Author Topic: CPU Support for Avast NG?  (Read 11240 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Patrick2

  • Poster
  • *
  • Posts: 489
CPU Support for Avast NG?
« on: October 31, 2014, 06:08:04 PM »
Upgraded over beta version via program update via GUI, still don't have NG, even when I goto Program/Features, change, and select it there.   below is a photo capture what my CPU supports

Windows 10 Pro 64bit 1909 18363.476, Intel I7 7700 Nvidia Geforce 1050 16gb DDR4, WD 250GBSSD, 1tb Storage, Avast Free 19.8.2393
HP Omen Laptop Intel I7 7700HQ, 8gb Of Ram Windows 10 Home x64 1909 18363.476 128GB SSD, 1tb Storage, Avast Free 19.8.2393

Offline Eddy

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Maybe Bot
  • ***
  • Posts: 31210
  • Watching (over?) you
    • Malware removal, Biljart and other things.
Re: CPU Support for Avast NG?
« Reply #1 on: October 31, 2014, 06:37:20 PM »
It is not just about your cpu.
It is about your motherboard.
Does it supports VM hardware?
Check the manual if you don't know.
If it does support it, make sure it is enabled in the bios before installing avast with NG.

Offline Para-Noid

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Starting Graphoman
  • ***
  • Posts: 6710
  • Trust only what you test yourself!
Re: CPU Support for Avast NG?
« Reply #2 on: October 31, 2014, 06:43:36 PM »
Not every CPU supports "virtualization technology". (Mine does not.)
There are two ways of finding this out...

1) Choose "custom" install of avast. If you see "NG" on the screen you have it.
2) Check in your BIOS to see if you "hardware virtualization'. Reboot and press "F2" before the login screen.
    Select "Setup">look for "hardware virtualization".
Dell Inspiron, Win10x64--HP Envy Win10x64--Both systems Avast Free v17.9.2322, Comodo Firewall v8.2 w/D+, MalwareBytes v3.0, OpenDNS, Super Anti-Spyware, Spyware Blaster, MCShield, Unchecky, Vivaldi Browser and, various browser security tools.

"Look before you leap!" Use online scanners before you click on any link.

Offline Patrick2

  • Poster
  • *
  • Posts: 489
Re: CPU Support for Avast NG?
« Reply #3 on: October 31, 2014, 07:29:22 PM »
PC is an HP P6-2133W Retail Desktop, Virtualization does show enabled in bios, unless HP Got the disabled and enabled backwards lol, NG wasn't showing in the Custom install section last time I checked for that in the Avast setup area.   

Motherboard is a Pegatron one
Windows 10 Pro 64bit 1909 18363.476, Intel I7 7700 Nvidia Geforce 1050 16gb DDR4, WD 250GBSSD, 1tb Storage, Avast Free 19.8.2393
HP Omen Laptop Intel I7 7700HQ, 8gb Of Ram Windows 10 Home x64 1909 18363.476 128GB SSD, 1tb Storage, Avast Free 19.8.2393

REDACTED

  • Guest
Re: CPU Support for Avast NG?
« Reply #4 on: October 31, 2014, 07:37:38 PM »
here is a easy way to check for hardware virtualization

Microsoft® Hardware-Assisted Virtualization Detection Tool

Supported Operating System

Windows 7, Windows Vista Service Pack 1, Windows Vista Service Pack 2, Windows XP Service Pack 2, Windows XP Service Pack 3

Note: Only the following versions of Windows XP and Windows Vista is supported:
Windows Vista Service Pack 1, 2 (Home Basic, Home Premium, Business, Enterprise, Ultimate)
Windows XP Service Pack 3 (Professional), Windows XP Service Pack 2 (Professional)
Hard disk requirement: 1MB

hxxp://www.microsoft.com/en-us/download/details.aspx?id=592

:)

James

Offline Para-Noid

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Starting Graphoman
  • ***
  • Posts: 6710
  • Trust only what you test yourself!
Re: CPU Support for Avast NG?
« Reply #5 on: October 31, 2014, 07:40:38 PM »
PC is an HP P6-2133W Retail Desktop, Virtualization does show enabled in bios, unless HP Got the disabled and enabled backwards lol, NG wasn't showing in the Custom install section last time I checked for that in the Avast setup area.   

