Author Topic: AVAST 2015 Beta3 (10.0.2201)  (Read 56222 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline DavidR

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 83800
  • No support PMs thanks
Re: AVAST 2015 Beta3 (10.0.2201)
« Reply #45 on: October 01, 2014, 07:24:17 PM »
No. 2. is found under "Scan"/"Scan for performance issues"
???
I don't have it... As I have Windows 8.1  :'(

I don't have it either and I'm running XP Pro on this system - So I rather think it isn't totally OS related, more likely if you don't have Grime Fighter installed you won't have that option in the Scan section.
WinXP ProSP3/ Core2Duo E8300/ 4GB Ram/ avast! free 18.5.2342/ Firefox ESR, uBlock Origin, uMatrix/ MailWasher Pro7.11.0/ DropMyRights/ WinPatrol+/ Drive Image 7.1/ SnagIt 10.0/ avast! mobile security
Windows 10 Home 2004 64bit/ Acer Aspire F15/ Intel Core i5 7200U 2.5GHz, 8GB DDR4 memory, 256GB SSD, 1TB HDD/ avast! free 20.7.2425 (build 20.7.5568.598) UI-1.0.558/ WinPatrol+/ Firefox, uBlock Origin, uMatrix/ MailWasher Pro

Offline Lord_Ami

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 227
Re: AVAST 2015 Beta3 (10.0.2201)
« Reply #46 on: October 01, 2014, 07:34:26 PM »
This means your PC is not supported (as mine) :)

GrimeFighter support for PCs is constantly updated I guess. Mine is Asus K53SV (i5)

Offline Para-Noid

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Starting Graphoman
  • ***
  • Posts: 6712
  • Trust only what you test yourself!
Re: AVAST 2015 Beta3 (10.0.2201)
« Reply #47 on: October 01, 2014, 07:43:36 PM »
This means your PC is not supported (as mine) :)

GrimeFighter support for PCs is constantly updated I guess. Mine is Asus K53SV (i5)

It's more related to which version of Windows you are running...XP, Vista, Win7 or Win8.
I'm also wondering if it related to "bits" as in 32 bit or 64 bit?  ???
Dell Inspiron, Win10x64--HP Envy Win10x64--Both systems Avast Free v17.9.2322, Comodo Firewall v8.2 w/D+, MalwareBytes v3.0, OpenDNS, Super Anti-Spyware, Spyware Blaster, MCShield, Unchecky, Vivaldi Browser and, various browser security tools.

"Look before you leap!" Use online scanners before you click on any link.

Offline DavidR

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 83800
  • No support PMs thanks
Re: AVAST 2015 Beta3 (10.0.2201)
« Reply #48 on: October 01, 2014, 07:47:31 PM »
This means your PC is not supported (as mine) :)

GrimeFighter support for PCs is constantly updated I guess. Mine is Asus K53SV (i5)

Not sure who you are addressing - if directed at me I have previously had GrimeFighter installed in early versions of avast 9.0 during testing on this XP Pro system. After beta testing I uninstalled it and unchecked it as an option in further program updates. I have absolutely no requirement for GrimeFighter or similar tools.
WinXP ProSP3/ Core2Duo E8300/ 4GB Ram/ avast! free 18.5.2342/ Firefox ESR, uBlock Origin, uMatrix/ MailWasher Pro7.11.0/ DropMyRights/ WinPatrol+/ Drive Image 7.1/ SnagIt 10.0/ avast! mobile security
Windows 10 Home 2004 64bit/ Acer Aspire F15/ Intel Core i5 7200U 2.5GHz, 8GB DDR4 memory, 256GB SSD, 1TB HDD/ avast! free 20.7.2425 (build 20.7.5568.598) UI-1.0.558/ WinPatrol+/ Firefox, uBlock Origin, uMatrix/ MailWasher Pro

Offline Lord_Ami

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 227
Re: AVAST 2015 Beta3 (10.0.2201)
« Reply #49 on: October 01, 2014, 08:01:36 PM »
This means your PC is not supported (as mine) :)

GrimeFighter support for PCs is constantly updated I guess. Mine is Asus K53SV (i5)

Not sure who you are addressing - if directed at me I have previously had GrimeFighter installed in early versions of avast 9.0 during testing on this XP Pro system. After beta testing I uninstalled it and unchecked it as an option in further program updates. I have absolutely no requirement for GrimeFighter or similar tools.

