Author Topic: AVAST 2015 SP1 (10.0.2208)  (Read 114970 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Hurt_Locker

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 39
Re: AVAST 2015 SP1 (10.0.2208)
« Reply #165 on: December 11, 2014, 09:42:25 PM »
Missing popup after update to avast 2015 free version.  Also the software updater takes you directly to the webpages instead of doing it the old way.  How can these issues be fixed?

Offline bob3160

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Probably Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 40332
  • 59 Years of Happiness
    • bob3160 Protecting Yourself, Your Computer and, Your Identity
Re: AVAST 2015 SP1 (10.0.2208)
« Reply #166 on: December 11, 2014, 11:51:56 PM »
Missing popup after update to avast 2015 free version.  Also the software updater takes you directly to the webpages instead of doing it the old way.  How can these issues be fixed?
The notification has been discontinued in Avast 2015
The following small video explains why:
http://youtu.be/bBy65eCez7Q
Free avast! Security Seminar: https://goo.gl/kh3cqR  -  Important: http://www.organdonor.gov/ -- My Web Site: http://bob3160.strikingly.com/ - Win 10 Pro v1809 64bit, 8 Gig Ram, AvastFree 19.4.2374, How to Successfully Install Avast http://goo.gl/VLXdeRepair & Clean Install https://goo.gl/t7aJGq

Offline Staticguy

  • Super Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 1434
Re: AVAST 2015 SP1 (10.0.2208)
« Reply #167 on: December 12, 2014, 03:24:58 AM »
To Avast team and developers,

Since the release of Avast 2015 the automatic VPS update notification has been discontinued by you in which I don't have anything against it. It was your choice and as always continue to make a better product and you all are sure that's it's good business :). Reasons that I am writing this is that as of late users continue to write in this forum about why avast not showing the VPS update notification too many times and we have to tell them that it's has been discontinued. Even though that setting shows up in the Avast settings menu and users will get confused even though the settings are correct and why isn't it working!

In the next Avast 2015 update possibly SP2 (if it will be released) or Avast 2016 it will be very appreciated if you could totally remove the settings that are related to VPS update notification! Thanks.

Keep up the good work you are doing  :)
DELL Inspiron 15" 7000 Gaming, Windows 10 Home 1703 (OS Build 15063.540) Creators Update 64-bit, Trend Micro Internet Security 2017 (11.1.1045), Malwarebytes Premium 3.1.2.1733, Hitman Pro 3.7.20.286, HitmanPro.Alert 3.6.7 build 604, Zemana AntiLogger 2.74.204.76 (Premium) 2.72.204.388, MCShield 3.0.5.28, Heimdal Security (Free) 2.2.170, Windows Firewall, Unchecky 1.0.2, Defraggler (Professional Edition) 2.21.993, and Google Chrome 60.0.3112.90

Offline bob3160

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Probably Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 40332
  • 59 Years of Happiness
    • bob3160 Protecting Yourself, Your Computer and, Your Identity
Re: AVAST 2015 SP1 (10.0.2208)
« Reply #168 on: December 12, 2014, 02:05:03 PM »
Quote
Even though that setting shows up in the Avast settings menu
Where ??? Screenshot please.
Free avast! Security Seminar: https://goo.gl/kh3cqR  -  Important: http://www.organdonor.gov/ -- My Web Site: http://bob3160.strikingly.com/ - Win 10 Pro v1809 64bit, 8 Gig Ram, AvastFree 19.4.2374, How to Successfully Install Avast http://goo.gl/VLXdeRepair & Clean Install https://goo.gl/t7aJGq

Offline Staticguy

  • Super Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 1434
Re: AVAST 2015 SP1 (10.0.2208)
« Reply #169 on: December 12, 2014, 02:17:31 PM »
Quote
Even though that setting shows up in the Avast settings menu
Where ??? Screenshot please.

