Author Topic: NG snapshot creation during avast! installation?  (Read 7041 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline RejZoR

  • Polymorphic Sheep
  • Serious Graphoman
  • *****
  • Posts: 9384
  • We are supersheep, resistance is futile!
    • RejZoR's Flock of Sheep
NG snapshot creation during avast! installation?
« on: September 23, 2014, 06:11:10 PM »
I suggest you make a NG virtual machine creation a part of installer progress and not after installation, so users know the high CPU usage is the result of avast! installation and not a bug. I mean, if they see a high CPU usage and the installer says "Creating virtual machine installation" or something along those lines with note "CPU usage may remain high for a few minutes", they will be assured it's fine and all part of a normal installation process. But if CPU is getting hammered later on, they will think it's a problem.

You could also use a popup that would reassure users that high CPU usage is a normal thing for the duration of NG installation. I know it will be run at lower priority in RTM, but i think it would still be smart to let users know what's going on. So they don't panic unnecessarily.
Visit my webpage Angry Sheep Blog

Offline essexboy

  • Malware removal instructor
  • Avast √úberevangelist
  • Probably Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 40627
  • Dragons by Sasha
    • Malware fixes
Re: NG snapshot creation during avast! installation?
« Reply #1 on: September 23, 2014, 08:00:16 PM »
With regards to NG will there be a right click option or will it all be automatic using deepscreen ?

Offline schmidthouse

  • VIRUS FREE A Long Time
  • Avast Evangelist
  • Starting Graphoman
  • ***
  • Posts: 7075
  • When you think you know, Think Again
Re: NG snapshot creation during avast! installation?
« Reply #2 on: September 23, 2014, 08:11:17 PM »
I suggest you make a NG virtual machine creation a part of installer progress and not after installation, so users know the high CPU usage is the result of avast! installation and not a bug. I mean, if they see a high CPU usage and the installer says "Creating virtual machine installation" or something along those lines with note "CPU usage may remain high for a few minutes", they will be assured it's fine and all part of a normal installation process. But if CPU is getting hammered later on, they will think it's a problem.

You could also use a popup that would reassure users that high CPU usage is a normal thing for the duration of NG installation. I know it will be run at lower priority in RTM, but i think it would still be smart to let users know what's going on. So they don't panic unnecessarily.

Absolutely +1
***HP ENVY 15K LT W10 Pro 21H1 64Bit/750GB HD/16GB Ram/Avast Premium 21.9.2491b/Secureline VPN v.5.12.5699b/ADU v.21.3b/ASB v.94.0b/SANDBOXIE-plus/MailWasherPRO
**HP Compaq 8510p LT W10 Pro 20H2 64Bit/1TB HD/8GB Ram/WD/ADU v.21.3b/SANDBOXIE/MailWasherPRO/HotSpot Shield
     
RIP*Dell Inspiron XPsp4 PRO 32Bit/Avast(since 2002)18.8.2356/WP/Comodo FW 3.14/Secureline/Comodo IceDragon v.40
LAYERED SECURITY SOFTWARE

Offline Lord_Ami

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 227
Re: NG snapshot creation during avast! installation?
« Reply #3 on: September 24, 2014, 08:53:49 AM »
+1

That in the other hand would make installation process longer (some users may also say that "avast! installation is the longest..." etc on different forums).
Avast! was supposedly working on replacing VirtualBox with something from in-house (meaning better performance). If and when it arrives, we'll see how long it takes to install.

Offline RejZoR

  • Polymorphic Sheep
  • Serious Graphoman
  • *****
  • Posts: 9384
  • We are supersheep, resistance is futile!
    • RejZoR's Flock of Sheep
Re: NG snapshot creation during avast! installation?
« Reply #4 on: September 24, 2014, 11:36:01 AM »
Does it matter how long it takes to install? It's not like you're doing that every day or every week. Most users don't do it ever again... So, 30 seconds or 5 minutes, makes no real difference. If you have to install 500 machines, you need deployment system anyway, in which case it would take 5 minutes for all 500 machines.
Visit my webpage Angry Sheep Blog

Offline bob3160

  • Avast √úberevangelist
  • Probably Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 46117
  • 61 Years of Happiness
    • bob3160 Protecting Yourself, Your Computer and, Your Identity
Re: NG snapshot creation during avast! installation?
« Reply #5 on: September 24, 2014, 04:50:18 PM »
Does it matter how long it takes to install? It's not like you're doing that every day or every week. Most users don't do it ever again... So, 30 seconds or 5 minutes, makes no real difference. If you have to install 500 machines, you need deployment system anyway, in which case it would take 5 minutes for all 500 machines.
Totally agree. Not making part of the install process makes everyone wonder why avast! is being such a system hog.
Free avast! Security Seminar: http://bit.ly/2N1eaR2  -  Important: http://www.organdonor.gov/ -- My Web Site: http://bob3160.strikingly.com/ - Win 11 Pro v21H2 64bit, 16 Gig Ram, 1TB SSD, AvastOmni 21.6, How to Successfully Install Avast http://goo.gl/VLXdeRepair & Clean Install https://goo.gl/t7aJGq

Offline schmidthouse

  • VIRUS FREE A Long Time
  • Avast Evangelist
  • Starting Graphoman
  • ***
  • Posts: 7075
  • When you think you know, Think Again
Re: NG snapshot creation during avast! installation?
« Reply #6 on: September 24, 2014, 06:14:22 PM »
Does it matter how long it takes to install? It's not like you're doing that every day or every week. Most users don't do it ever again... So, 30 seconds or 5 minutes, makes no real difference. If you have to install 500 machines, you need deployment system anyway, in which case it would take 5 minutes for all 500 machines.
Totally agree. Not making part of the install process makes everyone wonder why avast! is being such a system hog.

Also, we have all had to install Service Packs and MS updates that have and could take over10 minutes or more so I don't think the "long install process" carries much validity.
People will install once (as mentioned) and that's it.
My one cent worth  ;D
***HP ENVY 15K LT W10 Pro 21H1 64Bit/750GB HD/16GB Ram/Avast Premium 21.9.2491b/Secureline VPN v.5.12.5699b/ADU v.21.3b/ASB v.94.0b/SANDBOXIE-plus/MailWasherPRO
**HP Compaq 8510p LT W10 Pro 20H2 64Bit/1TB HD/8GB Ram/WD/ADU v.21.3b/SANDBOXIE/MailWasherPRO/HotSpot Shield
     
RIP*Dell Inspiron XPsp4 PRO 32Bit/Avast(since 2002)18.8.2356/WP/Comodo FW 3.14/Secureline/Comodo IceDragon v.40
LAYERED SECURITY SOFTWARE