It was meant for Lisandro :)

Well, I have never managed to install GrimeFighter on my 2 PCs. It is checked but does not install. Hardware is not supported I guess?

Offline YLAP

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Super Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 2119
Re: AVAST 2015 Beta3 (10.0.2201)
« Reply #50 on: October 01, 2014, 09:01:17 PM »
Beta 3  :) It is time for me to jump in. Upgrade from 2014 went smoothly, so far so good. Some errors with Lithuanian translations, I will report them by PM.

Offline freeforever03

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 70
Re: AVAST 2015 Beta3 (10.0.2201)
« Reply #51 on: October 01, 2014, 09:39:27 PM »
I just installed Avast Free Beta 3 on my Windows 7 (X86) system. I did a clean installation and everything went well. What I found, however, is that the new Avast is continuously using about 12.5% of my i7 quad core processor (the 2014 version used under 2%). In addition, my boot times have increased by about 30 seconds. Is this due to a setting issue (I imported the setting from my 2014 build) or is this just the way it is. Am I experiencing problems that no one else is seeing?

Offline DavidR

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 83800
  • No support PMs thanks
Re: AVAST 2015 Beta3 (10.0.2201)
« Reply #52 on: October 01, 2014, 09:52:08 PM »
I just installed Avast Free Beta 3 on my Windows 7 (X86) system. I did a clean installation and everything went well. What I found, however, is that the new Avast is continuously using about 12.5% of my i7 quad core processor (the 2014 version used under 2%). In addition, my boot times have increased by about 30 seconds. Is this due to a setting issue (I imported the setting from my 2014 build) or is this just the way it is. Am I experiencing problems that no one else is seeing?

What have you got running in the background ?
Avast should really only be using CPU when it is doing something, primarily scanning, checking for updates, etc. Your post prompted me to check, whilst compiling this post my CPU activity for avastSvc.exe is 0%. My CPU is much older and less powerful than yours (see my signature), if anything that should mean a greater use of CPU for longer.
WinXP ProSP3/ Core2Duo E8300/ 4GB Ram/ avast! free 18.5.2342/ Firefox ESR, uBlock Origin, uMatrix/ MailWasher Pro7.11.0/ DropMyRights/ WinPatrol+/ Drive Image 7.1/ SnagIt 10.0/ avast! mobile security
Windows 10 Home 2004 64bit/ Acer Aspire F15/ Intel Core i5 7200U 2.5GHz, 8GB DDR4 memory, 256GB SSD, 1TB HDD/ avast! free 20.7.2425 (build 20.7.5568.598) UI-1.0.558/ WinPatrol+/ Firefox, uBlock Origin, uMatrix/ MailWasher Pro

Offline boe323

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 107
Re: AVAST 2015 Beta3 (10.0.2201)
« Reply #53 on: October 01, 2014, 10:02:14 PM »
I just installed Avast Free Beta 3 on my Windows 7 (X86) system. I did a clean installation and everything went well. What I found, however, is that the new Avast is continuously using about 12.5% of my i7 quad core processor (the 2014 version used under 2%). In addition, my boot times have increased by about 30 seconds. Is this due to a setting issue (I imported the setting from my 2014 build) or is this just the way it is. Am I experiencing problems that no one else is seeing?
If you have ng installed then set the avast vbox com service to delayed startup, that should solve the login issue, if you don't have it installed then I have no idea why its taking so long, and avast hardly uses any % on my i7 quad, mine is always idling between 0 and 2%. If you do have ng installed, go to the folder with ngtool and open a cmd prompt, type ngtool avast repair, it could be that its stuck trying to make vm's, untick protection in troubleshooting first.
« Last Edit: October 01, 2014, 10:06:22 PM by boe323 »

