Author Topic: Smart Scan- Why does it take a long time?  (Read 10793 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline dagrev

  • Poster
  • *
  • Posts: 424
Smart Scan- Why does it take a long time?
« on: October 11, 2014, 04:38:53 PM »
At this rate 2+ hrs.  A full scan takes about 47 minutes. 

Is is scanning the other second HD as well?

Thanks for the advice and apologies if this has been covered.

(Sorry for the duplicate--the site froze and two posts were present.)
« Last Edit: October 11, 2014, 05:07:14 PM by dagrev »
Toshiba P870 Intel i7 2.30 GHz, 8GB Ram / Win7 (x64) SP1 | AIS 8 | MBAM Pro | AX64 Time Machine | Acronis TI | iDrive (free) | Pale Moon Browser
Naturalism postulates a non-rational source for man’s rationality. (K.Samples)
Would any one trust in the convictions of a monkey’s mind...? (Darwin)

Online DavidR

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 85965
  • No support PMs thanks
Re: Smart Scan- Why does it take a long time?
« Reply #1 on: October 11, 2014, 06:09:36 PM »
The smart scan If I recall from the brief write up is it does all scans and some other checks also.

Quote
• Smart Scan
Integrated all on demand scans into one (Antivirus, Software updates, Home Network, GrimeFighter). One scan, different results and recommendations.

So it is highly likely to take some time, though I would consider 2+ hours excessive.

Personally I have no use of this so called Smart Scan - after all on-demand scans are likely to be scanning files that would either be dormant or inert. The files I'm concerned with are active files, which the on-access File System Shield would scan if active.
Windows 10 Home 64bit/ Acer Aspire F15/ Intel Core i5 7200U 2.5GHz, 8GB DDR4 memory, 256GB SSD, 1TB HDD/ avast! free 21.9.2494 (build 21.9.6698.703) UI 1.0.672/ Firefox, uBlock Origin, uMatrix/ MailWasher Pro/ Avast! Mobile Security

Offline dagrev

  • Poster
  • *
  • Posts: 424
Re: Smart Scan- Why does it take a long time?
« Reply #2 on: October 11, 2014, 08:13:05 PM »
Thanks.  I'm not sure why one would need to run all of those at once either.  And at that rate I could run them separately and it would be faster it seems.  It's not something I would normally run, but was curious about it and noticed it was very slow.  At least for me.
« Last Edit: October 11, 2014, 08:14:46 PM by dagrev »
Toshiba P870 Intel i7 2.30 GHz, 8GB Ram / Win7 (x64) SP1 | AIS 8 | MBAM Pro | AX64 Time Machine | Acronis TI | iDrive (free) | Pale Moon Browser
Naturalism postulates a non-rational source for man’s rationality. (K.Samples)
Would any one trust in the convictions of a monkey’s mind...? (Darwin)

Offline HDW38

  • Massive Poster
  • ****
  • Posts: 3406
Re: Smart Scan- Why does it take a long time?
« Reply #3 on: October 11, 2014, 11:06:25 PM »

The Smart Scan I started this evening just lasted 3 minutes.
 ;)
HDW

Offline dagrev

  • Poster
  • *
  • Posts: 424
Re: Smart Scan- Why does it take a long time?
« Reply #4 on: October 12, 2014, 01:38:43 AM »
Interesting.  Something definitely off here then.
Toshiba P870 Intel i7 2.30 GHz, 8GB Ram / Win7 (x64) SP1 | AIS 8 | MBAM Pro | AX64 Time Machine | Acronis TI | iDrive (free) | Pale Moon Browser
Naturalism postulates a non-rational source for man’s rationality. (K.Samples)
Would any one trust in the convictions of a monkey’s mind...? (Darwin)

Online DavidR

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 85965
  • No support PMs thanks
Re: Smart Scan- Why does it take a long time?
« Reply #5 on: October 12, 2014, 03:40:54 PM »

The Smart Scan I started this evening just lasted 3 minutes.
 ;)
HDW

Interesting.  Something definitely off here then.

A lot would depend on the users system, how many hard drives and the amount of data, etc.

