Author Topic: Avast and WMI Provider Host CPU Usage  (Read 32143 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

REDACTED

  • Guest
Avast and WMI Provider Host CPU Usage
« on: December 18, 2014, 03:53:37 PM »
Hi, I have noticed a process called WMI Provider Host is taking always 2-3% of my core i7 Devils Canyon CPU. If i uninstall avast this process disappear and my CPU returns to 0%.

I use Windows 8.1 Pro with the latest December updates, Avast is 2015 SP1 2208.

So please avast team, can you take a look on that an fix it? Thanks.

Offline Eddy

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Maybe Bot
  • ***
  • Posts: 31079
  • Watching (over?) you
    • Malware removal, Biljart and other things.
Re: Avast and WMI Provider Host CPU Usage
« Reply #1 on: December 18, 2014, 05:12:50 PM »
It can be caused by malware.
Please follow the instructions:
https://forum.avast.com/index.php?topic=53253.0

REDACTED

  • Guest
Re: Avast and WMI Provider Host CPU Usage
« Reply #2 on: December 23, 2014, 09:05:07 AM »
Tried what you say. In any case this is not the problem. I can see the same problem on friend´s laptops with avast, and even worse because laptop processors are less powerful so i´m talking about 10 % CPU usage of WMI Provider Host, that dissapear when uninstalling the latest avast antivirus.

Today i´m going to format the pc with the latest windows 8.1 with update 3 iso. I´ll comment later.
« Last Edit: December 23, 2014, 09:06:51 AM by jlmcr87 »

Offline mchain

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Ultra Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 5616
  • Spartan Warrior
Re: Avast and WMI Provider Host CPU Usage
« Reply #3 on: December 23, 2014, 09:24:55 AM »
May be what Eddy says or issue with Microsoft:  https://social.technet.microsoft.com/Forums/windowsserver/en-US/b3ae538c-35cc-4669-be85-b09724ff1015/wmi-provider-host

Use clean boot to troubleshoot rather than uninstall avast!
Windows 10 Home 64-bit 22H2 Avast Premier Security version 24.1.6099 (build 24.1.88821.762)  UI version 1.0.797
 UI version 1.0.788.  Windows 11 Home 23H2 - Windows 11 Pro 23H2 Avast Premier Security version 24.2.6105 (build 24.1.8918.827) UI version 1.0.801

REDACTED

  • Guest
Re: Avast and WMI Provider Host CPU Usage
« Reply #4 on: December 23, 2014, 04:41:47 PM »
Ok, I have formated the pc with the latest windows 8.1 iso with update 3, clean install. Inmediatly after  avast is installed, WMI Provider Host is here again but this time changing between 0-0,4% of CPU. So I think it´s clear that avast has a problem with windows 8.1. Please some moderator can report this to the avast team? Thanks

REDACTED

  • Guest
Re: Avast and WMI Provider Host CPU Usage
« Reply #5 on: December 23, 2014, 06:04:50 PM »
The only solution at the moment is changing to another antivirus. I feel sad about that because I like avast. Hope avast team fix that....

Offline bob3160

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Probably Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 48561
  • 64 Years of Happiness
    • bob3160 Protecting Yourself, Your Computer and, Your Identity
Re: Avast and WMI Provider Host CPU Usage
« Reply #6 on: December 24, 2014, 12:16:56 AM »
The only solution at the moment is changing to another antivirus. I feel sad about that because I like avast. Hope avast team fix that....
Sounds like you may have something else going on ???
Free Security Seminar: https://bit.ly/bobg2023  -  Important: http://www.organdonor.gov/ -- My Web Site: http://bob3160.strikingly.com/ - Win 11 Pro v22H2 64bit, 16 Gig Ram, 1TB SSD, Avast Free 23.5.6066, How to Successfully Install Avast http://goo.gl/VLXdeRepair & Clean Install https://goo.gl/t7aJGq -- My Online Activity https://bit.ly/BobGInternet

Offline Eddy

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Maybe Bot
  • ***
  • Posts: 31079
  • Watching (over?) you
    • Malware removal, Biljart and other things.
Re: Avast and WMI Provider Host CPU Usage
« Reply #7 on: December 24, 2014, 12:51:22 AM »
Quote
Ok, I have formated the pc with the latest windows 8.1 iso with update 3, clean install. Inmediatly after  avast is installed, WMI Provider Host is here again but this time changing between 0-0,4% of CPU. So I think it´s clear that avast has a problem with windows 8.1.
No, it only shows that it is working fine now. It doesn't say anything about the cause of the problem which could have been malware as I said before.

You came here asking for help, but you have refused to accept help. >:(
« Last Edit: December 24, 2014, 12:53:14 AM by Eddy »

REDACTED

  • Guest
Re: Avast and WMI Provider Host CPU Usage
« Reply #8 on: December 28, 2014, 09:20:35 PM »
Quote
Ok, I have formated the pc with the latest windows 8.1 iso with update 3, clean install. Inmediatly after  avast is installed, WMI Provider Host is here again but this time changing between 0-0,4% of CPU. So I think it´s clear that avast has a problem with windows 8.1.
No, it only shows that it is working fine now. It doesn't say anything about the cause of the problem which could have been malware as I said before.

