Author Topic: Heavy CPU Usage  (Read 2892 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline freeforever03

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 70
Heavy CPU Usage
« on: October 01, 2014, 01:37:22 AM »
I just installed Avast Free Beta 3 on my Windows 7 (X86) system. What I found is that the new Avast is continuously using about 12.5% of my i7 quad core processor. In addition, my boot times have increased by about 30 seconds. Is this due to a setting issue or is this the way it is. When using Avast Free 2014, I did not have these issues.

Offline hmmmmm123

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 86
Re: Heavy CPU Usage
« Reply #1 on: October 03, 2014, 05:02:03 PM »
You should most likely switch back to latest version of Avast 2014 and wait until 2015 final's release is out.

Offline Para-Noid

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Starting Graphoman
  • ***
  • Posts: 6712
  • Trust only what you test yourself!
Re: Heavy CPU Usage
« Reply #2 on: October 03, 2014, 08:13:15 PM »
You may want to try a repair...Control Panel>Uninstall a Program>double click "avast">click "repair">reboot.

My task manager shows less than 4% while idle. When avast is scanning a webpage/file it jumps to anywhere
from 50 to 80%. After that it drops right back down.

RevolutionSphere was correct in pointing out v2015 is a beta. You were equally correct in posting your concerns.
However it would help avast investigate if you gave more information.

We know your OS (Win7 64 bit)
Any other security software?
Any other software is running in the background?
Which browser are you using (Chrome, Firefox, Opera or IE)?
Dell Inspiron, Win10x64--HP Envy Win10x64--Both systems Avast Free v17.9.2322, Comodo Firewall v8.2 w/D+, MalwareBytes v3.0, OpenDNS, Super Anti-Spyware, Spyware Blaster, MCShield, Unchecky, Vivaldi Browser and, various browser security tools.

"Look before you leap!" Use online scanners before you click on any link.

Offline freeforever03

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 70
Re: Heavy CPU Usage
« Reply #3 on: October 06, 2014, 12:36:23 AM »
Hi RevolutionSphere

I switched back to Avast Free 2014 and everything is fine.

Hi Para-Noid

My OS is Windows & (X86)
Other Security Software is Windows Defender
Background Programs include Comodo Free Firewall, NVIDIA Experience, and TuneUp Utilities 2015
Browser is Firefox 33.0 Beta 9

Offline Para-Noid

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Starting Graphoman
  • ***
  • Posts: 6712
  • Trust only what you test yourself!
Re: Heavy CPU Usage
« Reply #4 on: October 06, 2014, 03:53:49 PM »
FWIW you should disable Windows Defender.
What do you mean by Windows (x86)?  ???
"86" refers to files.
Is your system a 32 bit or a 64 bit?  ???
Did you install just the Comodo Firewall?
Dell Inspiron, Win10x64--HP Envy Win10x64--Both systems Avast Free v17.9.2322, Comodo Firewall v8.2 w/D+, MalwareBytes v3.0, OpenDNS, Super Anti-Spyware, Spyware Blaster, MCShield, Unchecky, Vivaldi Browser and, various browser security tools.

"Look before you leap!" Use online scanners before you click on any link.

Offline CraigB

  • Avast √úberevangelist
  • Serious Graphoman
  • *****
  • Posts: 11057
  • No support PM's thanks
Re: Heavy CPU Usage
« Reply #5 on: October 06, 2014, 04:46:55 PM »
x86 is a 32bit system.

Offline Para-Noid

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Starting Graphoman
  • ***
  • Posts: 6712
  • Trust only what you test yourself!
Re: Heavy CPU Usage
« Reply #6 on: October 06, 2014, 06:32:12 PM »
x86 is a 32bit system.

I have a 64 bit and some files are Program Files (x86).

Never mind those are 32 bit software that will work on a 64 bit system.
Then again my Win7 x64 is a "wrap around" 64 bit.
Dell Inspiron, Win10x64--HP Envy Win10x64--Both systems Avast Free v17.9.2322, Comodo Firewall v8.2 w/D+, MalwareBytes v3.0, OpenDNS, Super Anti-Spyware, Spyware Blaster, MCShield, Unchecky, Vivaldi Browser and, various browser security tools.

"Look before you leap!" Use online scanners before you click on any link.