Author Topic: AVAST 2015 SP1 (10.0.2208)  (Read 121213 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline petr.chytil

  • Quality Assurance Director
  • Moderator
  • Full Member
  • *
  • Posts: 124
Re: AVAST 2015 SP1 (10.0.2208)
« Reply #30 on: November 08, 2014, 01:59:24 PM »
VirtualBox VM 4.3.18 r96516
With Avast Free 10.0.2206 - was all good.

With Avast Free 10.0.2208[/u]:
Quote
00:00:02.071329 VMSetError: C:\tinderbox\win-4.3\src\VBox\VMM\VMMR3\VM.cpp(365) int __cdecl VMR3Create(unsigned int,const struct VMM2USERMETHODS *,void (__cdecl *)(struct UVM *,void *,int,const char *,unsigned int,const char *,const char *,char *),void *,int (__cdecl *)(struct UVM *,struct VM *,void *),void *,struct VM **,struct UVM **); rc=VERR_GENERAL_FAILURE
00:00:02.071338 VMSetError: General failure - DON'T USE THIS!!!.
00:00:02.072329 ERROR [COM]: aRC=E_FAIL (0x80004005) aIID={8ab7c520-2442-4b66-8d74-4ff1e195d2b6} aComponent={Console} aText={General failure - DON'T USE THIS!!!. (VERR_GENERAL_FAILURE)}, preserve=false
00:00:02.079420 Power up failed (vrc=VERR_GENERAL_FAILURE, rc=E_FAIL (0X80004005))
General failure - DON'T USE THIS!!!.
You block VirtualBox ? >:(

Could you please try to uninstall and then install the VirtualBox again? This issue should be fixed in SP1.

Offline DavidR

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 82550
  • No support PMs thanks
Re: AVAST 2015 SP1 (10.0.2208)
« Reply #31 on: November 08, 2014, 03:07:45 PM »
Does this version contain the redesigned menu after you right-click the status icon?

No, as it looks like the same set of options - I don't think it was planned for this SP1 update for avast 2015, but a future program update.
WinXP ProSP3/ Core2Duo E8300/ 4GB Ram/ avast! free 18.5.2342/ Firefox ESR, uBlock Origin, uMatrix/ MailWasher Pro7.11.0/ DropMyRights/ WinPatrol+/ Drive Image 7.1/ SnagIt 10.0/ avast! mobile security
Windows 10 Home 1909 64bit/ Acer Aspire F15/ Intel Core i5 7200U 2.5GHz, 8GB DDR4 memory, 256GB SSD, 1TB HDD/ avast! free 19.8.2393 (build 19.8.4257.552) UI-1.0.440/ WinPatrol+/ Firefox, uBlock Origin, uMatrix/ MailWasher Pro7.11.0/ WinPatrol+/

Offline skyfarrier

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 3
Re: AVAST 2015 SP1 (10.0.2208)
« Reply #32 on: November 08, 2014, 03:29:43 PM »
Could you please try to uninstall and then install the VirtualBox again? This issue should be fixed in SP1.
What is "SP1" ? 2015.10.0.2208 ?
The problem just appeared when upgrading to 10.0.2208.
I don't have time for experiments.
Sorry, but had to (temporarily) uninstall Avast.
The problem with VirtualBox in Avast is not the first, and the operability of the VirtualBox is more important to me...

Offline DavidR

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 82550
  • No support PMs thanks
Re: AVAST 2015 SP1 (10.0.2208)
« Reply #33 on: November 08, 2014, 03:33:15 PM »
Updated from avastUI on my win7 netbook with the previous release 10.0.2206 - everything appears to have gone well.

Note: This update also appears to have resolved the Hardened Mode Exclusions (on my XP system) in relation to those file paths that were displayed in the old 8.3 file format.
WinXP ProSP3/ Core2Duo E8300/ 4GB Ram/ avast! free 18.5.2342/ Firefox ESR, uBlock Origin, uMatrix/ MailWasher Pro7.11.0/ DropMyRights/ WinPatrol+/ Drive Image 7.1/ SnagIt 10.0/ avast! mobile security
Windows 10 Home 1909 64bit/ Acer Aspire F15/ Intel Core i5 7200U 2.5GHz, 8GB DDR4 memory, 256GB SSD, 1TB HDD/ avast! free 19.8.2393 (build 19.8.4257.552) UI-1.0.440/ WinPatrol+/ Firefox, uBlock Origin, uMatrix/ MailWasher Pro7.11.0/ WinPatrol+/

Offline rdsu

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 534
  • ...
Re: AVAST 2015 SP1 (10.0.2208)
« Reply #34 on: November 08, 2014, 03:40:50 PM »
I have the latest avast! Free Antivirus with File Shield (write only), Web Shield and Home Network Security.

avast! detects https eicar files with Internet Explorer, but not with Firefox or Opera.
Avast Free Antivirus: Web Shield & Home Network Security.

Offline petr.chytil

  • Quality Assurance Director
  • Moderator
  • Full Member
  • *
  • Posts: 124
Re: AVAST 2015 SP1 (10.0.2208)
« Reply #35 on: November 08, 2014, 04:36:36 PM »
What is "SP1" ? 2015.10.0.2208 ?
The problem just appeared when upgrading to 10.0.2208.
I don't have time for experiments.
Sorry, but had to (temporarily) uninstall Avast.
The problem with VirtualBox in Avast is not the first, and the operability of the VirtualBox is more important to me...

