Author Topic: CPU Support for Avast NG?  (Read 11241 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline avaster78

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 96
Re: CPU Support for Avast NG?
« Reply #15 on: October 31, 2014, 08:56:04 PM »
@ the kochs  The avast installer has the ability to check for VT technology during the install.
                   However it (VT) must be enabled in the BIOS for NG to function. If during a
                   custom install the user sees "NG" they can utilize this new technology by enabling
                   VT in their BIOS.

Thx....question: it seems Avast still installs NG even if the BIOS is disabled ? (assuming the system passes the Avast "capable" check).  I ask because my test kind of points to this: https://forum.avast.com/index.php?topic=158629.0  So, wondering if some peoples performance issues on "capable" systems are because BIOS is disabled ?....just a shot in the dark.

If this is true, my concern are basic level computer users. If it install NG even the VM is not enabled and this leads to performance problems, it can very confusing and frustrating to some users. I'm talking people near me, which whom i'm installed avast to. I read that VM is disabled by default on most PCs-
« Last Edit: October 31, 2014, 09:01:32 PM by avaster78 »
Windows 7 Home Premium SP1 64-bit. Avast Free Latest. Opera (Chromium). SpywareBlaster 5.5. Windows 10 Firewall Control Free 64-bit (together w/ Windows Firewall). HW: HP G5139sc - Athlon II X2 220 2.8 GHz - 4 GB (Dual-channel). VDSL2 Modem Router w/ Firewall. Internet 50Mbs.

REDACTED

  • Guest
Re: CPU Support for Avast NG?
« Reply #16 on: October 31, 2014, 09:09:14 PM »
@ the kochs  The avast installer has the ability to check for VT technology during the install.
                   However it (VT) must be enabled in the BIOS for NG to function. If during a
                   custom install the user sees "NG" they can utilize this new technology by enabling
                   VT in their BIOS.

Thx....question: it seems Avast still installs NG even if the BIOS is disabled ? (assuming the system passes the Avast "capable" check).  I ask because my test kind of points to this: https://forum.avast.com/index.php?topic=158629.0  So, wondering if some peoples performance issues on "capable" systems are because BIOS is disabled ?....just a shot in the dark.

If this is true, my concern are basic level computer users. If it install NG even the VM is not enabled and this leads to performance problems, it can very confusing and frustrating to some users. I'm talking people near me, which whom i'm installed avast to. I read that VM is disabled by default on most PCs-

I'm not sure, and by far no expert........learning this as I go but I did do some tests (https://forum.avast.com/index.php?topic=158629.0) and "seems" to indicate this but I'm hoping more informed people/experts comment.  Obviously I would not think Avast would intend for the installer to do this but perhaps a "oops" (test escape) thing in their code that obviously can make big difference.
« Last Edit: October 31, 2014, 09:11:42 PM by thekochs »

REDACTED

  • Guest
Re: CPU Support for Avast NG?
« Reply #17 on: October 31, 2014, 10:35:29 PM »

I read that VM is disabled by default on most PCs-

Or not available in the BIOS.

Offline Para-Noid

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Starting Graphoman
  • ***
  • Posts: 6710
  • Trust only what you test yourself!
Re: CPU Support for Avast NG?
« Reply #18 on: October 31, 2014, 10:36:34 PM »
@ thekochs  How can you test the NG when you are using avast v8.0?  ???
Dell Inspiron, Win10x64--HP Envy Win10x64--Both systems Avast Free v17.9.2322, Comodo Firewall v8.2 w/D+, MalwareBytes v3.0, OpenDNS, Super Anti-Spyware, Spyware Blaster, MCShield, Unchecky, Vivaldi Browser and, various browser security tools.

"Look before you leap!" Use online scanners before you click on any link.

REDACTED

  • Guest
Re: CPU Support for Avast NG?
« Reply #19 on: November 01, 2014, 12:20:00 AM »
@ thekochs  How can you test the NG when you are using avast v8.0?  ???

