Author Topic: Problem with Avast home and Windows xp Pro x64  (Read 34254 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

jbignes5

  • Guest
Problem with Avast home and Windows xp Pro x64
« on: September 15, 2005, 02:39:19 PM »

 I tried the beta of Windows XP Pro x64 for a year and got strange shutdown problems. If I leave Avast AV running at shutdown x64 will hang at the shutdown screen for hours. If I shut off the av before shutting down x64 it shuts down normally without a hitch. Something is going on here at shutdown. Since I have upgraded x64 to retail version the problem continues to happen. Has anyone else have this problem?
 I can reproduce this problem every time and fix it every time by closing the AV before shut down. Maybe Avast programmers could check into this please. Since IMHO Avast is the best thing to come round the bend for the price (free)!
 Keep up the good work guys!

 Thanks for your input,
 Jbignes5

Offline igor

  • Avast team
  • Serious Graphoman
  • *
  • Posts: 11811
    • AVAST Software
Re: Problem with Avast home and Windows xp Pro x64
« Reply #1 on: September 19, 2005, 10:31:18 AM »
There were a few similar reports, but the problem is that we cannot reproduce the problem on our machines, and it also seems to be impossible to generate the memory dump at the frozen state  :(
See this thread.

RawOstrich

  • Guest
Re: Problem with Avast home and Windows xp Pro x64
« Reply #2 on: October 03, 2005, 09:29:54 AM »
I share this problem. The pc often hangs on shutdown.

Is there anything I can do to assist in solving it?

My hardware & drivers:
Asus a8n-sli deluxe w/ bios 1013, latest whql nVidia x64 drivers (6.66)
Amd x2 3800+ at specs, latest amd x2 x64 driver
4 x 512mb generic ddr (validated by stringent prime95, pifast and memtest runs) at specs
Msi geforce 6600 gt, latest nVida x64 driver 78.01
2 x seagate barraguda 7200 hd, windows ide driver
1 x samsung dvd
1 x LG cd-rw
Roadrunner 510 external dsl modem
usb logitech keyboard
usb lugitech mouse

My software:
Windows XP x64 professional default install fully patched
Firefox latest version
Thuderbird latest version
Ad-Aware free version (non resident install)
Avast home 4 free version
Bitcomet (for 100% legal use in my country, so please no moral rants)
Windows messenger (the version that came with the windows)
Thats it!

Observations:
- The same pc without avast does not hang.
- The dsl modem light blink peridiocally when the shutdown occures. The pace of the blinking appears 100% regular (even intervalls), as opposite to unregular flashing caused by packet reguests from the net.
- Turning off (diabling) p2p, IM and outlook providers on avast does not help.
- Shutting down (by disconneting power) dls modem after hang does not help
- After shutting down hang pc with the 5 sec powerbutton press, the dsl modem remains in "bright light and blinking mode" whereas with normal shutdown it switches to "dim light and no blinking mode" (no, I am not an engineer :-)

So is there anything I could do? I will provide memory dumps if you tell me how.



Offline igor

  • Avast team
  • Serious Graphoman
  • *
  • Posts: 11811
    • AVAST Software
Re: Problem with Avast home and Windows xp Pro x64
« Reply #3 on: October 03, 2005, 12:22:00 PM »
Well, the link in my previous posts leads to a thread that explains how to create the memoru dump, but
- it seems that the memory dumping procedure doesn't work that late during the shutdown process
- the dumping procedure does not work with USB keyboard

So, I'm afraid we don't have any solution right now... :(

hallanavt

  • Guest
Re: Problem with Avast home and Windows xp Pro x64
« Reply #4 on: October 13, 2005, 01:29:02 PM »
Me too, I have the exact same problem on XP x64, although it is intermittent, usually occurs if the PC has been on for a while.

Does anyone know if this also occurs if the logged on user has admin privileges ?

:Tony:
 ???

MrBabis

  • Guest
Re: Problem with Avast home and Windows xp Pro x64
« Reply #5 on: October 13, 2005, 02:52:41 PM »
I guess that it can be somewhere in the windows core.

You can try to install avast without any modul, just scanner.
And try if that will work. Then add modules one by one, and test system how it react you differnt modules. So you can find what modul is using what.

BTW...... it can be some windows dll that have corrupt information. Update windows.

msvcr*.dll is part of system that lot of programs requid to work properly. You can try use those from windows xp 32-bit. // I am not sure if that do somthing. But you can try.

Angryguy

  • Guest
Re: Problem with Avast home and Windows xp Pro x64
« Reply #6 on: October 14, 2005, 04:14:24 AM »
I'm having the same issue, but I think I've found a possible workaround. 

Below is my reply to a similar post on the planetamd64.com forums (got to both threads via google): http://www.planetamd64.com/index.php?showtopic=8408&st=40&p=125975&

Quote
[jasuca @ Sep 18 2005, 09:26 AM]
I had the same problem, I think it started when I installed avast!. But I find the solution, in the configuration of avast! you must desactivate "I'm always connected to internet" so, you colse the connections. And that's all.

I think you might have something there.

