Author Topic: avast! 4.6 Home - user interface error  (Read 3692 times)

JasonD

avast! 4.6 Home - user interface error
« on: September 09, 2005, 03:10:21 PM »
Hi, I am new to the program.  I am in the middle of a virus scan, which has found the "Win32:Beagle-gen1 [Mail]" virus in the Deleted Items.dbx file (my Outlook Express delete items folder).  Of course, I am not going to delete or move the file, since it may contain emails I'd like to refer to in the future.  So, I thought if I could find more information about the virus (such as what the typical subject or body contains), I could find the specific email that contains it, and delete it manually.  So, I clicked on "More info..."

However, "More info..." does not take me to a place that describes the virus.  It brings me to a report form to be filled out.  This is the same result as clicking the "Fill in our virus report to help us improve avast!..."  It is possible to have the "More info..." button link to a place that contains information about the virus (i.e. http://www.avast.com/eng/win32beagle.html in this case), rather than have the user need to perform a manual search?  The program would be far easier to use.  I assume this is what was intended.

(Regarding the report form, I cannot answer "Did you remove the virus on your own?" when the answer to the previous question "How did you get rid of the virus?" is "I didn't succeed in removing it. I am still searching for a solution.")

(edit: spelling correction)
« Last Edit: September 11, 2005, 09:18:06 PM by JasonD »

Offline Eddy

• Avast Evangelist
  • Maybe Bot
  • Watching (over?) you
    • Malware removal, Biljart and other things.
Re: avast! 4.6 Home - user interface error
« Reply #1 on: September 09, 2005, 03:20:53 PM »
"Deleted Items.dbx file" "since it may contain emails I'd like to refer to in the future"
LOL, you always put mails you want to keep in the trash can?
could fine more information about the virus