Author Topic: AVAST 2015 Beta3 (10.0.2201)  (Read 56221 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline lukor

  • Moderator
  • Super Poster
  • *
  • Posts: 1878
    • AVAST Software
Re: AVAST 2015 Beta3 (10.0.2201)
« Reply #15 on: September 30, 2014, 10:50:05 PM »
Actually, ipconfig /flushdns might also be required in some special situations.

Another way to test if secureDNS is running:
cmd /k nslookup securedns.ff.avast.com

What you should see (at this moment, might change in the future) is:
Name:    securedns.ff.avast.com
Address:  77.234.44.99



Online bob3160

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Probably Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 44138
  • 60 Years of Happiness
    • bob3160 Protecting Yourself, Your Computer and, Your Identity
Re: AVAST 2015 Beta3 (10.0.2201)
« Reply #16 on: September 30, 2014, 10:53:55 PM »
Yep ....just as I thought, securedns keeps turning off after rebooting.

Thanks boe323 for reporting, we'll look at this secureDNS default state.

L.

Hi Boe323, seems like SecureDNS is only incorrectly reported as stopped, when in fact it might be running. You can test with this site:

http://securedns.ff.avast.com/



So which one is correct ???
Free avast! Security Seminar: http://bit.ly/2N1eaR2  -  Important: http://www.organdonor.gov/ -- My Web Site: http://bob3160.strikingly.com/ - Win 10 Pro v1909 64bit, 24 Gig Ram, 1TB SSD, AvastOmni 20.7.xxx, How to Successfully Install Avast http://goo.gl/VLXdeRepair & Clean Install https://goo.gl/t7aJGq

Offline boe323

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 107
Re: AVAST 2015 Beta3 (10.0.2201)
« Reply #17 on: September 30, 2014, 11:24:35 PM »
is securedns ipv6 capable?, im using googles dns, and now its running through securedns and also bt's dns servers, would like to get rid os at least 1 lol, cant remove bt's. EDIT: I just checked, there not ipv6 capable, I would of thought in this day and age that they would be, ipv4 is running out of addresses, at least future proof the dns server. All these dns servers are whats probably slowing my web pages lol.
« Last Edit: September 30, 2014, 11:34:41 PM by boe323 »

Offline Secondmineboy

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Massive Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 3651
Re: AVAST 2015 Beta3 (10.0.2201)
« Reply #18 on: September 30, 2014, 11:38:58 PM »
Redesigned scanning animation: http://prntscr.com/4rw3c3
Windows 10 1909, 4 GB DDR3 RAM, 500 GB 5400 RPM HDD, 1366 by 768 LCD Screen, Intel Core i3 5010U Dual Core, Intel HD Graphics 5500
HUAWEI P30 Pro. Android 10

Offline lukor

  • Moderator
  • Super Poster
  • *
  • Posts: 1878
    • AVAST Software
Re: AVAST 2015 Beta3 (10.0.2201)
« Reply #19 on: October 01, 2014, 12:29:35 AM »
is securedns ipv6 capable?, im using googles dns, and now its running through securedns and also bt's dns servers, would like to get rid os at least 1 lol, cant remove bt's. EDIT: I just checked, there not ipv6 capable, I would of thought in this day and age that they would be, ipv4 is running out of addresses, at least future proof the dns server. All these dns servers are whats probably slowing my web pages lol.

Hi, ipv6 resolves, AAAA records should be supported over avast SecureDns.

nslookup facebook.com
...

Non-authoritative answer:
Name:    facebook.com
Addresses:  2a03:2880:2130:cf05:face:b00c:0:1
          173.252.120.6

Offline TrueIndian

  • Poster
  • *
  • Posts: 434
Re: AVAST 2015 Beta3 (10.0.2201)
« Reply #20 on: October 01, 2014, 05:15:14 AM »
So is NG ready to be tested with malware yet or not?
Malware Hunter/Tester/Analysis
https://twitter.com/avman1995

“When I despair, I remember that all through history the way of truth and love have always won. There have been tyrants and murderers, and for a time, they can seem invincible, but in the end, they always fall. Think of it--always.”
― Mahatma Gandhi

Offline AlphaZab

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 145
  • bali!
Re: AVAST 2015 Beta3 (10.0.2201)
« Reply #21 on: October 01, 2014, 06:28:51 AM »
I hope avast 2015 running on Windows 10 smooth :D
cupu

Offline Lord_Ami

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 227
Re: AVAST 2015 Beta3 (10.0.2201)
« Reply #22 on: October 01, 2014, 07:44:57 AM »
Noticed that user @ Malwaretips posted a screenshot where PUP detection setting is present under "General" settings.
http://malwaretips.com/attachments/avast2-png.22945/

Does this apply PUP detection to every component? I ask because I had it unchecked but when I checked my web and file system shields, they had PUPs enabled.

