Author Topic: why do i have 4 avast services active simultaneously?  (Read 2194 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline vistascape

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 31
why do i have 4 avast services active simultaneously?
« on: November 30, 2014, 02:28:55 PM »
why do i have 4 avast services active simultaneously? free version

ngservice
avastui
avastvboxsvc
avastsvc

i think this happend after the update... can i disable some of them and how?

Offline Eddy

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Maybe Bot
  • ***
  • Posts: 31333
  • Watching (over?) you
    • Malware removal, Biljart and other things.
Re: why do i have 4 avast services active simultaneously?
« Reply #1 on: November 30, 2014, 03:07:10 PM »
NG = the new avast NG technology
UI = User Interface
vbox = Virtual Box
svc = the main scanner

No need to disable them.
Do you have a problem?

Offline vistascape

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 31
Re: why do i have 4 avast services active simultaneously?
« Reply #2 on: November 30, 2014, 05:55:49 PM »
NG = the new avast NG technology
UI = User Interface
vbox = Virtual Box
svc = the main scanner

No need to disable them.
Do you have a problem?
i do not want 4 services, i want like before the update, i think it was 2 services... can i disable some of them?

Offline CraigB

  • Avast √úberevangelist
  • Serious Graphoman
  • *****
  • Posts: 11077
  • No support PM's thanks
Re: why do i have 4 avast services active simultaneously?
« Reply #3 on: November 30, 2014, 06:01:08 PM »
You only need to go to uninstall programs and click to remove avast - then choose change on the following screen and everything in the centre column is optional and not necessarily needed unless you want the latest advancements in protection, basic protection is still the left column.

Offline Eddy

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Maybe Bot
  • ***
  • Posts: 31333
  • Watching (over?) you
    • Malware removal, Biljart and other things.
Re: why do i have 4 avast services active simultaneously?
« Reply #4 on: November 30, 2014, 06:20:27 PM »
The question you should ask yourself is "Do I want the best protection or not?"
If not, you can do as CraigB said.
If yes, you will need those 4 processes.

Offline vistascape

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 31
Re: why do i have 4 avast services active simultaneously?
« Reply #5 on: November 30, 2014, 11:00:26 PM »
You only need to go to uninstall programs and click to remove avast - then choose change on the following screen and everything in the centre column is optional and not necessarily needed unless you want the latest advancements in protection, basic protection is still the left column.
THANKS :)

Offline CraigB

  • Avast √úberevangelist
  • Serious Graphoman
  • *****
  • Posts: 11077
  • No support PM's thanks
Re: why do i have 4 avast services active simultaneously?
« Reply #6 on: December 01, 2014, 05:46:24 AM »
Your welcome :)