I did not get around to updating my signature.......please read my link...probably more useful to answering your question.
https://forum.avast.com/index.php?topic=158629.0

Offline bob3160

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Probably Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 47249
  • 62 Years of Happiness
    • bob3160 Protecting Yourself, Your Computer and, Your Identity
Re: CPU Support for Avast NG?
« Reply #20 on: November 01, 2014, 12:39:15 AM »
It certainly takes a lot less time to simply update your signature that it takes to read the thread. :)
Free avast! Security Seminar: http://bit.ly/2N1eaR2  -  Important: http://www.organdonor.gov/ -- My Web Site: http://bob3160.strikingly.com/ - Win 11 Pro v21H2 64bit, 16 Gig Ram, 1TB SSD, Avast Free 22.5, How to Successfully Install Avast http://goo.gl/VLXdeRepair & Clean Install https://goo.gl/t7aJGq -- My Online Activity https://

REDACTED

  • Guest
Re: CPU Support for Avast NG?
« Reply #21 on: November 01, 2014, 12:55:22 AM »
It certainly takes a lot less time to simply update your signature that it takes to read the thread. :)

My mistake....I keep thinking people are interested in looking for the potential causes of issues.
How silly of me.  :(

Offline bob3160

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Probably Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 47249
  • 62 Years of Happiness
    • bob3160 Protecting Yourself, Your Computer and, Your Identity
Re: CPU Support for Avast NG?
« Reply #22 on: November 01, 2014, 12:57:45 AM »
It certainly takes a lot less time to simply update your signature that it takes to read the thread. :)

My mistake....I keep thinking people are interested in looking for the potential causes of issues.
How silly of me.  :(
Amazing, another post but still no update yo your signature.  :o
Free avast! Security Seminar: http://bit.ly/2N1eaR2  -  Important: http://www.organdonor.gov/ -- My Web Site: http://bob3160.strikingly.com/ - Win 11 Pro v21H2 64bit, 16 Gig Ram, 1TB SSD, Avast Free 22.5, How to Successfully Install Avast http://goo.gl/VLXdeRepair & Clean Install https://goo.gl/t7aJGq -- My Online Activity https://

REDACTED

  • Guest
Re: CPU Support for Avast NG?
« Reply #23 on: November 01, 2014, 01:27:57 AM »
Amazing, another post but still no update yo your signature.  :o

Really ?......you guys are SUCH jerks.....I had changed my flippin signature to remove the "8" already.  OK....since you guys are so fixated on this I'll just remove the whole signature.....done.  But since you are so interested in what I have....it is 5 PCs on Avast 9 and one PC on Avast 10 that I am working (testing) with.  I spent a couple hours trying some experiments on V10/2015 to hopefully help folks on this Forum with what is clearly a possible issue with NG on people's systems and what do I get for my effort ?.........smartass comments about my profile signature.....ridiculous. >:( 
« Last Edit: November 01, 2014, 02:35:21 AM by thekochs »

Offline Eddy

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Maybe Bot
  • ***
  • Posts: 31210
  • Watching (over?) you
    • Malware removal, Biljart and other things.
Re: CPU Support for Avast NG?
« Reply #24 on: November 01, 2014, 05:46:53 AM »
Take it easy thekochs, lets stick to the topic no need to call people jerks.

Some info:
1]
In order to be able to use NG a system must be capable to use hardware based VM

2]
In order for avast to be able to use NG, hardware based VM must be enabled in the bios.

Strangely enough avast is installing NG on some systems while it is disabled and on other systems it won't.
A (possible?)solution for this is:
- removing avast completely (including using the uninstall tool)
- reboot and enter the bios
- enable the hardware vm support
- boot and perform a fresh install of avast with the NG part
- reboot

REDACTED

  • Guest
Re: CPU Support for Avast NG?
« Reply #25 on: November 01, 2014, 01:38:53 PM »
Take it easy thekochs, lets stick to the topic no need to call people jerks.

I was sticking to the topic...but I apologize (trust me I had other words I wanted to post but even less Forum friendly) but seems every time I post something to help people make petty comments.....getting sick of it.  Think some of the Mega posters need to throttle back their egos a touch and listen/read the comments and try to help versus their combative attitude.....who knows, they may learn something.

Strangely enough avast is installing NG on some systems while it is disabled and on other systems it won't.

This was my point (thoughts) from my thread where I did some testing.  https://forum.avast.com/index.php?topic=158629.0
Of course when I posted my original issue about my PC dropping to its knees I was told my system was bad or I had viruses.....no one wants to even consider that a new release from Avast has bugs. My efforts were not to attack Avast but to help improve.  Clearly NG "implemented" on PCs has challenges....and if HW Virtualization is by default DISABLED in most PCs (even if CPU can support)....AND Avast is installing then clearly this is an issue Avast needs to address in their installer.  Think of how tech savvy the folks are that come here.....and as noted how few out of 200M do as well......and if the Avast installer is making bad assumption then the problem can really have big impact to the masses.  I would expect the average user who installs V10/2015 and PC boots/hangs for long time...or in this case/error for ever.....that they will uninstall Avast and move on. 