Offline boe323

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 107
Re: AVAST 2015 Beta3 (10.0.2201)
« Reply #54 on: October 01, 2014, 10:14:00 PM »
Can you please add config files to the browsers so we can save window size and options etc? I want to add tracking protection to ie, its a pain in the ass to keep setting them up.
« Last Edit: October 01, 2014, 10:16:09 PM by boe323 »

Offline Lord_Ami

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 227
Re: AVAST 2015 Beta3 (10.0.2201)
« Reply #55 on: October 01, 2014, 10:54:16 PM »
Beta 3  :) It is time for me to jump in. Upgrade from 2014 went smoothly, so far so good. Some errors with Lithuanian translations, I will report them by PM.

Just informational note: Language files from beta 2+ are not updated (except English).

Offline DJBone

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Starting Graphoman
  • ***
  • Posts: 6332
Re: AVAST 2015 Beta3 (10.0.2201)
« Reply #56 on: October 02, 2014, 12:25:49 AM »
Secure DNS is deactivated after every reboot.

DJBone
Win10 x64, APS (always latest version)
Avast Mobile Security (always latest version)

Online bob3160

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Probably Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 44138
  • 60 Years of Happiness
    • bob3160 Protecting Yourself, Your Computer and, Your Identity
Re: AVAST 2015 Beta3 (10.0.2201)
« Reply #57 on: October 02, 2014, 12:42:19 AM »
I still don't see Chrome listed ?

Knock Knock
Free avast! Security Seminar: http://bit.ly/2N1eaR2  -  Important: http://www.organdonor.gov/ -- My Web Site: http://bob3160.strikingly.com/ - Win 10 Pro v1909 64bit, 24 Gig Ram, 1TB SSD, AvastOmni 20.7.xxx, How to Successfully Install Avast http://goo.gl/VLXdeRepair & Clean Install https://goo.gl/t7aJGq

Offline Charyb

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Super Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 2313
Re: AVAST 2015 Beta3 (10.0.2201)
« Reply #58 on: October 02, 2014, 01:00:24 AM »
I would rather see an option to enable PUP's during the install process. This way a user has a better chance of seeing and making a decision on enabling. How many people are going to fumble through the gui to find the new option? How many even know to enable it?


I think it is important to have this enabled in the first place. The new setting is nice though. Especially if you know it's there.

The chance of such user actually needing PUP detection is very low. If they know and need PUP detection, they will find it. If users don't bother to look for it, they don't really need it. After all, PUP are not really malicious, but can be annoying. As well as it can be annoying to send installer into Virus Chest just because a PUP was detected inside of it.


This isn't what I have experienced. I can't count how many computers I have removed pup's from. Hijacked browsers, search settings, proxy, adware, toolbars, etc. Hard to uninstall, changes internet settings, broken internet connections, etc. Most have never heard of a pup so these are the folks who have a greater need for this type of protection.
« Last Edit: October 02, 2014, 02:00:58 AM by Charyb »

Online bob3160

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Probably Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 44138
  • 60 Years of Happiness
    • bob3160 Protecting Yourself, Your Computer and, Your Identity
Re: AVAST 2015 Beta3 (10.0.2201)
« Reply #59 on: October 02, 2014, 03:09:28 AM »
We had a black and white pup as a pet some years ago.  ;D
Free avast! Security Seminar: http://bit.ly/2N1eaR2  -  Important: http://www.organdonor.gov/ -- My Web Site: http://bob3160.strikingly.com/ - Win 10 Pro v1909 64bit, 24 Gig Ram, 1TB SSD, AvastOmni 20.7.xxx, How to Successfully Install Avast http://goo.gl/VLXdeRepair & Clean Install https://goo.gl/t7aJGq