Author Topic: File scan using windows context menu doesn't work  (Read 9354 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

jenai

  • Guest
File scan using windows context menu doesn't work
« on: September 10, 2005, 07:51:42 PM »
Hi,

When I try to scan a file using windows context menu, nothing happens. Normally you see something happen, but this is like it's a dead link. Am using latest Avast, WinXP Pro.

Any ideas/help would be much appreciated.

Thanks,
jenai

Offline essexboy

  • Malware removal instructor
  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Probably Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 40610
  • Dragons by Sasha
    • Malware fixes
Re: File scan using windows context menu doesn't work
« Reply #1 on: September 10, 2005, 08:03:38 PM »
Right click Avast icon - select settings - select common - tick show results of explorer extension.  Otherwise it will just happen and nothing will show if it is safe

jenai

  • Guest
Re: File scan using windows context menu doesn't work
« Reply #2 on: September 10, 2005, 08:49:29 PM »
Right click Avast icon - select settings - select common - tick show results of explorer extension.  Otherwise it will just happen and nothing will show if it is safe

Thanks, but that didn't work either..  :(
Any other suggestions?

Jenai  :)

Offline essexboy

  • Malware removal instructor
  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Probably Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 40610
  • Dragons by Sasha
    • Malware fixes
Re: File scan using windows context menu doesn't work
« Reply #3 on: September 10, 2005, 11:49:13 PM »
It should could you try an Avast repair (you need to be online) Got to Control panel - add/remove - select avast - select repair.

Keep us updated

jenai

  • Guest
Re: File scan using windows context menu doesn't work
« Reply #4 on: September 11, 2005, 06:38:27 AM »
It should could you try an Avast repair (you need to be online) Got to Control panel - add/remove - select avast - select repair.

Keep us updated

Nope.. dang, that didn't help.  :(

Jenai

Offline Lisandro

  • Avast team
  • Certainly Bot
  • *
  • Posts: 67247
Re: File scan using windows context menu doesn't work
« Reply #5 on: September 11, 2005, 06:59:44 AM »
Jenai, your computer behavior is strange...
The Context Menu should work... are you sure you've checked the option to show the results?

Can you uninstall / boot / install / boot again?
The best things in life are free.

jenai

  • Guest
Re: File scan using windows context menu doesn't work
« Reply #6 on: September 11, 2005, 07:42:25 AM »
Jenai, your computer behavior is strange...
The Context Menu should work... are you sure you've checked the option to show the results?

Can you uninstall / boot / install / boot again?

Yes.. to question #1..
#2. did that.. same result.. nothing.. This is too weird.

:::::sigh::::
Jenai

Offline essexboy

  • Malware removal instructor
  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Probably Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 40610
  • Dragons by Sasha
    • Malware fixes
Re: File scan using windows context menu doesn't work
« Reply #7 on: September 11, 2005, 01:47:20 PM »
OK thinking and playing

jenai

  • Guest
Re: File scan using windows context menu doesn't work
« Reply #8 on: September 12, 2005, 07:07:09 AM »
OK thinking and playing

Ok, thanks.  :)

Jenai

Offline lakrsrool

  • Advanced Poster
  • **
  • Posts: 712
  • Get the Picture !
Re: File scan using windows context menu doesn't work
« Reply #9 on: September 12, 2005, 07:23:57 AM »
I assume you have no other AV program on you system right ?

What AV program did you have (uninstall) before installing Avast ?

Doing the following as already suggest in this thread worked for me.  "Right click Avast icon - select settings - select common - tick show results of explorer extension."

If you have a "check mark" in "Show results of explorer extension in the "common" (top) Page in the Program Settings it should work.

Possibly the uninstalled AV left a registry setting which is interfering with this setting  ???
Processor: i3 2.53 GHz 4 GIG RAM, OS: WIN 7, Connection: High Speed, Virus/Malware Protection: Avast-2015, SpywareBlaster, Windows Firewall & Defender. Email: Outlook 2010 w/ POP Peeper Email Notifiers.

jenai

  • Guest
Re: File scan using windows context menu doesn't work
« Reply #10 on: September 12, 2005, 08:01:18 AM »
I assume you have no other AV program on you system right ?

What AV program did you have (uninstall) before installing Avast ?

Doing the following as already suggest in this thread worked for me.  "Right click Avast icon - select settings - select common - tick show results of explorer extension."

If you have a "check mark" in "Show results of explorer extension in the "common" (top) Page in the Program Settings it should work.

Possibly the uninstalled AV left a registry setting which is interfering with this setting  ???

No, I don't have any other anti-virus program installed. Avast is the only one since I reformatted and installed XPPro SP2

I have done all the suggestions from this thread, and I posted I had.

Thanks for your input.  :)

Jenai

Offline essexboy

  • Malware removal instructor
  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Probably Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 40610
  • Dragons by Sasha
    • Malware fixes
Re: File scan using windows context menu doesn't work
« Reply #11 on: September 12, 2005, 11:47:17 AM »
OK follow my original steps but uncheck show results, reboot then tick show results see if that works

jenai

  • Guest
Re: File scan using windows context menu doesn't work
« Reply #12 on: September 12, 2005, 03:10:57 PM »
OK follow my original steps but uncheck show results, reboot then tick show results see if that works

Ok.. did that..  Still the same.  :(

Is there a way to edit the context menu?
Oh, and on the context menu, underneath the "scan item", it says 'Edit the extension" (exe)  or whatever the extension is.

Jenai

Offline Lisandro

  • Avast team
  • Certainly Bot
  • *
  • Posts: 67247
Re: File scan using windows context menu doesn't work
« Reply #13 on: September 12, 2005, 04:04:37 PM »
Is there a way to edit the context menu?
Maybe http://www.ramlende.com/downloads/contextedit11.zip

Do you have ashshell.dl into avast! folder?
The best things in life are free.

jenai

  • Guest
Re: File scan using windows context menu doesn't work
« Reply #14 on: September 13, 2005, 04:37:56 AM »
Is there a way to edit the context menu?
Maybe http://www.ramlende.com/downloads/contextedit11.zip

Do you have ashshell.dl into avast! folder?

Thanks.. the contextedit really didn't help.. :(

And yup, I have ashshell.dll in the avast folder..

Jenai