Author Topic: I can't boot with BART CD, I get a loop boot...  (Read 13263 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Lisandro

  • Avast team
  • Certainly Bot
  • *
  • Posts: 67255
I can't boot with BART CD, I get a loop boot...
« on: September 11, 2005, 07:09:47 AM »
I was testing BART CD in two computers.

One has Norton GoBack activated so I thought BART CD could not boot due to this.
But I've tryed a second computer, without Norton GoBack (it's not even installed).

When I boot the sequence is:

1. Click a key to boot from CD... clicked.
2. I see the CD activity... The screen with "Starting avast! BART CD Environment" progress bar appears.
3. I see the Windows XP boot screen (is it normal?).
4. Then comes "avast! bootable antivirus & Recovery Tools loading..." screen for some seconds
5. Returns to step 1  :'(

I've tryed to burn the CD twice, what's wrong?
The best things in life are free.

Offline w0mbat

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 149
  • I'm a wombat!
Re: I can't boot with BART CD, I get a loop boot...
« Reply #1 on: September 12, 2005, 03:03:20 AM »
Hi.

It sounds like it's failing to load a driver and having a fatal error, so e-booting.
for me normally it just locks the system up.

1) are you using a R/W type disk? If so try with a writeable only, burnt at a low spin speed in case it's having trouble reading the data drom the disk
2) does the motherboard use any non-standard HDD driver? SATA, SCSI ETC.

Does the computer have XP loaded on it as the OS? as if that was installed without problems, BART  -should- run too.
To Insanity and Beyond!

Offline Lisandro

  • Avast team
  • Certainly Bot
  • *
  • Posts: 67255
Re: I can't boot with BART CD, I get a loop boot...
« Reply #2 on: September 12, 2005, 03:52:56 PM »
It sounds like it's failing to load a driver and having a fatal error, so e-booting.
for me normally it just locks the system up.
Yes, I'm using a RW CD but, I thought this should be the default as BART CD uses new virus definitions of its own (not in a separate folder like Norton Emergency Rescue CD). I could try but, for sure, it should allow a RW or the disavantage of updating is complete  :P
I'll try to safe in low speed too.

2) does the motherboard use any non-standard HDD driver? SATA, SCSI ETC.
No, just an USB HDD for backup. I tried with both on and off... neither of them worked.

Does the computer have XP loaded on it as the OS? as if that was installed without problems, BART  -should- run too.
What do you mean?
I have XP, I've saw the boot screen but nothing more... avast! BART was loading and the computer rebooted  :'(
« Last Edit: September 14, 2005, 04:17:45 AM by Tech »
The best things in life are free.

Offline Lisandro

  • Avast team
  • Certainly Bot
  • *
  • Posts: 67255
Re: I can't boot with BART CD, I get a loop boot...
« Reply #3 on: September 14, 2005, 04:17:52 AM »
Helloooo  ???
The best things in life are free.

Offline w0mbat

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 149
  • I'm a wombat!
Re: I can't boot with BART CD, I get a loop boot...
« Reply #4 on: September 15, 2005, 07:19:06 AM »
How did you go with just a CDR, and at low speed?

Quote
Does the computer have XP loaded on it as the OS? as if that was installed without problems, BART  -should- run too.
What do you mean?
I have XP, I've saw the boot screen but nothing more... avast! BART was loading and the computer rebooted   
What I mean is, when the computer is running normally, is XP the OS..... or is it Win2000, 2000 server, 2003......     :)

hope to hear from you soon RE the CDR.
To Insanity and Beyond!

Offline Lisandro

  • Avast team
  • Certainly Bot
  • *
  • Posts: 67255
Re: I can't boot with BART CD, I get a loop boot...
« Reply #5 on: September 15, 2005, 01:57:48 PM »
How did you go with just a CDR, and at low speed?
I won't do this... I want an answer from Alwil.
The product is sold to be burned into a CDRW because the virus definitions are inside of it.
If I need a CDR, Norton Rescue will do it better as the definitions could be at a separate folder (removable drive).
But, I did burn at low speed and nothing... same trouble.
Is there any way to debug?

w0mbat, I apreciate your help.
Alwil is so silent  ::)
The best things in life are free.

Offline w0mbat

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 149
  • I'm a wombat!
Re: I can't boot with BART CD, I get a loop boot...
« Reply #6 on: September 15, 2005, 04:37:22 PM »
Ok, use BART don't use BART. It's not the all-in-one solution.
The point is, unless you are prepared to TRY a solution why even ask for help??   ???

MY experience ( and yes I use a CDRW for BART and re-burn it every 2-3 days) BUT I ALSO have a CDR version that I do every 2 weeks for those drives that have a problem reading my CDRW
and IT DOES happen.   :-\

Soooo.....  try it with a $0.50 CDR and aat least find out if it's an issue with your install or the fact that the CD unit does not like the CDRW.  ;D

don't give up yet  :)
To Insanity and Beyond!

Offline Lisandro

  • Avast team
  • Certainly Bot
  • *
  • Posts: 67255
Re: I can't boot with BART CD, I get a loop boot...
« Reply #7 on: September 15, 2005, 04:59:36 PM »
Don't give up yet  :)
You're right.
Hope that Alwil knows what is happening and agree with your solution.
The best things in life are free.

Offline igor

  • Avast team
  • Serious Graphoman
  • *
  • Posts: 11786
    • AVAST Software
Re: I can't boot with BART CD, I get a loop boot...
« Reply #8 on: September 19, 2005, 11:34:02 PM »
Hmm, that's bad :(
If the CD were unreadable, the system could easily restart during the boot, sure. However, you can probably verify (that it's readable) by copying the files to disk (when booted normally from HDD).

It really might be some problem with drivers... try to unplug any USB devices before boot - I've seen to many problems with USB stuff plugged into the computer during boot.

Offline Lisandro

  • Avast team
  • Certainly Bot
  • *
  • Posts: 67255
Re: I can't boot with BART CD, I get a loop boot...
« Reply #9 on: September 19, 2005, 11:42:05 PM »
Sorry, Igor, my fault.
This afternoon I got messed with the Off Topic stuffs and forget to post my last tests.
In fact, it was a problem with my burning program.
I changed it and burn the CD at lowest speed possible and it works.

I'll write a review of Bart CD and Symantec Recovery CD soon.
Oh, by the way, the USB was not the problem, this time, in any way  ;)
The best things in life are free.