Author Topic: popoup from AVAST  (Read 4716 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

REDACTED

  • Guest
popoup from AVAST
« on: November 29, 2014, 04:46:14 PM »
[/sub

I keep getting an avast popup saying to update, but when i try to it stops saying im up-to-date, and i keep seeing the popup

Offline Eddy

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Maybe Bot
  • ***
  • Posts: 31078
  • Watching (over?) you
    • Malware removal, Biljart and other things.
Re: popoup from AVAST
« Reply #1 on: November 29, 2014, 04:48:19 PM »
Perform a repair and see if that solves it.

Offline DavidR

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 89258
  • No support PMs thanks
Re: popoup from AVAST
« Reply #2 on: November 29, 2014, 05:22:25 PM »
- Try a repair of avast:
XP - Add Remove programs, select 'avast! Anti-Virus,' click the Change/Remove button and select Repair, click next and follow.

Vista, win7 or later - Control Panel, Programs & Features, uninstall a program, select 'avast! Anti-Virus,' click the Uninstall/Change and select Repair, click next and follow.

You may need to reboot after the repair.

This has in the past resolved this out of sync issue between reported and actual VPS version.

Windows 10 Home 64bit/ Acer Aspire F15/ Intel Core i5 7200U 2.5GHz, 8GB DDR4 memory, 256GB SSD, 1TB HDD/ avast! free 24.5.6116 (build 24.5.9153.762) UI 1.0.808/ Firefox, uBlock Origin, uMatrix/ MailWasher Pro/ Avast! Mobile Security

REDACTED

  • Guest
Re: popoup from AVAST
« Reply #3 on: December 06, 2014, 04:45:23 PM »
THANKS
i tried repairing it twice.  i used highjackthis too and an analyzer.
it still asks me if i need to update my definitions

also, i cant find this IE item in the higjhjacjk  this window
thanks

Offline essexboy

  • Malware removal instructor
  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Probably Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 40589
  • Dragons by Sasha
    • Malware fixes
Re: popoup from AVAST
« Reply #4 on: December 06, 2014, 04:56:55 PM »
Hi Hijackthis is worse than useless with current systems

Please download Farbar Recovery Scan Tool and save it to your Desktop.
 
Note: You need to run the version compatible with your system. If you are not sure which version applies to your system download both of them and try to run them. Only one of them will run on your system, that will be the right version.
 
  • Right click to run as administrator (XP users click run after receipt of Windows Security Warning - Open File). When the tool opens click Yes to disclaimer.
  • Select  additions at the bottom
  • Press Scan button.

  • It will produce a log called FRST.txt in the same directory the tool is run from. 
  • Please attach both logs generated.

REDACTED

  • Guest
Re: popoup from AVAST
« Reply #5 on: December 06, 2014, 08:41:57 PM »
hope i attached these right
maybe there is an auto log analyzer online.
too bad highjackthis is worthless now

Offline essexboy

  • Malware removal instructor
  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Probably Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 40589
  • Dragons by Sasha
    • Malware fixes
Re: popoup from AVAST
« Reply #6 on: December 06, 2014, 08:46:55 PM »
Try an update after this

CAUTION :  This fix is only valid for this specific machine, using it on another may break your computer

Open notepad and copy/paste the text in the quotebox below into it:
 
Quote
CHR HKU\S-1-5-21-947929738-894585303-1327816878-1000\SOFTWARE\Policies\Google: Policy restriction <======= ATTENTION
BHO: SteadyVideoBHO Class -> {6C680BAE-655C-4E3D-8FC4-E6A520C3D928} -> c:\Program Files\AMD\SteadyVideo\SteadyVideo.dll No File
BHO: Java(tm) Plug-In SSV Helper -> {761497BB-D6F0-462C-B6EB-D4DAF1D92D43} -> C:\Program Files\Java\jre7\bin\ssv.dll No File
Toolbar: HKLM - avast! Online Security - {318A227B-5E9F-45bd-8999-7F8F10CA4CF5} -  No File
Toolbar: HKLM - No Name - {CC1A175A-E45B-41ED-A30C-C9B1D7A0C02F} -  No File
Toolbar: HKU\S-1-5-21-947929738-894585303-1327816878-1000 -> No Name - {47833539-D0C5-4125-9FA8-0819E2EAAC93} -  No File
2014-11-13 12:20 - 2014-11-13 12:20 - 06000640 _____ () C:\Program Files (x86)\GUT834A.tmp
2014-11-13 12:20 - 2014-11-13 12:20 - 00000000 ____D () C:\Program Files (x86)\GUM8339.tmp
CMD: netsh advfirewall reset
CMD: netsh advfirewall set allprofiles state ON
CMD: ipconfig /flushdns
CMD: netsh winsock reset catalog
CMD: netsh int ip reset c:\resetlog.txt
CMD: ipconfig /release
CMD: ipconfig /renew
Hosts:
EmptyTemp:
CMD: bitsadmin /reset /allusers

 
Save this as fixlist.txt, in the same location as FRST.exe

Run FRST and press Fix
On completion a log will be generated please post that

REDACTED

  • Guest
Re: popoup from AVAST
« Reply #7 on: December 06, 2014, 09:47:57 PM »
my fixlofg

Offline essexboy

  • Malware removal instructor
  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Probably Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 40589
  • Dragons by Sasha
    • Malware fixes
Re: popoup from AVAST
« Reply #8 on: December 06, 2014, 10:39:09 PM »
Are you able to update now ?

REDACTED

  • Guest
Re: popoup from AVAST
« Reply #9 on: December 07, 2014, 06:40:39 PM »
avast still suggested i update

EARLIER i thought running as admin option was on the window i took a screenshot of, but I just saw the admin option  OPINING the file. so i ran it as admin it produced 1 txt fikle. i attached it too.

if its the sam maybe i should reinstall  avast
itdidnt poduce 2 txt files

Offline essexboy

  • Malware removal instructor
  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Probably Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 40589
  • Dragons by Sasha
    • Malware fixes
Re: popoup from AVAST
« Reply #10 on: December 07, 2014, 07:49:17 PM »
That would be my next suggestion

Download Avast Uninstall Utility to your Desktop.
Download the correct version of Avast 
Avast Free
Avast Pro
Avast Internet Security
Avast Premier
Disconnect from the net
Uninstall Avast via control panel

  • Run the uninstall tool and accept the reboot to safe mode
  • Once complete reboot your system
  • Reinstall Avast
----------

REDACTED

  • Guest
Re: popoup from AVAST
« Reply #11 on: December 16, 2014, 04:09:26 PM »
i apologize for my much delayed reply.
i tried re-installing avast, but still occasionally I see the Avast popup notification

i assume its no big deal because it also claims to be up-to-date
i suspect its running fine