Motherboard is a Pegatron one

Since you don't have VT you won't be able to use the NG technology. You will still reap the
benefits of dyna-gen in a stronger "deepscreen". It won't go to waste. avast has your back.  8)
Dell Inspiron, Win10x64--HP Envy Win10x64--Both systems Avast Free v17.9.2322, Comodo Firewall v8.2 w/D+, MalwareBytes v3.0, OpenDNS, Super Anti-Spyware, Spyware Blaster, MCShield, Unchecky, Vivaldi Browser and, various browser security tools.

"Look before you leap!" Use online scanners before you click on any link.

Offline Patrick2

  • Poster
  • *
  • Posts: 489
Re: CPU Support for Avast NG?
« Reply #6 on: October 31, 2014, 07:42:17 PM »
oh ok thank you....just was making sure on that, thanks for the informative replies, do appreciate it

Windows 10 Pro 64bit 1909 18363.476, Intel I7 7700 Nvidia Geforce 1050 16gb DDR4, WD 250GBSSD, 1tb Storage, Avast Free 19.8.2393
HP Omen Laptop Intel I7 7700HQ, 8gb Of Ram Windows 10 Home x64 1909 18363.476 128GB SSD, 1tb Storage, Avast Free 19.8.2393

Offline Eddy

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Maybe Bot
  • ***
  • Posts: 31210
  • Watching (over?) you
    • Malware removal, Biljart and other things.
Re: CPU Support for Avast NG?
« Reply #7 on: October 31, 2014, 07:43:03 PM »
Looks to me your system supports it.
Keep  in mind that it does use more diskspace then avast without NG enabled though.

If NG isn't working, delete avast (use also the uninstall util) and perform a fresh installation.
That should make it work.

Offline avaster78

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 96
Re: CPU Support for Avast NG?
« Reply #8 on: October 31, 2014, 08:22:30 PM »
here is a easy way to check for hardware virtualization

Microsoft® Hardware-Assisted Virtualization Detection Tool

Supported Operating System

Windows 7, Windows Vista Service Pack 1, Windows Vista Service Pack 2, Windows XP Service Pack 2, Windows XP Service Pack 3

Note: Only the following versions of Windows XP and Windows Vista is supported:
Windows Vista Service Pack 1, 2 (Home Basic, Home Premium, Business, Enterprise, Ultimate)
Windows XP Service Pack 3 (Professional), Windows XP Service Pack 2 (Professional)
Hard disk requirement: 1MB

hxxp://www.microsoft.com/en-us/download/details.aspx?id=592

:)

James

This tool says mine is NOT enabled, even though IT IS, and Avast NG is running. Can it be because my BIOS is password protected, so the tool can't tell?

I  have W7 HP.

Windows 7 Home Premium SP1 64-bit. Avast Free Latest. Opera (Chromium). SpywareBlaster 5.5. Windows 10 Firewall Control Free 64-bit (together w/ Windows Firewall). HW: HP G5139sc - Athlon II X2 220 2.8 GHz - 4 GB (Dual-channel). VDSL2 Modem Router w/ Firewall. Internet 50Mbs.

REDACTED

  • Guest
Re: CPU Support for Avast NG?
« Reply #9 on: October 31, 2014, 08:26:42 PM »
I do not see how the Avast "installer" is going to know if the BIOS has HW Virt enable or not.
Take a read her on some of my experiments: https://forum.avast.com/index.php?topic=158629.0
Obviously until Avast decides to comment this is all speculation.....BUT 100% for sure.......you need to reboot and go into BIOS and make sure it is ENABLED.

Offline avaster78

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 96
Re: CPU Support for Avast NG?
« Reply #10 on: October 31, 2014, 08:29:31 PM »
I do not see how the Avast "installer" is going to know if the BIOS has HW Virt enable or not.
Take a read her on some of my experiments: https://forum.avast.com/index.php?topic=158629.0
Obviously until Avast decides to comment this is all speculation.....BUT 100% for sure.......you need to reboot and go into BIOS and make sure it is ENABLED.

If so, then the Microsoft tool can't tell either..? Like i mentioned, the tool said disabled, even it's enabled.

I read that in most setups, VM tech. is disabled by default for security reasons, which makes it's use quite contradictory??
« Last Edit: October 31, 2014, 08:31:52 PM by avaster78 »
Windows 7 Home Premium SP1 64-bit. Avast Free Latest. Opera (Chromium). SpywareBlaster 5.5. Windows 10 Firewall Control Free 64-bit (together w/ Windows Firewall). HW: HP G5139sc - Athlon II X2 220 2.8 GHz - 4 GB (Dual-channel). VDSL2 Modem Router w/ Firewall. Internet 50Mbs.