I am sorry to hear that. However, I just tried to reproduce your scenario and doing uninstall and then clean install of both VirtualBox and Avast resolves the issue.

SP1 is 10.0.2208. It is possible, that the issue occurred during the upgrade process from 10.0.2206. Clean install of 10.0.2208 solves the problem.

Just one more question. Did the Avast uninstall resolved the issue with VirtualBox or was it necessary to re-install VirtualBox as well?

Thanks.

Offline Graig

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 36
Re: AVAST 2015 SP1 (10.0.2208)
« Reply #36 on: November 08, 2014, 05:51:00 PM »
Ecuse my ignornce but what is NG?

Offline jrace

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 381
Re: AVAST 2015 SP1 (10.0.2208)
« Reply #37 on: November 08, 2014, 06:57:56 PM »

Installed .2208.712 already yesterday, where it appeared on the beta thread. Just thinking it was a quick "HotFix" of the last beta version.
OK- now it is the final version and still running comfortably smooth and flawlessly!     8)
Sony VGN-SZ71VN/X, 4GB RAM, 256GB SSD, win7/32_ult_SP1-U
avast! pro 11.2.2255, Win7 Firewall, MBAM 2.2.0.1024
FF 45.0

Offline skyfarrier

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 3
Re: AVAST 2015 SP1 (10.0.2208)
« Reply #38 on: November 08, 2014, 07:34:23 PM »
I am sorry to hear that. However, I just tried to reproduce your scenario and doing uninstall and then clean install of both VirtualBox and Avast resolves the issue.
SP1 is 10.0.2208. It is possible, that the issue occurred during the upgrade process from 10.0.2206. Clean install of 10.0.2208 solves the problem.
Just one more question. Did the Avast uninstall resolved the issue with VirtualBox or was it necessary to re-install VirtualBox as well?
Thanks.
Really, after Avast uninstalling (avastclear.exe I tried also) I had to use VB installation recovery.
Avast uses VB-code to implement the Sandbox sevice. Obviously, some of the modules or their registration data (actively used COM-technology) came into conflict with VB-infrastructure. Your developers need to be more careful when "VB is near".
These problems led to the loss of my working time. Various experiments would only aggravate it.
Don't worry, I'll probably be back (maybe tomorrow).  ;)
Thank you. Sorry for my English.

Offline wbheath

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 2
Re: AVAST 2015 SP1 (10.0.2208)
« Reply #39 on: November 08, 2014, 09:19:41 PM »
The outdated software scan is showing an outdated version of Firefox as the one to download. The proper version should be 33.0.3.

Thank you,
Wildman

Offline Dennoss

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 3
Re: AVAST 2015 SP1 (10.0.2208)
« Reply #40 on: November 08, 2014, 11:39:01 PM »
Chatango flash doesn't work. It's loading endlessly.

Offline K E

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 1
Re: AVAST 2015 SP1 (10.0.2208)
« Reply #41 on: November 09, 2014, 01:49:03 AM »
Wow, I am glad I saw this and thank you. I installed premier with license on new laptop with Win 8.1 on it. have had nothing but probs with it and it causes internet explorer to crash every time you try to use it.
I have been using the PAID FOR Avast for several years now. I called in to report the problem because it says Free Support and all they would do was send me a new license file. If I wanted more than that I had to pay 170.00 for that one year one computer support program. They suckered me into that last year but has expired now. So basically you are on your own with these people. Watch Out McAfee!

Offline Asyn

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 62837
    • >>>  Avast Forum - Deutschsprachiger Bereich  <<<
Win 8.1 [x64] - Avast PremSec 20.1.2396.Beta#3 [UI.460] - CC 5.63 - EEK - Firefox ESR 68.5 [NS/AOS/uBO/PB] - TB 68.5 - ASB/ASL.BC
Deutschsprachiger Bereich -> Avast Wissenswertes (Downloads, Anleitungen & Infos): https://forum.avast.com/index.php?topic=60523.0

Offline bruce_b

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 326
Re: AVAST 2015 SP1 (10.0.2208)
« Reply #43 on: November 09, 2014, 02:16:34 PM »
Updated from the GUI ok. Just 2 small issues for Avast to consider.
1): I had WebRep disabled and the new update, of course, put it back in.
No real big deal, just disable Avast Self Defense and then delete the WebRep
folders (or do it through Add or Remove Features)

2): While I was checking the folders for Avast, I noticed there were a whole
slew of folders from previous installations. Most of these were empty and
did not need to take up space on the computer. The Avast installer should
clean up these not needed folders. They are in the Setup folder and have
oddball looking file names.
Dell Dimension 8200 P4 1.8Ghz Windows XP PRO SP3
Avast Free Antivirus 18.8.2356
Toshiba Satellite C855-S5347 Celeron B830 1.8Ghz
Windows 10 Home 64 Bit Version 1803 Build 17134.860
Avast Free Antivirus 19.6.2383

Offline rnuis

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 195
Re: AVAST 2015 SP1 (10.0.2208)
« Reply #44 on: November 09, 2014, 04:04:53 PM »
This version is way faster then the 206 version with browsing , great job avast.
Avast internet security 2015 10.0.2208 , MBAM 2.03 ,Firefox 33.03
Windows 8.1 Pro 32Bit