The problem started right after I installed Avast on my x64 system.  I've only tried it once or twice, but it doesn't seem to be freezing at shutdown anymore after I de-activated that option.  It is still hanging a bit more than usual on shutdown, but it is shutting down.
« Last Edit: October 14, 2005, 04:18:10 AM by Angryguy »

MrBabis

  • Guest
Re: Problem with Avast home and Windows xp Pro x64
« Reply #7 on: October 14, 2005, 11:08:52 AM »
BIOS is not to play with but it plays with us...... :'(

Offline igor

  • Avast team
  • Serious Graphoman
  • *
  • Posts: 11811
    • AVAST Software
Re: Problem with Avast home and Windows xp Pro x64
« Reply #8 on: October 14, 2005, 05:40:36 PM »
Angryguy: I must say that it's quite strange (that this option would have anything to do with the problem). Are you sure it's related? I mean, if you turn the option back on, does the problem appear again?
I know that it's rather hard to say when the problem doesn't occur every time...
 

hallanavt

  • Guest
Re: Problem with Avast home and Windows xp Pro x64
« Reply #9 on: October 14, 2005, 08:03:39 PM »
Quote
in the configuration of avast! you must desactivate "I'm always connected to internet"

This option is not activated for my setup, I have never turned it off so I assume it was installed with this setting disabled by default.

As I still have the problem, I can say this didn't fix it for me, but as this problem is intermittent, I can only test any possible fixes over a period of time, the only sure thing is if I kill AVAST before shutdown.

Theliel

  • Guest
Re: Problem with Avast home and Windows xp Pro x64
« Reply #10 on: October 14, 2005, 10:51:30 PM »
Um..

- XP x64 oficial version, non beta and fully update in "microsoft update"
- Processor P4 650 (with EM64T)
- 2Gb DDR 2 711

Avast! work for me perfect too. You are using beta version or release of XP x64?

Offline igor

  • Avast team
  • Serious Graphoman
  • *
  • Posts: 11811
    • AVAST Software
Re: Problem with Avast home and Windows xp Pro x64
« Reply #11 on: October 14, 2005, 11:02:10 PM »
It also works correctly on our test machines... that's the problem.

Could everybody having the problems post a comprehensive description of his machine here, please? I mean CPU, motherboard (chipset), video card, disk controller... possibly also versions of the corresponding drivers? Maybe we could find a common factor... conflict of some specific drivers, or something like that.
Let's not forget low-level software, if there's any (like firewalls, if any support Win64).
Thanks.

Oil_Fan

  • Guest
Re: Problem with Avast home and Windows xp Pro x64
« Reply #12 on: October 17, 2005, 04:06:41 AM »
I too have this same problem.  And as RawOstrich has, I too have an Asus board for an Athlon 64.

My specs:

AMD Athlon 64 3500+ (939 pin)
Asus A8N-E M/B
3 GB of PC 3200 ram (2x512mb, 2x1gb)
2x 120 GB SATA HD Striped together
16x DVD NEC burner
PowerColor Radeon X850Pro (256 mb) PCIx version
MS Windows XP Pro x64 edition (retail w/ all crit updates)
Running nVidia NForce drivers ver. 6.66 w/ Asus bios 1.06

Offline Nightdragon

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 5
Re: Problem with Avast home and Windows xp Pro x64
« Reply #13 on: October 17, 2005, 11:11:16 AM »

I have also this problem, but sometimes machine will shutdown or sometimes not. I have also noticed that it will not shutdown if the user has no admin priviledges. But even with admin priviledges the machine will not shutdown. Merely I have though this could be some "properties"  ;) of a new Windows, because I remember once there was also a shutdown problem with Win98 itself when you have shared network drives.
Although I send my specs also if it helps someone

Shuttle SN25P

AMD Athlon64 3500+
NVIDIA nForce™4 Ultra MCP drivers 6.66
NVIDIA GF6600GT drivers 77.77
VIA Envy24PT drivers 4.60b
1024Mb PC3200
NEC 16x DVD



hallanavt

  • Guest
Re: Problem with Avast home and Windows xp Pro x64
« Reply #14 on: October 25, 2005, 07:47:15 PM »
My PC spec is:
CPU:    AMD Athlon 64 X2 4600+
Mobo:   GigaByte K8NXP-SLI
RAM:   Kingston 2GB DDR PC3200 400MHz Non-ECC
Disks:   3x Hitachi Deskstar T7K250 SATAII (non-RAID)
GFX:   Gigabyte GeForce PCX6600GT PCI-Express
PSU:   Antec 550W
Case:   Antec Sonata

Nvidia System Drivers v6.66 =
  Audio driver 4.62 (WHQL)
 Audio utilities 4.51
 Ethernet driver 4.82 (WHQL)
 Network management tools version 4.85
 SMBus driver 4.48 (WHQL)
 NVIDIA PATA RAID driver 5.34
 NVIDIA SATA RAID driver 5.34 (WHQL)
 NVIDIA SATA IDE driver 5.34 (WHQL)
 NVIDIA RAID Application 4.82
 Installer 4.77

Nvidia Graphics Driver: GForce v7.7.7.7

« Last Edit: October 25, 2005, 07:53:52 PM by hallanavt »