Author Topic: Avast 2015 NG Front End CPU Usage  (Read 69535 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Thorev

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 3
Avast 2015 NG Front End CPU Usage
« on: October 25, 2014, 06:40:44 PM »
Hello everybody,

As a long time Avast user I'm wondering why the CPU usage for the aswFe.exe (NG) is this high.
My CPU is hardly enjoying himself, to say the least since it loves using Turbo mode pushing it to 4.8 GHz which results in a 80ºC (176ºF)  temperature for the past 40 minutes.

CPU: Intel Core i7 3770K @ 3.5GHz (O/C 4.8GHz)
RAM: 24GB DDR3
GPU: 2x MSI R7850 Twin Frozr 2GD5/OC (CrossFire)

So, when it this CPU hog gonna drop dead or do I have to start uninstalling Avast 2015?

Offline avaster78

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 96
Re: Avast 2015 NG Front End CPU Usage
« Reply #1 on: October 25, 2014, 08:29:07 PM »
I think you know this by now, but when you install Avast 2015 and NG, preparing NG takes few minutes while CPU is quite high.  Also when preparing, there's some temporary processes running, which will not be running after NG is ready.
« Last Edit: October 25, 2014, 08:31:28 PM by avaster78 »
Windows 7 Home Premium SP1 64-bit. Avast Free Latest. Opera (Chromium). SpywareBlaster 5.5. Windows 10 Firewall Control Free 64-bit (together w/ Windows Firewall). HW: HP G5139sc - Athlon II X2 220 2.8 GHz - 4 GB (Dual-channel). VDSL2 Modem Router w/ Firewall. Internet 50Mbs.

Offline Thorev

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 3
Re: Avast 2015 NG Front End CPU Usage
« Reply #2 on: October 25, 2014, 08:48:37 PM »
Well it's still running at ~ 15% with my CPU going, HERE HAVE 4.8GHz while we burn it up to ~ 65ºC!"



I don't call this 'a few minutes' as mentioned by you and others in several threads.

Offline avaster78

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 96
Re: Avast 2015 NG Front End CPU Usage
« Reply #3 on: October 25, 2014, 09:15:40 PM »
I think NG is ready, but it's on some "stuck mode". Rebooting computer is worth to try.
« Last Edit: October 25, 2014, 09:17:23 PM by avaster78 »
Windows 7 Home Premium SP1 64-bit. Avast Free Latest. Opera (Chromium). SpywareBlaster 5.5. Windows 10 Firewall Control Free 64-bit (together w/ Windows Firewall). HW: HP G5139sc - Athlon II X2 220 2.8 GHz - 4 GB (Dual-channel). VDSL2 Modem Router w/ Firewall. Internet 50Mbs.

Offline RejZoR

  • Polymorphic Sheep
  • Serious Graphoman
  • *****
  • Posts: 9353
  • We are supersheep, resistance is futile!
    • RejZoR's Flock of Sheep
Re: Avast 2015 NG Front End CPU Usage
« Reply #4 on: October 25, 2014, 09:17:14 PM »
Logout should be enough. Maybe avast! should have some sort of kil switch for processes inside DeepScreen NG sandbox. If something is running in there for too long (more than 10 minutes?) it should be killed.
Visit my webpage Angry Sheep Blog

Offline Thorev

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 3
Re: Avast 2015 NG Front End CPU Usage
« Reply #5 on: October 25, 2014, 09:40:04 PM »
Rebooted, will let the PC run for another 30 minutes since NG is still eating ~ 15% CPU.
After that sorry Avast I'll be subscribing to the competition.

Offline RejZoR

  • Polymorphic Sheep
  • Serious Graphoman
  • *****
  • Posts: 9353
  • We are supersheep, resistance is futile!
    • RejZoR's Flock of Sheep
Re: Avast 2015 NG Front End CPU Usage
« Reply #6 on: October 25, 2014, 09:43:54 PM »
Well, you can just remove the NG part if you want. Use Programs and features and use Change menu in avast! uninstaller. It will only remove the (problematic) NG part and the rest will remain where it is.
Visit my webpage Angry Sheep Blog

Offline Thorev

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 3
Re: Avast 2015 NG Front End CPU Usage
« Reply #7 on: October 26, 2014, 12:22:25 AM »
Left the PC running while watching a movie on TV and all seems fine now.
Weird though on how long it took and how annoying it was.