REDACTED

  • Guest
Re: CPU Support for Avast NG?
« Reply #11 on: October 31, 2014, 08:39:30 PM »
I do not see how the Avast "installer" is going to know if the BIOS has HW Virt enable or not.
Take a read her on some of my experiments: https://forum.avast.com/index.php?topic=158629.0
Obviously until Avast decides to comment this is all speculation.....BUT 100% for sure.......you need to reboot and go into BIOS and make sure it is ENABLED.

If so, then the Microsoft tool can't tell either..? Like i mentioned, the tool said disabled, even it's enabled.

I read that in most setups, VM tech. is disabled by default for security reasons, which makes it's use quite contradictory??

Hey, checked the MS Tool and it works........the Intel tool seems to just check if the CPU is "capable".
For you, did you go into your BIOS on boot and check ?
When you are saying "enabled"....you are not talking about NG in Avast install but the BIOS ?
Obviously the system needs to be capable, BIOS setting "enabled", Avast installer Tools>NG checked.
« Last Edit: October 31, 2014, 08:41:04 PM by thekochs »

Offline avaster78

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 96
Re: CPU Support for Avast NG?
« Reply #12 on: October 31, 2014, 08:40:38 PM »
I do not see how the Avast "installer" is going to know if the BIOS has HW Virt enable or not.
Take a read her on some of my experiments: https://forum.avast.com/index.php?topic=158629.0
Obviously until Avast decides to comment this is all speculation.....BUT 100% for sure.......you need to reboot and go into BIOS and make sure it is ENABLED.

If so, then the Microsoft tool can't tell either..? Like i mentioned, the tool said disabled, even it's enabled.

I read that in most setups, VM tech. is disabled by default for security reasons, which makes it's use quite contradictory??

Hey, checked the MS Tool and it works........the Intel tool seems to just check if the CPU is "capable".
For you, did you go into your BIOS on boot and check ?
Yes, i checked it. It sure is enabled in BIOS.  NG is running fine.
« Last Edit: October 31, 2014, 08:42:40 PM by avaster78 »
Windows 7 Home Premium SP1 64-bit. Avast Free Latest. Opera (Chromium). SpywareBlaster 5.5. Windows 10 Firewall Control Free 64-bit (together w/ Windows Firewall). HW: HP G5139sc - Athlon II X2 220 2.8 GHz - 4 GB (Dual-channel). VDSL2 Modem Router w/ Firewall. Internet 50Mbs.

Offline Para-Noid

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Starting Graphoman
  • ***
  • Posts: 6710
  • Trust only what you test yourself!
Re: CPU Support for Avast NG?
« Reply #13 on: October 31, 2014, 08:42:52 PM »
@ OP  Your CPU "does" support VT. Check out the "level 2 cache size".

http://www.cpu-world.com/CPUs/K10/AMD-A6-Series%20A6-3620.html

@ the kochs  The avast installer has the ability to check for VT technology during the install.
                   However it (VT) must be enabled in the BIOS for NG to function. If during a
                   custom install the user sees "NG" they can utilize this new technology by enabling
                   VT in their BIOS.
Dell Inspiron, Win10x64--HP Envy Win10x64--Both systems Avast Free v17.9.2322, Comodo Firewall v8.2 w/D+, MalwareBytes v3.0, OpenDNS, Super Anti-Spyware, Spyware Blaster, MCShield, Unchecky, Vivaldi Browser and, various browser security tools.

"Look before you leap!" Use online scanners before you click on any link.

REDACTED

  • Guest
Re: CPU Support for Avast NG?
« Reply #14 on: October 31, 2014, 08:45:58 PM »
@ the kochs  The avast installer has the ability to check for VT technology during the install.
                   However it (VT) must be enabled in the BIOS for NG to function. If during a
                   custom install the user sees "NG" they can utilize this new technology by enabling
                   VT in their BIOS.

Thx....question: it seems Avast still installs NG even if the BIOS is disabled ? (assuming the system passes the Avast "capable" check).  I ask because my test kind of points to this: https://forum.avast.com/index.php?topic=158629.0  So, wondering if some peoples performance issues on "capable" systems are because BIOS is disabled ?....just a shot in the dark.
« Last Edit: October 31, 2014, 08:47:37 PM by thekochs »