You came here asking for help, but you have refused to accept help. >:(

What? As i say before i run malwarebytes as you say. No malware in my pc. Did a clean install and the problem came again after installing avast. So yes, it is a problem with the latest version of avast 2015. If I came here is because i like avast and i don´t want to change my antivirus.No one from avast team in this forum take note of that, and try to solve it in a future version. Sorry but avast 2015 is shit, you came here to help me, but you have refused to accept that it is avast fault. Due to all this things i have to change to eset.
« Last Edit: December 28, 2014, 09:23:25 PM by jlmcr87 »

REDACTED

  • Guest
Re: Avast and WMI Provider Host CPU Usage
« Reply #9 on: December 28, 2014, 09:22:04 PM »
The only solution at the moment is changing to another antivirus. I feel sad about that because I like avast. Hope avast team fix that....
Sounds like you may have something else going on ???


That´s what i say. WMI provider host always with 1% or similar. No problem if I return to avast 2014. And as i say before no malware on my pc.

Offline bob3160

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Probably Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 48561
  • 64 Years of Happiness
    • bob3160 Protecting Yourself, Your Computer and, Your Identity
Re: Avast and WMI Provider Host CPU Usage
« Reply #10 on: December 28, 2014, 10:46:25 PM »
The only solution at the moment is changing to another antivirus. I feel sad about that because I like avast. Hope avast team fix that....
Sounds like you may have something else going on ???


That´s what i say. WMI provider host always with 1% or similar. No problem if I return to avast 2014. And as i say before no malware on my pc.
My screenshot is from my system. Windows 8.1 Avast free 2015. as you can see, no problems with excessive use.
Free Security Seminar: https://bit.ly/bobg2023  -  Important: http://www.organdonor.gov/ -- My Web Site: http://bob3160.strikingly.com/ - Win 11 Pro v22H2 64bit, 16 Gig Ram, 1TB SSD, Avast Free 23.5.6066, How to Successfully Install Avast http://goo.gl/VLXdeRepair & Clean Install https://goo.gl/t7aJGq -- My Online Activity https://bit.ly/BobGInternet

REDACTED

  • Guest
Re: Avast and WMI Provider Host CPU Usage
« Reply #11 on: December 29, 2014, 02:55:39 PM »
The only solution at the moment is changing to another antivirus. I feel sad about that because I like avast. Hope avast team fix that....
Sounds like you may have something else going on ???


That´s what i say. WMI provider host always with 1% or similar. No problem if I return to avast 2014. And as i say before no malware on my pc.
My screenshot is from my system. Windows 8.1 Avast free 2015. as you can see, no problems with excessive use.

What? don´t you see the 1,2% of WMI Provider Host? 1,2% by the face, thanks to avast 2015. Common.....

Offline bob3160

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Probably Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 48561
  • 64 Years of Happiness
    • bob3160 Protecting Yourself, Your Computer and, Your Identity
Re: Avast and WMI Provider Host CPU Usage
« Reply #12 on: December 29, 2014, 03:33:51 PM »
And what makes this a problem ???
Free Security Seminar: https://bit.ly/bobg2023  -  Important: http://www.organdonor.gov/ -- My Web Site: http://bob3160.strikingly.com/ - Win 11 Pro v22H2 64bit, 16 Gig Ram, 1TB SSD, Avast Free 23.5.6066, How to Successfully Install Avast http://goo.gl/VLXdeRepair & Clean Install https://goo.gl/t7aJGq -- My Online Activity https://bit.ly/BobGInternet

REDACTED

  • Guest
Re: Avast and WMI Provider Host CPU Usage
« Reply #13 on: December 30, 2014, 10:22:58 AM »
And what makes this a problem ???

Oh yes.......I bought a core i7 devils canyon to waste CPU on absurd processes....

Offline bob3160

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Probably Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 48561
  • 64 Years of Happiness
    • bob3160 Protecting Yourself, Your Computer and, Your Identity
Re: Avast and WMI Provider Host CPU Usage
« Reply #14 on: December 30, 2014, 02:33:19 PM »
And what makes this a problem ???

Oh yes.......I bought a core i7 devils canyon to waste CPU on absurd processes....
If it's slowing down your i7 them maybe there's another problem.
It certainly isn't hampering the i7 I'm using.
Free Security Seminar: https://bit.ly/bobg2023  -  Important: http://www.organdonor.gov/ -- My Web Site: http://bob3160.strikingly.com/ - Win 11 Pro v22H2 64bit, 16 Gig Ram, 1TB SSD, Avast Free 23.5.6066, How to Successfully Install Avast http://goo.gl/VLXdeRepair & Clean Install https://goo.gl/t7aJGq -- My Online Activity https://bit.ly/BobGInternet