O well, feedback never hurts for the devs.

- Thread may be closed.

Offline bob3160

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Probably Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 44529
  • 60 Years of Happiness
    • bob3160 Protecting Yourself, Your Computer and, Your Identity
Re: Avast 2015 NG Front End CPU Usage
« Reply #8 on: October 26, 2014, 10:04:37 PM »
It takes a while for the virtual drives to set up. Ones that's done, your computer is back to it's happy old self.
It's just safer than it was before the delay. :)
Free avast! Security Seminar: http://bit.ly/2N1eaR2  -  Important: http://www.organdonor.gov/ -- My Web Site: http://bob3160.strikingly.com/ - Win 10 Pro v20H2 64bit, 24 Gig Ram, 1TB SSD, AvastOmni 20.7.xxx, How to Successfully Install Avast http://goo.gl/VLXdeRepair & Clean Install https://goo.gl/t7aJGq

Offline GGITech

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 6
Re: Avast 2015 NG Front End CPU Usage
« Reply #9 on: October 27, 2014, 07:25:05 PM »
Read the above and am having the same issue.
I let the system run for 2 hours last night, never settled down, continued to use 15-20% of proc.
It has been running 30 minutes again today, we are on the same path. 15-20% of proc.

The suggestion to let it run is fine by me, but I need to know an end game and some idea of what is taking so long.
Quad Proc, 8GB ram, 1TB Hybrid Drive.

Not sure how anything can take this long to actually build a sand box.
Can't kill process, only option is logout, or reboot.
Then it starts again.

Input is appreciated.

Offline GGITech

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 6
Re: Avast 2015 NG Front End CPU Usage
« Reply #10 on: October 27, 2014, 08:38:52 PM »
1 more hour.....been pegged on 25%

Offline GGITech

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 6
Re: Avast 2015 NG Front End CPU Usage
« Reply #11 on: October 27, 2014, 09:23:20 PM »
still 25%.....getting very annoying...
when will this end?
Since I am at the free version, there is no way to turn it off that I see, since I actually don't have sandbox services.

Offline GGITech

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 6
Re: Avast 2015 NG Front End CPU Usage
« Reply #12 on: October 27, 2014, 09:42:47 PM »
Still going....might be time to kick the energizer bunny and move to duracell....
I don't want to move from Avast after 10+ years of service....
But this is total bs.

Offline bob3160

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Probably Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 44529
  • 60 Years of Happiness
    • bob3160 Protecting Yourself, Your Computer and, Your Identity
Re: Avast 2015 NG Front End CPU Usage
« Reply #13 on: October 27, 2014, 10:46:23 PM »
If you continue to have problems, follow RejZoR's advice:
https://forum.avast.com/index.php?topic=157998.msg1140856#msg1140856
Free avast! Security Seminar: http://bit.ly/2N1eaR2  -  Important: http://www.organdonor.gov/ -- My Web Site: http://bob3160.strikingly.com/ - Win 10 Pro v20H2 64bit, 24 Gig Ram, 1TB SSD, AvastOmni 20.7.xxx, How to Successfully Install Avast http://goo.gl/VLXdeRepair & Clean Install https://goo.gl/t7aJGq

Offline GGITech

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 6
Re: Avast 2015 NG Front End CPU Usage
« Reply #14 on: October 28, 2014, 01:21:37 AM »
Not what I expect, I would like to leave the feature, but having an application with no indication of progress, is useless. I'd rather have it do what it wants, but when will it finish?
No one seems to know that.

Sounds like the new bullshit malwarebytes 2.0 and it's interface....lets make it pretty for idiots, but take out functionality for people that are not idiots.

Any chance Avast will actually respond or tackle the problem?