Author Topic: File scan using windows context menu doesn't work  (Read 9273 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline jenai

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 36
  • I'm in the F.O.G.
File scan using windows context menu doesn't work
« on: September 10, 2005, 07:51:42 PM »
Hi,

When I try to scan a file using windows context menu, nothing happens. Normally you see something happen, but this is like it's a dead link. Am using latest Avast, WinXP Pro.

Any ideas/help would be much appreciated.

Thanks,
jenai
Windows XP Pro SP2
1.7Ghtz
512 megs Ram
Avast 4.6 Home Free
Sygate Firewall
Microsoft Anti Spyware
Spywareblaster
Spywareguard
Spybot S&D
Ad-aware

Offline essexboy

  • Malware removal instructor
  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Probably Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 40610
  • Dragons by Sasha
    • Malware fixes
Re: File scan using windows context menu doesn't work
« Reply #1 on: September 10, 2005, 08:03:38 PM »
Right click Avast icon - select settings - select common - tick show results of explorer extension.  Otherwise it will just happen and nothing will show if it is safe

Offline jenai

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 36
  • I'm in the F.O.G.
Re: File scan using windows context menu doesn't work
« Reply #2 on: September 10, 2005, 08:49:29 PM »
Right click Avast icon - select settings - select common - tick show results of explorer extension.  Otherwise it will just happen and nothing will show if it is safe

Thanks, but that didn't work either..  :(
Any other suggestions?

Jenai  :)
Windows XP Pro SP2
1.7Ghtz
512 megs Ram
Avast 4.6 Home Free
Sygate Firewall
Microsoft Anti Spyware
Spywareblaster
Spywareguard
Spybot S&D
Ad-aware

Offline essexboy

  • Malware removal instructor
  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Probably Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 40610
  • Dragons by Sasha
    • Malware fixes
Re: File scan using windows context menu doesn't work
« Reply #3 on: September 10, 2005, 11:49:13 PM »
It should could you try an Avast repair (you need to be online) Got to Control panel - add/remove - select avast - select repair.

Keep us updated

Offline jenai

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 36
  • I'm in the F.O.G.
Re: File scan using windows context menu doesn't work
« Reply #4 on: September 11, 2005, 06:38:27 AM »
It should could you try an Avast repair (you need to be online) Got to Control panel - add/remove - select avast - select repair.

Keep us updated

Nope.. dang, that didn't help.  :(

Jenai
Windows XP Pro SP2
1.7Ghtz
512 megs Ram
Avast 4.6 Home Free
Sygate Firewall
Microsoft Anti Spyware
Spywareblaster
Spywareguard
Spybot S&D
Ad-aware

Offline Lisandro

  • Avast team
  • Certainly Bot
  • *
  • Posts: 67247
Re: File scan using windows context menu doesn't work
« Reply #5 on: September 11, 2005, 06:59:44 AM »
Jenai, your computer behavior is strange...
The Context Menu should work... are you sure you've checked the option to show the results?

Can you uninstall / boot / install / boot again?
The best things in life are free.

Offline jenai

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 36
  • I'm in the F.O.G.
Re: File scan using windows context menu doesn't work
« Reply #6 on: September 11, 2005, 07:42:25 AM »
Jenai, your computer behavior is strange...
The Context Menu should work... are you sure you've checked the option to show the results?

Can you uninstall / boot / install / boot again?

Yes.. to question #1..
#2. did that.. same result.. nothing.. This is too weird.

:::::sigh::::
Jenai
Windows XP Pro SP2
1.7Ghtz
512 megs Ram
Avast 4.6 Home Free
Sygate Firewall
Microsoft Anti Spyware
Spywareblaster
Spywareguard
Spybot S&D
Ad-aware

Offline essexboy

  • Malware removal instructor
  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Probably Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 40610
  • Dragons by Sasha
    • Malware fixes
Re: File scan using windows context menu doesn't work
« Reply #7 on: September 11, 2005, 01:47:20 PM »
OK thinking and playing

Offline jenai

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 36
  • I'm in the F.O.G.
Re: File scan using windows context menu doesn't work
« Reply #8 on: September 12, 2005, 07:07:09 AM »
OK thinking and playing

Ok, thanks.  :)

Jenai
Windows XP Pro SP2
1.7Ghtz
512 megs Ram
Avast 4.6 Home Free
Sygate Firewall
Microsoft Anti Spyware
Spywareblaster
Spywareguard
Spybot S&D
Ad-aware

Offline lakrsrool

  • Advanced Poster
  • **
  • Posts: 712
  • Get the Picture !
Re: File scan using windows context menu doesn't work
« Reply #9 on: September 12, 2005, 07:23:57 AM »
I assume you have no other AV program on you system right ?

