Poll

Which "wall" protects you?  ;D

Nothing
2 (4.7%)
Windows Firewall
8 (18.6%)
Zone Alarm
13 (30.2%)
Kerio PF
5 (11.6%)
Sygate
2 (4.7%)
Outpost
3 (7%)
PC-Cillin
0 (0%)
McAfee
2 (4.7%)
Router/firewall
5 (11.6%)
Other (write what in post)
3 (7%)

Total Members Voted: 0

Author Topic: Firewall you use  (Read 14261 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline YLAP

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Super Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 2119
Firewall you use
« on: August 04, 2005, 04:55:19 PM »
As we are often discussing about firewalls recently, so I think stop talking and let's look what are we using.  ;D

Besides, I'm using Kerio PF and my SmartAX MT820 ADSL Router has integrated firewall too (I think it means router/hardware firewall)
« Last Edit: August 04, 2005, 05:28:17 PM by =YLAP= »

Offline Eddy

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Maybe Bot
  • ***
  • Posts: 31350
  • Watching (over?) you
    • Malware removal, Biljart and other things.
Re: Firewall you use
« Reply #1 on: August 04, 2005, 05:21:56 PM »
I'm using a router/hardware firewall and on the systems ZA Pro.

Offline MikeBCda

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Super Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 2251
Re: Firewall you use
« Reply #2 on: August 04, 2005, 05:34:17 PM »
ZA home here, primarily because it's quite user-friendly.  And that's a major factor if, like me, you have in effect a learning disability.  I never bothered with the Pro version mainly because (as far as I can tell) the only things that it adds are its Privacy features, which I already handle nicely with other things (which don't conflict with avast, by the way).

About the only negative about ZA is that once in a while it'll "forget" its settings, particularly with regard to program permissions, and need those cleaned up.
Intel Atom D2700, 2 gig RAM, Win 7 x64 SP1 & IE-11, Firefox 51.0
(default). 320 gig HD, 15Mb DSL, Win firewall, Avast 12.3.2280 free, SpywareBlaster, MBAM Prem., Crypto-Prevent

Offline DavidR

  • Avast √úberevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 83014
  • No support PMs thanks
Re: Firewall you use
« Reply #3 on: August 04, 2005, 08:56:55 PM »
I'm getting this feeling the I have seen this before under something like what firewall are you using with avast!

As in this Poll - http://forum.avast.com/index.php?topic=4368.0 - although this states 'Poll, What Free Firewall do you use with Avast'
WinXP ProSP3/ Core2Duo E8300/ 4GB Ram/ avast! free 18.5.2342/ Firefox ESR, uBlock Origin, uMatrix/ MailWasher Pro7.11.0/ DropMyRights/ WinPatrol+/ Drive Image 7.1/ SnagIt 10.0/ avast! mobile security
Windows 10 Home 1909 64bit/ Acer Aspire F15/ Intel Core i5 7200U 2.5GHz, 8GB DDR4 memory, 256GB SSD, 1TB HDD/ avast! free 20.2.2401 (build 20.2.5130.570) UI-1.0.505/ WinPatrol+/ Firefox, uBlock Origin, uMatrix/ MailWasher Pro

Offline Lito

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 69
  • avast! es lo mejor
    • Marcel v3.0
Re: Firewall you use
« Reply #4 on: August 04, 2005, 09:03:38 PM »
I use Look'n'Stop ;).
   

Offline YLAP

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Super Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 2119
Re: Firewall you use
« Reply #5 on: August 04, 2005, 09:09:40 PM »
I'm getting this feeling the I have seen this before under something like what firewall are you using with avast!

As in this Poll - http://forum.avast.com/index.php?topic=4368.0 - although this states 'Poll, What Free Firewall do you use with Avast'

It was more than one year ago...  ;D

Offline StopMe

  • Super Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 1200
Re: Firewall you use
« Reply #6 on: August 04, 2005, 09:13:05 PM »
Zone Alarm for me, don't have a hardware firewall yet.   :)

Offline FastGame

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 114
  • I'm a Fast llama!
Re: Firewall you use
« Reply #7 on: August 04, 2005, 10:12:07 PM »
I used Kerio 2.1.5 but now I use XP SP2 firewall, seems faster :)

darth.mikey

  • Guest
Re: Firewall you use
« Reply #8 on: August 04, 2005, 11:14:42 PM »
Kerio 4.2.0 for me is the best.I like the new Aplication Behavior Blocking feature  ;D

Offline kakapo

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 200
  • Llamas are cool
Re: Firewall you use
« Reply #9 on: August 04, 2005, 11:48:12 PM »
Kerio 4.2.0 here and happy!
« Last Edit: August 06, 2005, 03:03:01 PM by kakapo »
All that it takes for the triumph of evil is for Good Men to do Nothing.


Offline TAP

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 201
  • I'm a llama!
Re: Firewall you use
« Reply #10 on: August 05, 2005, 04:06:21 AM »
I'm using Kerio 4.2.0 too, it's rather easy to use and understand what it's supposed to do and I really love its Behavior Blocking that give me a good level of proactive protection. It seems that Kerio hasn't had any problems with avast!, they're always love each other on my machine.  ;D

Offline Shino

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 53
  • Silent Shindei
Re: Firewall you use
« Reply #11 on: August 05, 2005, 12:59:27 PM »
i'm using Jetico Firewall. use only about 4MB of RAM.

Offline DukeNukem

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 335
Re: Firewall you use
« Reply #12 on: August 05, 2005, 07:41:21 PM »
I voted for Router/Firewall.

Windows XP software firewall I use = Sygate 5.5 Pro

With Fedora 4 software firewall = Firestarter

Offline xistenz

  • Poster
  • *
  • Posts: 632
Re: Firewall you use
« Reply #13 on: August 06, 2005, 11:56:34 AM »
I use Smoothwall Express as a firewall/router and Kerio

Offline Yinyang4evry1

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 189
  • I won't be a memory.
Re: Firewall you use
« Reply #14 on: August 06, 2005, 09:40:10 PM »
what's a firewall/router? I mean it's okay to use a regular firewall and that at the same time right?

greets,

tim