//
After uncheckying/rechecking I see it disables/enables PUP detection under web and file system shields :) That's great.

Online CraigB

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Serious Graphoman
  • *****
  • Posts: 11037
  • No support PM's thanks
Re: AVAST 2015 Beta3 (10.0.2201)
« Reply #23 on: October 01, 2014, 07:56:47 AM »
I hope avast 2015 running on Windows 10 smooth :D
There is another year to pass by before that is of any concern.

Offline Eddy

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Maybe Bot
  • ***
  • Posts: 31345
  • Watching (over?) you
    • Malware removal, Biljart and other things.
Re: AVAST 2015 Beta3 (10.0.2201)
« Reply #24 on: October 01, 2014, 07:58:52 AM »
Before trying I would like to know if the problems with avastui on SSE systems is solved.

Offline RejZoR

  • Polymorphic Sheep
  • Serious Graphoman
  • *****
  • Posts: 9346
  • We are supersheep, resistance is futile!
    • RejZoR's Flock of Sheep
Re: AVAST 2015 Beta3 (10.0.2201)
« Reply #25 on: October 01, 2014, 08:05:15 AM »
Noticed that user @ Malwaretips posted a screenshot where PUP detection setting is present under "General" settings.
http://malwaretips.com/attachments/avast2-png.22945/

Does this apply PUP detection to every component? I ask because I had it unchecked but when I checked my web and file system shields, they had PUPs enabled.

//
After uncheckying/rechecking I see it disables/enables PUP detection under web and file system shields :) That's great.

I'm guessing it's not actually affecting checkboxes, it's just overriding the PUP detection as a whole. If you check it, it makes avast! detect PUP's by all shields even if PUP settings under individual shields are unchecked.
Visit my webpage Angry Sheep Blog

Offline Asyn

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 66907
    • >>>  Avast Forum - Deutschsprachiger Bereich  <<<
Re: AVAST 2015 Beta3 (10.0.2201)
« Reply #26 on: October 01, 2014, 08:12:21 AM »
If you check it, it makes avast! detect PUP's by all shields even if PUP settings under individual shields are unchecked.
Personally, I like this general setting for PUP detection.
Win 8.1 [x64] - Avast PremSec 20.8.2429.Beta4 [UI.562] - CC 5.72 - EEK - FF ESR 78.3 [NS/AOS/uBO/PB] - TB 68.12 - SB/CP/SL/DU.BC
Deutschsprachiger Bereich -> Avast Wissenswertes (Downloads, Anleitungen & Infos): https://forum.avast.com/index.php?topic=60523.0

Online bob3160

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Probably Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 44138
  • 60 Years of Happiness
    • bob3160 Protecting Yourself, Your Computer and, Your Identity
Re: AVAST 2015 Beta3 (10.0.2201)
« Reply #27 on: October 01, 2014, 08:32:33 AM »
I still don't see Chrome listed ?
Free avast! Security Seminar: http://bit.ly/2N1eaR2  -  Important: http://www.organdonor.gov/ -- My Web Site: http://bob3160.strikingly.com/ - Win 10 Pro v1909 64bit, 24 Gig Ram, 1TB SSD, AvastOmni 20.7.xxx, How to Successfully Install Avast http://goo.gl/VLXdeRepair & Clean Install https://goo.gl/t7aJGq

Offline MartinZ

  • Moderator
  • Advanced Poster
  • *
  • Posts: 1071
  • Product Manager
Re: AVAST 2015 Beta3 (10.0.2201)
« Reply #28 on: October 01, 2014, 09:44:43 AM »
Noticed that user @ Malwaretips posted a screenshot where PUP detection setting is present under "General" settings.
http://malwaretips.com/attachments/avast2-png.22945/

Does this apply PUP detection to every component? I ask because I had it unchecked but when I checked my web and file system shields, they had PUPs enabled.

//
After uncheckying/rechecking I see it disables/enables PUP detection under web and file system shields :) That's great.
Yes we put the general PUP checkbox to the main settings menu and it controls/overrides PUP settings for all shields (so you don't have to turn it on/off one by one). But you still have the choice to turn on PUP just for some shields, then the general checkbox stays unchecked. We are glad you like this improvement.

Offline RejZoR

  • Polymorphic Sheep
  • Serious Graphoman
  • *****
  • Posts: 9346
  • We are supersheep, resistance is futile!
    • RejZoR's Flock of Sheep
Re: AVAST 2015 Beta3 (10.0.2201)
« Reply #29 on: October 01, 2014, 09:49:03 AM »
It's useful, though i'm still unsure about the arrangement of these settings. They are all stuffed inside General section even though they are heavily protection related. Same goes for Hardened Mode and DeepScreen setting. These two belong in the "Active Protection" section which is pretty much empty apart from 3 existiing shields. Why not add this sort of stuff there under "Proactive Shield" or something?
Visit my webpage Angry Sheep Blog