, next updates ram usage problems and improved performance  :D





cupu

Offline Lord_Ami

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 227
Re: bad use RAM
« Reply #88 on: September 20, 2014, 03:14:31 PM »
about avast free


I did not do a scan but the use of very large ram, This as I see it is not avast  :-\


new features
avastNG always do job 40-50% makes computer lag


I know this is beta

I hope, next updates ram usage problems and improved performance  :D

If I am right, it's run after system snapshot (NG technology) is made. It will be like this around 10 minutes (depends on CPU speed). It will complete over time. You can check what's going on with ngtool.log from:
C:\ProgramData\AVAST Software\Avast\ng\Logs

Offline AlphaZab

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 145
  • bali!
Re: AVAST 2015 Beta2 (10.0.2200)
« Reply #89 on: September 20, 2014, 03:24:39 PM »
about avast free


I did not do a scan but the use of very large ram, This as I see it is not avast  :-\


new features
avastNG always do job 40-50% makes computer lag


I know this is beta

I hope, next updates ram usage problems and improved performance  :D

If I am right, it's run after system snapshot (NG technology) is made. It will be like this around 10 minutes (depends on CPU speed). It will complete over time. You can check what's going on with ngtool.log from:
C:\ProgramData\AVAST Software\Avast\ng\Logs

This log avast my computer

Quote
20.09.2014 19:37:09.751 | error: InitializeVboxClient failed, error: 0x80040154
20.09.2014 19:37:09.931 | CmdAvastUpgradeWrapper done
20.09.2014 19:39:20.622 | CmdAvastUninstallWrapper done
20.09.2014 19:39:20.630 | Installing VirtualBox...
20.09.2014 19:39:24.787 | Creating snapshot...
20.09.2014 19:39:45.816 | Volume shadow set: {052066f2-9ff0-4480-94c5-ea3df3b60ba3}
20.09.2014 19:39:45.816 | BCD volume: \\?\GLOBALROOT\Device\HarddiskVolumeShadowCopy3
20.09.2014 19:39:45.816 | Windows volume: \\?\GLOBALROOT\Device\HarddiskVolumeShadowCopy3
20.09.2014 19:39:45.817 | Creating new hive files...
20.09.2014 19:41:10.505 | Cloning NTFS volumes...
20.09.2014 19:41:53.166 | 20.09.2014 19:41:53.166 | 20.09.2014 19:41:53.203 | Creating a new VM machine...
20.09.2014 19:42:03.487 | Starting VM machine to create initial snapshot, it can take a couple of minutes...
20.09.2014 19:50:00.828 | OK
20.09.2014 19:50:04.051 | New Ng_58e320b5-8ccd-4d4f-8044-0e40e7e53db7 machine has been created, uuid: 412d7c22-a7e7-4f3e-9d81-78ca4522b208
20.09.2014 19:50:08.888 | New Ng_f206be82-dfb3-4e7a-b62a-ce50d5d83373 machine has been created, uuid: 30485177-3838-438c-9e9f-128275876390
20.09.2014 19:50:09.683 | New Ng_603c9b4d-919d-4118-a7f2-766a4fba15b9 machine has been created, uuid: 39ff184d-8d0b-4ece-893d-5cb080a6dd6f
20.09.2014 19:50:09.741 | CmdAvastInstallWrapper done (result: 0x00000000)
20.09.2014 19:50:09.742 | CmdAvastReinstallWrapper done (result: 0x00000000)
« Last Edit: September 20, 2014, 03:27:06 PM by puturaya20 »
cupu