Author Topic: Avast is blocking Firefox to load  (Read 5857 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Lisandro

  • Avast team
  • Certainly Bot
  • *
  • Posts: 67235
Avast is blocking Firefox to load
« on: October 19, 2014, 10:24:35 PM »
If I force close Firefox (or even close to open again, just to reduce memory usage), Windows is saying I do not have access rights to the exe file and block it.
If I stop all Avast modules, Firefox (v33) load.
I've tested on both the default installation path and also customized path.
Why is this happening?
The best things in life are free.

Offline Eddy

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Maybe Bot
  • ***
  • Posts: 31118
  • Watching (over?) you
    • Malware removal, Biljart and other things.
Re: Avast is blocking Firefox to load
« Reply #1 on: October 19, 2014, 10:51:28 PM »
Quote
Windows is saying I do not have access rights to the exe file and block it.
Sounds like FF is still in use/not shutdown completely. Could be avast is still scanning (temporary) files.

Offline RejZoR

  • Polymorphic Sheep
  • Serious Graphoman
  • *****
  • Posts: 9408
  • We are supersheep, resistance is futile!
    • RejZoR's Flock of Sheep
Re: Avast is blocking Firefox to load
« Reply #2 on: October 20, 2014, 01:45:50 PM »
I've had a lot of problems with FF 33 locking itself in memory after closing the GUI and also crashing on exit, but then the next day it was behaving like there were no problems at all. Just randomly. Huh.
Visit my webpage Angry Sheep Blog

Offline Lisandro

  • Avast team
  • Certainly Bot
  • *
  • Posts: 67235
Re: Avast is blocking Firefox to load
« Reply #3 on: October 20, 2014, 02:05:07 PM »
Quote
Windows is saying I do not have access rights to the exe file and block it.
Sounds like FF is still in use/not shutdown completely. Could be avast is still scanning (temporary) files.
Hmmm... I think not, as I'm killing Firefox on Task Manager. And when I'm not killing it, it is not listed there. Message is different when Firefox is still running.

I've had a lot of problems with FF 33 locking itself in memory after closing the GUI and also crashing on exit, but then the next day it was behaving like there were no problems at all. Just randomly. Huh.
Good to know. Anything we could do? Thanks.

The best things in life are free.

Offline RejZoR

  • Polymorphic Sheep
  • Serious Graphoman
  • *****
  • Posts: 9408
  • We are supersheep, resistance is futile!
    • RejZoR's Flock of Sheep
Re: Avast is blocking Firefox to load
« Reply #4 on: October 20, 2014, 07:01:55 PM »
Oh for giod sake,w hat the hell is causing this!?!?! It certainly wasn't happening prior to RC3 and now Firefox is crashing all the frigin tiem. And what's worse, FF crashes but there is not a single entry in Event Viewer about it. So i realyl have no clue what's casuing it.
Visit my webpage Angry Sheep Blog

Offline Charyb-0

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Massive Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 2508
Re: Avast is blocking Firefox to load
« Reply #5 on: October 20, 2014, 07:17:14 PM »
Can you type about:crashes in the Firefox address bar to see if it shows anything?
« Last Edit: October 20, 2014, 07:19:09 PM by Charyb »

Offline Para-Noid

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Starting Graphoman
  • ***
  • Posts: 6705
  • Trust only what you test yourself!
Re: Avast is blocking Firefox to load
« Reply #6 on: October 20, 2014, 07:19:04 PM »
I haven't encountered this issue with RC3 and FF v33.
Have you tried to uninstall Firefox and then re-install FF v33?

Also, when you updated FF was it through the GUI or via your download folder?
Dell Inspiron, Win10x64--HP Envy Win10x64--Both systems Avast Free v17.9.2322, Comodo Firewall v8.2 w/D+, MalwareBytes v3.0, OpenDNS, Super Anti-Spyware, Spyware Blaster, MCShield, Unchecky, Vivaldi Browser and, various browser security tools.

"Look before you leap!" Use online scanners before you click on any link.

Offline DavidR

  • Avast √úberevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 87305
  • No support PMs thanks
Re: Avast is blocking Firefox to load
« Reply #7 on: October 20, 2014, 07:22:49 PM »
I use firefox as my default browser and I haven't encountered this with FF 33.0 and RC3.

Mind you I don't use the Avast Online Security add-on, if that may be involved.
Windows 10 Home 64bit/ Acer Aspire F15/ Intel Core i5 7200U 2.5GHz, 8GB DDR4 memory, 256GB SSD, 1TB HDD/ avast! free 22.12.6044 (build 22.12.7758.768) UI 1.0.741/ Firefox, uBlock Origin, uMatrix/ MailWasher Pro/ Avast! Mobile Security

Offline Eddy

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Maybe Bot
  • ***
  • Posts: 31118
  • Watching (over?) you
    • Malware removal, Biljart and other things.
Re: Avast is blocking Firefox to load
« Reply #8 on: October 20, 2014, 07:25:25 PM »
See if you can log anything with SysMon, RejZoR
http://technet.microsoft.com/en-us/sysinternals/bb545021.aspx

Offline RejZoR

  • Polymorphic Sheep
  • Serious Graphoman
  • *****
  • Posts: 9408
  • We are supersheep, resistance is futile!
    • RejZoR's Flock of Sheep
Re: Avast is blocking Firefox to load
« Reply #9 on: October 20, 2014, 07:27:00 PM »
I use firefox as my default browser and I haven't encountered this with FF 33.0 and RC3.

Mind you I don't use the Avast Online Security add-on, if that may be involved.

Neither do i...
Visit my webpage Angry Sheep Blog

Offline Chris Thomas

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Super Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 1936
  • Christian Geek - aka 'born again' Geek
Re: Avast is blocking Firefox to load
« Reply #10 on: October 20, 2014, 09:32:55 PM »
I had a similar problem in the previous Avast RC.

I couldn't install addons on Firefox 33 from outside mozilla addon website.

For example :

If I install https everywhere addon from here https://www.eff.org/https-everywhere

It would download the addon, but won't install saying the connection was interrupted.

I did also notice that firefox didn't open saying it was already running.

It went away after I upgraded to the latest avast rc.


Edit : Strike that. It still happens unless I disable Avast. I tested now.

"This addon could not be installed because of a connection failure on www.eff.org"
« Last Edit: October 20, 2014, 09:38:09 PM by Chris Thomas »