Author Topic: Avast 2015 NG Front End CPU Usage  (Read 69355 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline bob3160

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Probably Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 44279
  • 60 Years of Happiness
    • bob3160 Protecting Yourself, Your Computer and, Your Identity
Re: Avast 2015 NG Front End CPU Usage
« Reply #45 on: February 07, 2015, 08:07:52 PM »
It was very annoying to find the CPU load exceeding the 50% causing my old vaio with core 2 duo processor T7200 and Windows 8.1 32 bits installed with onley 2 GB of memory, to flutter and stutter.
Since one of the topics was talking about a sandbox installed for deepscreen, I looked into the bios and enabled the "use external drives" feature in the boot sequence.
After reboot the issue was solved.
Maybe this is helpful for somebody else.
I can't see how this has anything to do with the Avast  NG service ??? What you enabled was the ability to boot from a USB device. :)
Free avast! Security Seminar: http://bit.ly/2N1eaR2  -  Important: http://www.organdonor.gov/ -- My Web Site: http://bob3160.strikingly.com/ - Win 10 Pro v1909 64bit, 24 Gig Ram, 1TB SSD, AvastOmni 20.7.xxx, How to Successfully Install Avast http://goo.gl/VLXdeRepair & Clean Install https://goo.gl/t7aJGq

Offline EllenM

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 2
Re: Avast 2015 NG Front End CPU Usage
« Reply #46 on: February 07, 2015, 08:13:20 PM »
In my bios it is not only enabling the use of usb external drive but also the use of virtual drive.

I myself also could not understand the "miracle", however, it solved the issue.

Offline RonSH

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 35
  • Catch me if you can
Re: Avast 2015 NG Front End CPU Usage
« Reply #47 on: February 11, 2015, 06:41:20 PM »
I realise that this thread is a bit lengthy now but as an ordinary user of AV (not an AV expert) what I can do to stop NG occupying my lady's pc for many hours before it settles down and stops hogging 50% of her processor thus making her pc very slow. I've checked that the pc has the latest software and updates installed.

This pc is Vista and easily meets the 'spec' mentioned. NG seems to have 'repeat events' eg just downloaded and installed the monthly Microsoft Updates and 'welcome back' to NG hogging the processor! Some hours, tried 3 reboots and finally its 'gone to bed'.

If I stop this NG:
- How can I because I've looked at 'Change' and NG is not ticked to start with ... as per other comment in this thread
- What are the downside risks?
- Is it an essential and important part of AV safety

I seek guidance please ... the 'boss' could be getting difficult and my suggestion that she has a read about NG did not improve the situation!

Phew Ron
An Oz in Norway

Offline bob3160

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Probably Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 44279
  • 60 Years of Happiness
    • bob3160 Protecting Yourself, Your Computer and, Your Identity
Re: Avast 2015 NG Front End CPU Usage
« Reply #48 on: February 11, 2015, 08:34:23 PM »
I realise that this thread is a bit lengthy now but as an ordinary user of AV (not an AV expert) what I can do to stop NG occupying my lady's pc for many hours before it settles down and stops hogging 50% of her processor thus making her pc very slow. I've checked that the pc has the latest software and updates installed.

This pc is Vista and easily meets the 'spec' mentioned. NG seems to have 'repeat events' eg just downloaded and installed the monthly Microsoft Updates and 'welcome back' to NG hogging the processor! Some hours, tried 3 reboots and finally its 'gone to bed'.

If I stop this NG:
- How can I because I've looked at 'Change' and NG is not ticked to start with ... as per other comment in this thread
- What are the downside risks?
- Is it an essential and important part of AV safety

I seek guidance please ... the 'boss' could be getting difficult and my suggestion that she has a read about NG did not improve the situation!