I agree with your solution......just don't think the average user is going to understand or have patience for this.
IHMO Avast needs to make the installer a little more intelligent and also provide feedback on when it sees a problem like discussed.
« Last Edit: November 01, 2014, 01:41:18 PM by thekochs »

Offline bob3160

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Probably Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 47249
  • 62 Years of Happiness
    • bob3160 Protecting Yourself, Your Computer and, Your Identity
Re: CPU Support for Avast NG?
« Reply #26 on: November 01, 2014, 03:55:26 PM »
@ thekochs
Just For your information and to clear up your interpretation of what's important and what's not,
Information in your signature helps anyone attempting to assist you in finding the correct information.
It isn't something petty it happens to be important.
Correct help can't be given if the right information isn't available. Making the information available in your signature,
saves everyone time when helping the person with a problem.
This is a support forum.
I also suggest you watch who you call a jerk.  >:(
Free avast! Security Seminar: http://bit.ly/2N1eaR2  -  Important: http://www.organdonor.gov/ -- My Web Site: http://bob3160.strikingly.com/ - Win 11 Pro v21H2 64bit, 16 Gig Ram, 1TB SSD, Avast Free 22.5, How to Successfully Install Avast http://goo.gl/VLXdeRepair & Clean Install https://goo.gl/t7aJGq -- My Online Activity https://

REDACTED

  • Guest
Re: CPU Support for Avast NG?
« Reply #27 on: November 01, 2014, 05:21:01 PM »
Some folks sometimes become confrontational here, thekochs.  It's best to just ignore them and not lower oneself to that level.

However convinced Avast's fans may be that NG is the next Big Thing, there has been a distinct lack of technical description of just what NG / virtualization accomplishes for malware protection that isn't done (or can't be done) by the three shields.  Some propose it's necessary to use NG without a thought to how much overhead or complexity it might add.  How much overhead DOES it add (i.e., how much slower are things running)?  Does it promote instability because of the increased complexity?  How does Avast's NG (Virtual Box) implementation interfere with other things, for example a VMware or HyperVisor installation?

I'm not saying these things are necessarily a problem, but where is the hard info on the subject?  Where are the benchmarks?

Anecdotal information will appear in time, from other users.

It's not "evil" or "disruptive" or "stupid" to make a choice not to use a new feature - Avast DOES provide a checkbox for it in the same center column as a lot of other bundled software not everyone finds necessary to use.

Never forget to consider the question:  "At what price security?"  Not everyone's needs are the same.

-Noel
« Last Edit: November 01, 2014, 05:24:30 PM by NoelC »

Offline bob3160

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Probably Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 47249
  • 62 Years of Happiness
    • bob3160 Protecting Yourself, Your Computer and, Your Identity
Re: CPU Support for Avast NG?
« Reply #28 on: November 01, 2014, 05:36:27 PM »
You always have a choice, simply don't use it. Same goes for many of the other added items.
If isolating the testing of something potentially dangerous isn't something important, than what is ?

Free avast! Security Seminar: http://bit.ly/2N1eaR2  -  Important: http://www.organdonor.gov/ -- My Web Site: http://bob3160.strikingly.com/ - Win 11 Pro v21H2 64bit, 16 Gig Ram, 1TB SSD, Avast Free 22.5, How to Successfully Install Avast http://goo.gl/VLXdeRepair & Clean Install https://goo.gl/t7aJGq -- My Online Activity https://

REDACTED

  • Guest
Re: CPU Support for Avast NG?
« Reply #29 on: November 01, 2014, 05:53:29 PM »
It might be important to some people for other things they do not be broken and for the performance of the computer not to be badly affected by their anti-malware solution.

Never forget that implementing/following a good security policy for computer use can render Avast an almost never used safety net.  How many resources should someone be willing to spend on that?  How much slowdown or instability should they be willing to bear?

I say again:

At what price security?

Here's another for you:  Ever hear the following phrase?

The operation was a success but the patient died.

-Noel