Also if you don't have a network setup or some other things which would otherwise be included in the scan (don't have GrimeFighter, etc.), they would all have an impact. If you continue to use your system, browsing, etc. whilst the scan is running.

But I don't believe all that should take it from minutes to hours - given what your individual scan times were previously.
Windows 10 Home 64bit/ Acer Aspire F15/ Intel Core i5 7200U 2.5GHz, 8GB DDR4 memory, 256GB SSD, 1TB HDD/ avast! free 21.9.2494 (build 21.9.6698.703) UI 1.0.672/ Firefox, uBlock Origin, uMatrix/ MailWasher Pro/ Avast! Mobile Security

Offline DJBone

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Starting Graphoman
  • ***
  • Posts: 6346
Re: Smart Scan- Why does it take a long time?
« Reply #6 on: October 12, 2014, 03:44:20 PM »
Do you've changed something in the Smart-Scan settings?

DJBone
Win10 x64, APS (always latest version)
Avast Mobile Security (always latest version)

Offline HDW38

  • Massive Poster
  • ****
  • Posts: 3406
Re: Smart Scan- Why does it take a long time?
« Reply #7 on: October 12, 2014, 04:06:31 PM »
Do you've changed something in the Smart-Scan settings?


If your question was for me: I didn't change the settings.

HDW

Offline DJBone

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Starting Graphoman
  • ***
  • Posts: 6346
Re: Smart Scan- Why does it take a long time?
« Reply #8 on: October 12, 2014, 06:47:04 PM »
Do you've changed something in the Smart-Scan settings?
If your question was for me: I didn't change the settings.

HDW
No, it was for dagrev.

DJBone
Win10 x64, APS (always latest version)
Avast Mobile Security (always latest version)

Offline dagrev

  • Poster
  • *
  • Posts: 424
Re: Smart Scan- Why does it take a long time?
« Reply #9 on: October 12, 2014, 08:55:21 PM »
No, I haven't changed anything setting-wise and not sure if you can for this.  I have two HDs: C has 198Gb, an extra partition having 164Gb, and a 2nd HD with 324Gb (most of this is snapshots from AX64).
« Last Edit: October 12, 2014, 08:57:26 PM by dagrev »
Toshiba P870 Intel i7 2.30 GHz, 8GB Ram / Win7 (x64) SP1 | AIS 8 | MBAM Pro | AX64 Time Machine | Acronis TI | iDrive (free) | Pale Moon Browser
Naturalism postulates a non-rational source for man’s rationality. (K.Samples)
Would any one trust in the convictions of a monkey’s mind...? (Darwin)

Offline Para-Noid

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Starting Graphoman
  • ***
  • Posts: 6711
  • Trust only what you test yourself!
Re: Smart Scan- Why does it take a long time?
« Reply #10 on: October 12, 2014, 09:53:44 PM »
I'm sure you have already thought of this but...have you tried a repair?
Control Panel>Uninstall a Program>double click "avast">click "repair">reboot.
Dell Inspiron, Win10x64--HP Envy Win10x64--Both systems Avast Free v17.9.2322, Comodo Firewall v8.2 w/D+, MalwareBytes v3.0, OpenDNS, Super Anti-Spyware, Spyware Blaster, MCShield, Unchecky, Vivaldi Browser and, various browser security tools.

"Look before you leap!" Use online scanners before you click on any link.

Offline dagrev

  • Poster
  • *
  • Posts: 424
Re: Smart Scan- Why does it take a long time?
« Reply #11 on: October 13, 2014, 02:13:30 AM »
No I haven't, but this was an issue in the betas and I was hoping this release would help this.  But I'll give that a go and see what happens.
Toshiba P870 Intel i7 2.30 GHz, 8GB Ram / Win7 (x64) SP1 | AIS 8 | MBAM Pro | AX64 Time Machine | Acronis TI | iDrive (free) | Pale Moon Browser
Naturalism postulates a non-rational source for man’s rationality. (K.Samples)
Would any one trust in the convictions of a monkey’s mind...? (Darwin)