Phew Ron
You might want to give the latest beta a try where they have made improvement to NG and how it uses your memory:
https://forum.avast.com/index.php?topic=165749.0

Free avast! Security Seminar: http://bit.ly/2N1eaR2  -  Important: http://www.organdonor.gov/ -- My Web Site: http://bob3160.strikingly.com/ - Win 10 Pro v1909 64bit, 24 Gig Ram, 1TB SSD, AvastOmni 20.7.xxx, How to Successfully Install Avast http://goo.gl/VLXdeRepair & Clean Install https://goo.gl/t7aJGq

Offline RonSH

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 35
  • Catch me if you can
Re: Avast 2015 NG Front End CPU Usage
« Reply #49 on: February 12, 2015, 11:49:46 AM »
You might want to give the latest beta a try where they have made improvement to NG and how it uses your memory:
https://forum.avast.com/index.php?topic=165749.0

Thanks for that tip ... gotta keep the lady happy.
Ron
An Oz in Norway

Offline bob3160

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Probably Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 44279
  • 60 Years of Happiness
    • bob3160 Protecting Yourself, Your Computer and, Your Identity
Re: Avast 2015 NG Front End CPU Usage
« Reply #50 on: February 12, 2015, 01:28:22 PM »
You might want to give the latest beta a try where they have made improvement to NG and how it uses your memory:
https://forum.avast.com/index.php?topic=165749.0

Thanks for that tip ... gotta keep the lady happy.
Ron
Hope that means it's working for you (her). :)
Free avast! Security Seminar: http://bit.ly/2N1eaR2  -  Important: http://www.organdonor.gov/ -- My Web Site: http://bob3160.strikingly.com/ - Win 10 Pro v1909 64bit, 24 Gig Ram, 1TB SSD, AvastOmni 20.7.xxx, How to Successfully Install Avast http://goo.gl/VLXdeRepair & Clean Install https://goo.gl/t7aJGq

Offline RonSH

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 35
  • Catch me if you can
Re: Avast 2015 NG Front End CPU Usage
« Reply #51 on: February 12, 2015, 04:05:46 PM »
Hey ... life is back to normal!
I installed the beta on both of our machines (Vista & Windows7) and a very straightforward process. In both cases I chose Custom, unticking all but the Software Updater in Tools. Seems stable and currently a definite lack of fan noise ... but the house is colder  ::)
Ron
An Oz in Norway

Offline bob3160

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Probably Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 44279
  • 60 Years of Happiness
    • bob3160 Protecting Yourself, Your Computer and, Your Identity
Re: Avast 2015 NG Front End CPU Usage
« Reply #52 on: February 12, 2015, 04:09:59 PM »
Hey ... life is back to normal!
I installed the beta on both of our machines (Vista & Windows7) and a very straightforward process. In both cases I chose Custom, unticking all but the Software Updater in Tools. Seems stable and currently a definite lack of fan noise ... but the house is colder  ::)
Ron
Good news. Air-conditioning without electric sparks. :)
Free avast! Security Seminar: http://bit.ly/2N1eaR2  -  Important: http://www.organdonor.gov/ -- My Web Site: http://bob3160.strikingly.com/ - Win 10 Pro v1909 64bit, 24 Gig Ram, 1TB SSD, AvastOmni 20.7.xxx, How to Successfully Install Avast http://goo.gl/VLXdeRepair & Clean Install https://goo.gl/t7aJGq

Offline greyowl

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 308
Re: Avast 2015 NG Front End CPU Usage
« Reply #53 on: April 24, 2015, 06:02:08 AM »
Is this NG issue related to Avast Free or only the paid versions?

I don't see how to disable it in the free version nor is it listed as a feature when I try to change Avast Free in Add/Remove programs in XP.
Dell Laptop, 1.6Ghz, 1.5GB RAM, XPsp3, Avast Free, Windows Firewall

Offline Asyn

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 67321
    • >>>  Avast Forum - Deutschsprachiger Bereich  <<<
Re: Avast 2015 NG Front End CPU Usage
« Reply #54 on: April 24, 2015, 06:07:47 AM »
Is this NG issue related to Avast Free or only the paid versions?

