Author Topic: How to know if NG is working correctly?  (Read 4791 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Charyb

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Super Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 2313
How to know if NG is working correctly?
« on: September 21, 2014, 01:40:22 PM »
All I know is that my computer turns on, my computer turns off, my computer is not crashing, and I see some running processes that have NG and virtualbox in the name. I see no signs of a virtual machine running. I don't see any logs that show that a virtual machine has started or failed.

How do I test NG? How do I know that the OS is virtualized? Are there any logs to view?


What does NG stand for?
« Last Edit: September 21, 2014, 01:53:59 PM by Charyb »

Offline keloo05

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 183
Re: How to know if NG is working correctly?
« Reply #1 on: September 22, 2014, 12:21:17 AM »

What does NG stand for?

I hope they find another name for NG in the final version. I suggest a poll with at least 5 names and let the users decide, then register a trademark for it.

Offline DavidR

  • Avast √úberevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 84120
  • No support PMs thanks
Re: How to know if NG is working correctly?
« Reply #2 on: September 22, 2014, 01:25:06 AM »
<snip>
What does NG stand for?

I can't recall any explanation of what the abbreviation avast NG means - but it (NG) has been used in many computer areas were it has meant New/Next Generation; so I suspect it is something like that.

I can't recall if something might have been mentioned about this in the topic relating to suggestions on what should be in avast! 2015.
Windows 10 Home 2004 64bit/ Acer Aspire F15/ Intel Core i5 7200U 2.5GHz, 8GB DDR4 memory, 256GB SSD, 1TB HDD/ avast! free 20.9.2437 (build 20.9.5758.0) UI-1.0.579/ WinPatrol+/ Firefox, uBlock Origin, uMatrix/ MailWasher Pro/ Avast! Mobile Security

Offline RejZoR

  • Polymorphic Sheep
  • Serious Graphoman
  • *****
  • Posts: 9353
  • We are supersheep, resistance is futile!
    • RejZoR's Flock of Sheep
Re: How to know if NG is working correctly?
« Reply #3 on: September 22, 2014, 07:15:06 AM »
It could be NGE like New Generation Emulator. But end users don't really care most of the time for as long as it detects malware.
Visit my webpage Angry Sheep Blog

Offline Charyb

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Super Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 2313
Re: How to know if NG is working correctly?
« Reply #4 on: September 22, 2014, 05:57:12 PM »

I found an NG log located in Program Data -> avast, but it doesn't state that the vm has fully started it's been stuck at the last line for over 20 minutes now.


Code: [Select]
22.09.2014 09:03:38.040 | Installing VirtualBox...
22.09.2014 09:03:39.476 | Creating snapshot...
22.09.2014 09:04:27.963 | Volume shadow set: {f2ffdeaa-c8a9-49ba-b220-ee3f1174fb37}
22.09.2014 09:04:27.963 | BCD volume: \\?\GLOBALROOT\Device\HarddiskVolume2
22.09.2014 09:04:27.963 | Windows volume: \\?\GLOBALROOT\Device\HarddiskVolumeShadowCopy4
22.09.2014 09:04:27.963 | Creating new hive files...
22.09.2014 09:06:34.187 | Cloning NTFS volumes...
22.09.2014 09:11:11.068 | Cloning NTFS volumes...
22.09.2014 09:11:38.092 | error: InsertFile/dep_fsGetFileIdW failed, guest folder: \\?\GLOBALROOT\Device\HarddiskVolumeShadowCopy4\WINDOWS\System32\config (error: 0x00000003)
error: InsertFile/dep_fsGetFileIdW failed, guest folder: \\?\GLOBALROOT\Device\HarddiskVolumeShadowCopy4\WINDOWS\System32\config (error: 0x00000003)
error: InsertFile/dep_fsGetFileIdW failed, guest folder: \\?\GLOBALROOT\Device\HarddiskVolumeShadowCopy4\WINDOWS\System32\config (error: 0x00000003)
error: InsertFile/dep_fsGetFileIdW failed, guest folder: \\?\GLOBALROOT\Device\HarddiskVolumeShadowCopy4\WINDOWS\System32\config (error: 0x00000003)
error: InsertFile/dep_fsGetFileIdW failed, guest folder: \\?\GLOBALROOT\Device\HarddiskVolumeShadowCopy4\Program Files (x86)\Google\Chrome\Application (error: 0x00000003)
22.09.2014 09:11:38.092 | 22.09.2014 09:11:38.092 | Creating a new VM machine...
22.09.2014 09:11:43.858 | Starting VM machine to create initial snapshot, it can take a couple of minutes...
22.09.2014 09:36:51.501 | error: PrepareNGSource failed, error: 0x800705b4
22.09.2014 09:36:51.504 | CmdAvastRepairWrapper done (result: 0x00000000)
22.09.2014 09:36:59.888 | Installing VirtualBox...
22.09.2014 09:37:01.420 | Creating snapshot...
22.09.2014 09:37:22.923 | Volume shadow set: {10272bf0-408d-4654-adf1-577c1143a6bb}
22.09.2014 09:37:22.924 | BCD volume: \\?\GLOBALROOT\Device\HarddiskVolume2
22.09.2014 09:37:22.924 | Windows volume: \\?\GLOBALROOT\Device\HarddiskVolumeShadowCopy5
22.09.2014 09:37:22.925 | Creating new hive files...
22.09.2014 09:39:43.966 | Cloning NTFS volumes...
22.09.2014 09:40:42.565 | 22.09.2014 09:40:42.565 | 22.09.2014 09:40:42.571 | Creating a new VM machine...
22.09.2014 09:40:43.588 | Starting VM machine to create initial snapshot, it can take a couple of minutes...
22.09.2014 10:03:49.905 | Starting VM machine to create initial snapshot, it can take a couple of minutes...
22.09.2014 10:29:00.301 | error: PrepareNGSource failed, error: 0x800705b4
22.09.2014 10:29:00.303 | CmdAvastRepairWrapper done (result: 0x00000000)
22.09.2014 10:29:37.211 | Installing VirtualBox...
22.09.2014 10:29:38.510 | Creating snapshot...
22.09.2014 10:29:58.000 | Volume shadow set: {b50d06b3-6699-4795-8197-005303b908c3}
22.09.2014 10:29:58.001 | BCD volume: \\?\GLOBALROOT\Device\HarddiskVolume2
22.09.2014 10:29:58.001 | Windows volume: \\?\GLOBALROOT\Device\HarddiskVolumeShadowCopy6
22.09.2014 10:29:58.002 | Creating new hive files...
22.09.2014 10:32:02.910 | Cloning NTFS volumes...
22.09.2014 10:33:04.392 | 22.09.2014 10:33:04.393 | 22.09.2014 10:33:04.398 | Creating a new VM machine...
22.09.2014 10:33:05.497 | Starting VM machine to create initial snapshot, it can take a couple of minutes...