What AV program did you have (uninstall) before installing Avast ?

Doing the following as already suggest in this thread worked for me.  "Right click Avast icon - select settings - select common - tick show results of explorer extension."

If you have a "check mark" in "Show results of explorer extension in the "common" (top) Page in the Program Settings it should work.

Possibly the uninstalled AV left a registry setting which is interfering with this setting  ???
Processor: i3 2.53 GHz 4 GIG RAM, OS: WIN 7, Connection: High Speed, Virus/Malware Protection: Avast-2015, SpywareBlaster, Windows Firewall & Defender. Email: Outlook 2010 w/ POP Peeper Email Notifiers.

Offline jenai

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 36
  • I'm in the F.O.G.
Re: File scan using windows context menu doesn't work
« Reply #10 on: September 12, 2005, 08:01:18 AM »
I assume you have no other AV program on you system right ?

What AV program did you have (uninstall) before installing Avast ?

Doing the following as already suggest in this thread worked for me.  "Right click Avast icon - select settings - select common - tick show results of explorer extension."

If you have a "check mark" in "Show results of explorer extension in the "common" (top) Page in the Program Settings it should work.

Possibly the uninstalled AV left a registry setting which is interfering with this setting  ???

No, I don't have any other anti-virus program installed. Avast is the only one since I reformatted and installed XPPro SP2

I have done all the suggestions from this thread, and I posted I had.

Thanks for your input.  :)

Jenai
Windows XP Pro SP2
1.7Ghtz
512 megs Ram
Avast 4.6 Home Free
Sygate Firewall
Microsoft Anti Spyware
Spywareblaster
Spywareguard
Spybot S&D
Ad-aware

Offline essexboy

  • Malware removal instructor
  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Probably Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 40610
  • Dragons by Sasha
    • Malware fixes
Re: File scan using windows context menu doesn't work
« Reply #11 on: September 12, 2005, 11:47:17 AM »
OK follow my original steps but uncheck show results, reboot then tick show results see if that works

Offline jenai

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 36
  • I'm in the F.O.G.
Re: File scan using windows context menu doesn't work
« Reply #12 on: September 12, 2005, 03:10:57 PM »
OK follow my original steps but uncheck show results, reboot then tick show results see if that works

Ok.. did that..  Still the same.  :(

Is there a way to edit the context menu?
Oh, and on the context menu, underneath the "scan item", it says 'Edit the extension" (exe)  or whatever the extension is.

Jenai
Windows XP Pro SP2
1.7Ghtz
512 megs Ram
Avast 4.6 Home Free
Sygate Firewall
Microsoft Anti Spyware
Spywareblaster
Spywareguard
Spybot S&D
Ad-aware

Offline Lisandro

  • Avast team
  • Certainly Bot
  • *
  • Posts: 67247
Re: File scan using windows context menu doesn't work
« Reply #13 on: September 12, 2005, 04:04:37 PM »
Is there a way to edit the context menu?
Maybe http://www.ramlende.com/downloads/contextedit11.zip

Do you have ashshell.dl into avast! folder?
The best things in life are free.

Offline jenai

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 36
  • I'm in the F.O.G.
Re: File scan using windows context menu doesn't work
« Reply #14 on: September 13, 2005, 04:37:56 AM »
Is there a way to edit the context menu?
Maybe http://www.ramlende.com/downloads/contextedit11.zip

Do you have ashshell.dl into avast! folder?

Thanks.. the contextedit really didn't help.. :(

And yup, I have ashshell.dll in the avast folder..

Jenai
Windows XP Pro SP2
1.7Ghtz
512 megs Ram
Avast 4.6 Home Free
Sygate Firewall
Microsoft Anti Spyware
Spywareblaster
Spywareguard
Spybot S&D
Ad-aware