Author Topic: Installing Avast 2015 "broke" Internet Explorer. Had to reinstall IE  (Read 8967 times)

REDACTED

Re: Installing Avast 2015 "broke" Internet Explorer. Had to reinstall IE
« Reply #15 on: November 21, 2014, 08:22:56 AM »
I have been hemming and hawing for a few years to update to SP3.  Worries about software and hardware incompatibilities always stopped me.  But I finally took the plunge.  Installed SP3 and got the updates including IE8.   Don't know how you moved me to action Eddy.  Must have been that Green Beret looking cap in your avatar :).  I also did an image of the C drive when it had SP2 and will do one of this one with SP3.
All the best,
Annette
« Last Edit: November 21, 2014, 08:27:49 AM by intanet »

REDACTED

« Reply #16 on: November 21, 2014, 08:26:06 AM »
One more thing.  Sad to say but also glad to say, I also made a change in my AV software after all these years after this recent experience with Avast.  I switched over to AVG.  I did a scan and AVG caught 7 problems that Avast did not catch.  One was not a problem but the other 6 definitely were.  Anyhow...

REDACTED

« Reply #17 on: November 21, 2014, 05:12:28 PM »
I had a customer today with virtually identical symptoms.  An Avast update killed IE8 (In this case it was IE8) and he also had XP SP3 and a nice clean machine 1 month ago.

I could not get into the internet settings (told me they had been disabled by a policy)
Could not manage user accounts in Control Panel - just a white screen
IE stopped working - loaded but would not go to any web pages
Every time I tried to open a page in FF and Chrome it asked to save the HTML page as a file on the computer.
System restores were broken

I tried:
Uninstalling IE8 - would not uninstall as it was put on pre-SP3
No option to uninstall SP3 so tried to reinstall it.  Seemed to work right up until reboot time.  Then during the boot the OOBE process kicked in and IE8 offered to save the websites html file again so the SP3 would not reinstall.