Offline Charyb

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Super Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 2313
Re: How to know if NG is working correctly?
« Reply #5 on: September 25, 2014, 11:00:48 PM »
I'm convinced that a virtual machine is created but I still have yet to see it running. It looks like it took around 10 minutes to create (rebooted before it completed) and while it was being created I noticed the ng commandline process at around 279MB and around 27% cpu. The process does end after creation but people are still going to complain about this.


Code: [Select]
25.09.2014 15:19:57.095 | Installing VirtualBox...
25.09.2014 15:19:58.581 | Creating snapshot...
25.09.2014 15:21:27.270 | Writer is in failed state. (state: 10, result: 0x800423f2)
25.09.2014 15:21:27.270 | CreateSnapshotSet failed, result: 0x800423f2 (WriterResult, GatherWriterStatus.DoSnapshotSet, )
25.09.2014 15:21:27.333 | Creating snapshot again.
25.09.2014 15:26:18.083 | Creating snapshot...
25.09.2014 15:27:01.307 | Volume shadow set: {83bfbb75-1f74-4913-95ee-f29c646128cf}
25.09.2014 15:27:01.307 | BCD volume: \\?\GLOBALROOT\Device\HarddiskVolume2
25.09.2014 15:27:01.307 | Windows volume: \\?\GLOBALROOT\Device\HarddiskVolumeShadowCopy7
25.09.2014 15:27:01.307 | Creating new hive files...
25.09.2014 15:29:03.905 | Cloning NTFS volumes...
25.09.2014 15:30:32.482 | 25.09.2014 15:30:32.482 | 25.09.2014 15:30:32.485 | Creating a new VM machine...
25.09.2014 15:30:34.310 | Starting VM machine to create initial snapshot, it can take a couple of minutes...
25.09.2014 15:37:37.724 | OK
25.09.2014 15:37:38.273 | New Ng_2e82ff45-1b57-4fe6-829e-6902cd8257d9 machine has been created, uuid: 68a03f44-97ad-4e25-b18e-7af7a2dbf809
25.09.2014 15:37:38.804 | New Ng_c48ce4e4-e6f2-4237-bf60-2e7abb2b1b1f machine has been created, uuid: 0f88a391-4919-426d-b66e-6ff045ac9eb3
25.09.2014 15:37:39.425 | New Ng_8d0bae57-e65f-4080-8a26-9dbd07f9df00 machine has been created, uuid: 982018e9-994c-4726-8305-c7d7787a7872
25.09.2014 15:37:39.441 | CmdAvastRepairWrapper done (result: 0x00000000)
« Last Edit: September 25, 2014, 11:25:29 PM by Charyb »

Offline RejZoR

  • Polymorphic Sheep
  • Serious Graphoman
  • *****
  • Posts: 9353
  • We are supersheep, resistance is futile!
    • RejZoR's Flock of Sheep
Re: How to know if NG is working correctly?
« Reply #6 on: September 26, 2014, 12:07:20 PM »
Is there any other obvious indication if VM is working correctly or not? If this is problematic, avast! should have some sort of self-test feature which would re-check VM functionality automatically.
Visit my webpage Angry Sheep Blog

Offline broadcast23

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 34
Re: How to know if NG is working correctly?
« Reply #7 on: October 10, 2014, 12:58:23 AM »
My log shows error upon installing NG.  I have win7 ultimate sp1, 64bit.  The thing is I have tried virtual box 4.3.16 and it doesn't work.  However 4.3.12 does.  I have attached the log file
Win 10 64bit, Amd A8-3820 2.5GHz quad core, 16GB ram

Offline RejZoR

  • Polymorphic Sheep
  • Serious Graphoman
  • *****
  • Posts: 9353
  • We are supersheep, resistance is futile!
    • RejZoR's Flock of Sheep
Re: How to know if NG is working correctly?
« Reply #8 on: October 14, 2014, 10:13:49 AM »
I was looking for NG logs but couldn't find any. How do i know it's even working? There s no indication in avast! like "NG is working correctly" entry or anything. And i just have that kind of bad feeling it's not really working but i don't know why... We really need some clear way to tell that.
Visit my webpage Angry Sheep Blog