I don't see how to disable it in the free version nor is it listed as a feature when I try to change Avast Free in Add/Remove programs in XP.
NG isn't available on XP.
Win 8.1 [x64] - Avast PremSec 20.9.2433.Beta1 [UI.571] - CC 5.72 - EEK - FF ESR 78.4 [NS/AOS/uBO/PB] - TB 78.3.3 - SB/CP/SL/DU.B
Deutschsprachiger Bereich -> Avast Wissenswertes (Downloads, Anleitungen & Infos): https://forum.avast.com/index.php?topic=60523.0

Offline greyowl

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 308
Re: Avast 2015 NG Front End CPU Usage
« Reply #55 on: April 24, 2015, 06:09:33 AM »
Thank you for the information.

So this won't be a problem for my laptop.
Dell Laptop, 1.6Ghz, 1.5GB RAM, XPsp3, Avast Free, Windows Firewall

Offline Asyn

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 67321
    • >>>  Avast Forum - Deutschsprachiger Bereich  <<<
Re: Avast 2015 NG Front End CPU Usage
« Reply #56 on: April 24, 2015, 06:26:35 AM »
You're welcome.
Win 8.1 [x64] - Avast PremSec 20.9.2433.Beta1 [UI.571] - CC 5.72 - EEK - FF ESR 78.4 [NS/AOS/uBO/PB] - TB 78.3.3 - SB/CP/SL/DU.B
Deutschsprachiger Bereich -> Avast Wissenswertes (Downloads, Anleitungen & Infos): https://forum.avast.com/index.php?topic=60523.0

Offline usalabs14

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 28
Re: Avast 2015 NG Front End CPU Usage
« Reply #57 on: June 23, 2015, 08:35:06 PM »
Well, you can just remove the NG part if you want. Use Programs and features and use Change menu in avast! uninstaller. It will only remove the (problematic) NG part and the rest will remain where it is.

Sorry, but avast force NG if you install the free version and there's absolutely NO WAY to uninstall NG, and if you're prepared to wait about a month (in extreme scenarios), then that's the time it'll take for NG to finish.

My PC has been on continuously for 3 weeks and NG front end is still using 35% CPU,with core temps ranging from 120F to 145F, at one time it got to 150F and the system shut down due to overheating, all because NG, and I'm still waiting for it to finish, it it takes more than a month, I'll be switching to free AVG.

Offline DavidR

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 83916
  • No support PMs thanks
Re: Avast 2015 NG Front End CPU Usage
« Reply #58 on: June 23, 2015, 08:54:22 PM »
Well, you can just remove the NG part if you want. Use Programs and features and use Change menu in avast! uninstaller. It will only remove the (problematic) NG part and the rest will remain where it is.

Sorry, but avast force NG if you install the free version and there's absolutely NO WAY to uninstall NG, and if you're prepared to wait about a month (in extreme scenarios), then that's the time it'll take for NG to finish.

My PC has been on continuously for 3 weeks and NG front end is still using 35% CPU,with core temps ranging from 120F to 145F, at one time it got to 150F and the system shut down due to overheating, all because NG, and I'm still waiting for it to finish, it it takes more than a month, I'll be switching to free AVG.

Of course you can uninstall NG, in the same way as you can other modules in avast, as RejZoR said in the text you quoted. I did exactly that on my win7 netbook (as I feel it is under powered to run NG).

Note: NG in the Tools section of the Programs and Features > Avast Antivirus > Change - Tools section is called Secure Virtual Machines.
Windows 10 Home 2004 64bit/ Acer Aspire F15/ Intel Core i5 7200U 2.5GHz, 8GB DDR4 memory, 256GB SSD, 1TB HDD/ avast! free 20.8.2432 (build 20.8.5684.602) UI-1.0.564/ WinPatrol+/ Firefox, uBlock Origin, uMatrix/ MailWasher Pro/ Avast! Mobile Security