Isn't it this one. Automatic update when VPS update happens when the VPS update notification comes up! Setting under voice over like vps update happens and a female voice occurs
« Last Edit: December 12, 2014, 02:20:01 PM by Staticguy »
DELL Inspiron 15" 7000 Gaming, Windows 10 Home 1703 (OS Build 15063.540) Creators Update 64-bit, Trend Micro Internet Security 2017 (11.1.1045), Malwarebytes Premium 3.1.2.1733, Hitman Pro 3.7.20.286, HitmanPro.Alert 3.6.7 build 604, Zemana AntiLogger 2.74.204.76 (Premium) 2.72.204.388, MCShield 3.0.5.28, Heimdal Security (Free) 2.2.170, Windows Firewall, Unchecky 1.0.2, Defraggler (Professional Edition) 2.21.993, and Google Chrome 60.0.3112.90

Offline bob3160

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Probably Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 40332
  • 59 Years of Happiness
    • bob3160 Protecting Yourself, Your Computer and, Your Identity
Re: AVAST 2015 SP1 (10.0.2208)
« Reply #170 on: December 12, 2014, 02:44:06 PM »
That's the one.  :-[  Totally overlooked the top "General" settings button.
I agree with you. If it's no longer used, get rid of the confusion.
Maybe it's coming back ???
Free avast! Security Seminar: https://goo.gl/kh3cqR  -  Important: http://www.organdonor.gov/ -- My Web Site: http://bob3160.strikingly.com/ - Win 10 Pro v1809 64bit, 8 Gig Ram, AvastFree 19.4.2374, How to Successfully Install Avast http://goo.gl/VLXdeRepair & Clean Install https://goo.gl/t7aJGq

Offline schmidthouse

  • VIRUS FREE A Long Time (beta tester)
  • Avast Evangelist
  • Ultra Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 5583
  • When you think you know, Think Again
Re: AVAST 2015 SP1 (10.0.2208)
« Reply #171 on: December 12, 2014, 05:56:28 PM »
That's the one.  :-[  Totally overlooked the top "General" settings button.
I agree with you. If it's no longer used, get rid of the confusion.
Maybe it's coming back ???

That crossed my mind immediately, only time will tell.
***HP ENVY 15K LT W10 Pro 64Bit/750GB HD/16GB Ram/Avast Prem.bc/VS/ASB beta/Mbam/Secureline/SANDBOXIE/Prey Project
**HP Compaq 8510p LT W10 Pro 64Bit/1TB HD/8GB Ram/Avast Prem 19.4.2374/VS/ASB/Mbam/SecureLine/SANDBOXIE/Prey Project 
     
*Dell Inspiron XPsp4 PRO 32Bit/2.5GB Ram/Avast(since 2002)18.8.2356/OSA/WP/Comodo FW 3.14/Secureline/Comodo IceDragon v.40
<LAYERED SECURITY SOFTWARE PROTECTION + MCShield on all OS's>

Offline Staticguy

  • Super Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 1434
Re: AVAST 2015 SP1 (10.0.2208)
« Reply #172 on: December 13, 2014, 12:17:13 AM »
@bob3160 and schmidthouse: You two need eyeglasses lol.... just kidding. I have a question? How many antivirus (excluding MSE) at present shows a notification that it's malware definitions has been updated? If none of them does, I think avast is following it. Just a thought. I think McAfee and Trend Micro still shows a notification that it's malware definition has been updated.

« Last Edit: December 13, 2014, 12:28:08 AM by Staticguy »
DELL Inspiron 15" 7000 Gaming, Windows 10 Home 1703 (OS Build 15063.540) Creators Update 64-bit, Trend Micro Internet Security 2017 (11.1.1045), Malwarebytes Premium 3.1.2.1733, Hitman Pro 3.7.20.286, HitmanPro.Alert 3.6.7 build 604, Zemana AntiLogger 2.74.204.76 (Premium) 2.72.204.388, MCShield 3.0.5.28, Heimdal Security (Free) 2.2.170, Windows Firewall, Unchecky 1.0.2, Defraggler (Professional Edition) 2.21.993, and Google Chrome 60.0.3112.90

Offline Intel777

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 2
Re: AVAST 2015 SP1 (10.0.2208)
« Reply #173 on: December 13, 2014, 09:58:19 AM »
I'am sorry for my bad english.
I found one bug in free version of avast. As you know "safe zone" not avalibe in free version, but if you open "Tools">"Browser Cleanup" then click on "Settings", you are wellcomed to Avast! SafeZone.

Offline -midnight

  • Super Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 2309
Re: AVAST 2015 SP1 (10.0.2208)
« Reply #174 on: December 13, 2014, 12:50:47 PM »
I'am sorry for my bad english.
I found one bug in free version of avast. As you know "safe zone" not avalibe in free version, but if you open "Tools">"Browser Cleanup" then click on "Settings", you are wellcomed to Avast! SafeZone.


