Author Topic: False Positive starting July 31: Avast prevents commercial programs from running  (Read 5389 times)

REDACTED

I am a software developer for a commercial software program. Yesterday and today (July 31 and August 1) so far we have received 9 emails or phone calls from customers who can no longer run our software because Avast has detected our software as potentially having a virus. The software programs are the Kepler and Sirius software programs and our website is www.AstroSoftware.com. A message appears that file astcalc.dll might be a problem (this is a file in the application folder) and we can remove the quarantine but then we get messages about other files and there are thousands of files. All we can do is remove Avast. Some customers have already changed to another virus protection program.

Our software is so independent of the windows registry , etc. that you can copy the entire folder to a memory stick, put the memory stick in another windows computer and run the application on another computer. Of course there are no viruses or malware. Why Avast has suddenly decided our software may contain viruses is a mystery to me. I suggest correcting this soon as these people are changing to alternative virus protection programs. We have never had this problem with any virus protection program before and the first version of our application was released in the 1980's.

« Last Edit: August 01, 2014, 11:29:02 PM by davidc2 »

Offline Pondus

• Probably Bot
  • Not a avast user
Have you just updated the program? ....... guessing it is detected as Suspicious Win32:Evo-gen [Susp]

Video: Excluding certain files/folders from scanning by avast! Antivirus   http://www.avast.com/faq.php?article=AVKB107#artTitle

Offline Pondus

• Probably Bot
  • Not a avast user
You can upload files and report issues to avast  here : http://www.avast.com/contact-form.php  (select subject according to Your case)

You can use mail