Poll

Which "wall" protects you?  ;D

Nothing
2 (4.7%)
Windows Firewall
8 (18.6%)
Zone Alarm
13 (30.2%)
Kerio PF
5 (11.6%)
Sygate
2 (4.7%)
Outpost
3 (7%)
PC-Cillin
0 (0%)
McAfee
2 (4.7%)
Router/firewall
5 (11.6%)
Other (write what in post)
3 (7%)

Total Members Voted: 0

Author Topic: Firewall you use  (Read 14439 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline DavidR

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 83519
  • No support PMs thanks
Re: Firewall you use
« Reply #30 on: August 18, 2005, 01:45:17 PM »
The Windows Firewall, shouldn't really be called a firewall as it doesn't provide full outbound protection. It is like a firedoor that only protects you from fire from one side.
WinXP ProSP3/ Core2Duo E8300/ 4GB Ram/ avast! free 18.5.2342/ Firefox ESR, uBlock Origin, uMatrix/ MailWasher Pro7.11.0/ DropMyRights/ WinPatrol+/ Drive Image 7.1/ SnagIt 10.0/ avast! mobile security
Windows 10 Home 1909 64bit/ Acer Aspire F15/ Intel Core i5 7200U 2.5GHz, 8GB DDR4 memory, 256GB SSD, 1TB HDD/ avast! free 20.6.2420 (build 20.6.5495.561) UI-1.0.541/ WinPatrol+/ Firefox, uBlock Origin, uMatrix/ MailWasher Pro

Offline szc

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Starting Graphoman
  • ***
  • Posts: 6957
Re: Firewall you use
« Reply #31 on: August 18, 2005, 02:11:43 PM »
...and all important information from your computer are soooooo free to leave your computer because there is practically nothing to stop it  ;)
MB: GIGABYTE GA-Z77X-UD3H Intel 7 Series  - LGA1155, CPU: Intel Core i5-3570K - Quad Core, 3.40GHz (3.80GHz Max Turbo), CPU COOLER: Cooler Master Hyper 212 EVO Direct Heat Pipe R2, RAM: 16 GB Kingston HyperX Blu DDR3, VIDEO CARD: Galaxy GeForce GTX 560 Ti - 1GB, GDDR5, POWER SUPPLY: Corsair Enthusiast Series TX750 V2 - 750 Watts, HD: Seagate Barracuda - 2TB, 7200RPM, 64MB, SATA 6Gb/s

Offline szc

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Starting Graphoman
  • ***
  • Posts: 6957
Re: Firewall you use
« Reply #32 on: August 18, 2005, 02:14:05 PM »
As we are often discussing about firewalls recently, so I think stop talking and let's look what are we using.  ;D

Besides, I'm using Kerio PF and my SmartAX MT820 ADSL Router has integrated firewall too (I think it means router/hardware firewall)

YLAP, your poll doesn't contain one very important option - Any software firewall along with hardware router/firewall. That's the protection that everyone should have. Especially if you are doing a lot of online banking stuff... One works perfect with another.  ;)
MB: GIGABYTE GA-Z77X-UD3H Intel 7 Series  - LGA1155, CPU: Intel Core i5-3570K - Quad Core, 3.40GHz (3.80GHz Max Turbo), CPU COOLER: Cooler Master Hyper 212 EVO Direct Heat Pipe R2, RAM: 16 GB Kingston HyperX Blu DDR3, VIDEO CARD: Galaxy GeForce GTX 560 Ti - 1GB, GDDR5, POWER SUPPLY: Corsair Enthusiast Series TX750 V2 - 750 Watts, HD: Seagate Barracuda - 2TB, 7200RPM, 64MB, SATA 6Gb/s

Offline YLAP

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Super Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 2119
Re: Firewall you use
« Reply #33 on: August 18, 2005, 04:35:48 PM »
I'll know it in the future, but now I think it's a bit too late to change something...  ::) My mistake, sorry...  :-\

Offline Ricky

  • Poster
  • *
  • Posts: 428
Re: Firewall you use
« Reply #34 on: August 18, 2005, 10:34:17 PM »
i use windows firewall when i used za the vrius was let through and the avast web sheild didn't pick it up it was only a test at the website http://www.eicar.org/anti_virus_test_file.htm

Offline DavidR

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 83519
  • No support PMs thanks
Re: Firewall you use
« Reply #35 on: August 19, 2005, 12:44:02 AM »
1. Windows firewall or any firewall for that matter will allow user initiated downloads (and that is what you did).

2. Web Shield, if working/enabled will stop it, however if you downloaded it using the https: protocol (which I suspect), then avast! web shield doesn't scan encrypted/secure transmissions, it will only scan http: protocol (port 80).

I suggest you ensure web shield is running and try the test again, using the http: downloads and you will see it works. When you use https: then standard shield should detect it when it gets on to your HDD.
WinXP ProSP3/ Core2Duo E8300/ 4GB Ram/ avast! free 18.5.2342/ Firefox ESR, uBlock Origin, uMatrix/ MailWasher Pro7.11.0/ DropMyRights/ WinPatrol+/ Drive Image 7.1/ SnagIt 10.0/ avast! mobile security
Windows 10 Home 1909 64bit/ Acer Aspire F15/ Intel Core i5 7200U 2.5GHz, 8GB DDR4 memory, 256GB SSD, 1TB HDD/ avast! free 20.6.2420 (build 20.6.5495.561) UI-1.0.541/ WinPatrol+/ Firefox, uBlock Origin, uMatrix/ MailWasher Pro