You might want to do a search for Browser Cleanup.  It has messed up a lot of people's computer's.  Supposedly it has been fixed.  I haven't used it myself.  I went to control panel, right clicked on Avast, clicked change and unchecked Browser Cleanup.

Offline bob3160

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Probably Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 40332
  • 59 Years of Happiness
    • bob3160 Protecting Yourself, Your Computer and, Your Identity
Re: AVAST 2015 SP1 (10.0.2208)
« Reply #175 on: December 13, 2014, 02:41:55 PM »
@bob3160 and schmidthouse: You two need eyeglasses lol.... just kidding. I have a question? How many antivirus (excluding MSE) at present shows a notification that it's malware definitions has been updated? If none of them does, I think avast is following it. Just a thought. I think McAfee and Trend Micro still shows a notification that it's malware definition has been updated.
I personally don't have a clue. Don't use anything except Avast. :)
Free avast! Security Seminar: https://goo.gl/kh3cqR  -  Important: http://www.organdonor.gov/ -- My Web Site: http://bob3160.strikingly.com/ - Win 10 Pro v1809 64bit, 8 Gig Ram, AvastFree 19.4.2374, How to Successfully Install Avast http://goo.gl/VLXdeRepair & Clean Install https://goo.gl/t7aJGq

Offline Staticguy

  • Super Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 1434
Re: AVAST 2015 SP1 (10.0.2208)
« Reply #176 on: December 13, 2014, 10:27:19 PM »
Good on you bob3160  :). I used McAfee, Trend Micro, MSE, Panda Cloud Antivirus Free, Windows Live One Care, Norton, and AVG. Finally I made my final decision to move to Avast when it released it's version 7 and AVG Free on my desktop. AVG Free has also improved just like Avast.
DELL Inspiron 15" 7000 Gaming, Windows 10 Home 1703 (OS Build 15063.540) Creators Update 64-bit, Trend Micro Internet Security 2017 (11.1.1045), Malwarebytes Premium 3.1.2.1733, Hitman Pro 3.7.20.286, HitmanPro.Alert 3.6.7 build 604, Zemana AntiLogger 2.74.204.76 (Premium) 2.72.204.388, MCShield 3.0.5.28, Heimdal Security (Free) 2.2.170, Windows Firewall, Unchecky 1.0.2, Defraggler (Professional Edition) 2.21.993, and Google Chrome 60.0.3112.90

Offline Rompin Raider

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 228
Re: AVAST 2015 SP1 (10.0.2208)
« Reply #177 on: December 14, 2014, 03:29:43 AM »
Just in the nick of time...you were about ready for AV rehab! I know the feeling! 8)
Win10x64-Avast Internet Security 19.2.2364/-uBlock Origin

Offline Staticguy

  • Super Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 1434
Re: AVAST 2015 SP1 (10.0.2208)
« Reply #178 on: December 16, 2014, 02:58:43 PM »
UPDATE 1: Regarding my reply # 172 and reply #174. I  PMed pk about this current bug (vps update notification) and he passed my message on to MartinZ. This is a known bug and they will issue an fix/update to remove this bug in the next update of Avast.

Thanks again to pk and MartinZ  :)

« Last Edit: December 17, 2014, 12:59:34 PM by Staticguy »
DELL Inspiron 15" 7000 Gaming, Windows 10 Home 1703 (OS Build 15063.540) Creators Update 64-bit, Trend Micro Internet Security 2017 (11.1.1045), Malwarebytes Premium 3.1.2.1733, Hitman Pro 3.7.20.286, HitmanPro.Alert 3.6.7 build 604, Zemana AntiLogger 2.74.204.76 (Premium) 2.72.204.388, MCShield 3.0.5.28, Heimdal Security (Free) 2.2.170, Windows Firewall, Unchecky 1.0.2, Defraggler (Professional Edition) 2.21.993, and Google Chrome 60.0.3112.90

Offline ndrios

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 3
Re: AVAST 2015 SP1 (10.0.2208)
« Reply #179 on: December 16, 2014, 06:40:19 PM »
Hi, some users tell me that Avast Premium Firewall is compatible with Windows 7 Firewall and some users tell me that they are not compatible, which is correct?

Thanks