Author Topic: Conflict with ISP chat room  (Read 4349 times)

Offline tbird

• Proud avast user
Conflict with ISP chat room
« on: September 16, 2005, 08:53:12 PM »
In order to enter my ISP chat room I have to disable Avast.  As soon as I am in the room I can enable it again and it works fine.  I run 4 providers  Internet Mail, Network, Standard & Web Shield.  I have tried pausing them but that doesn't work.  Can anyone help me?  I have XP sp2.  I am new to Avast and computers so please explain simply.  I am learning a lot on your forum.  Thanks  I hope this question is not a repeat.  I checked search and found nothing.
XP/SP3, Intel Pentium 4, 992MB Ram, Avast 2014 Free, Chrome  with ABP , Private  Firewall 7.0,  MBAM, WinPatrol and Thunderbird 24.6.0

gallusik

Re: Conflict with ISP chat room
« Reply #1 on: September 16, 2005, 08:55:35 PM »
try to dissable web shield and restart computer.

Offline Lisandro

• Avast team
  • Certainly Bot
« Reply #2 on: September 16, 2005, 09:00:28 PM »
Which firewall do you use? Is WebShield allowed to connect?
The best things in life are free.

Offline tbird

• Proud avast user
« Reply #3 on: September 16, 2005, 09:04:01 PM »
I use ZA Free and avast web scanner is checked.  Would it be a good idea to stop the web shield permanently?
XP/SP3, Intel Pentium 4, 992MB Ram, Avast 2014 Free, Chrome  with ABP , Private  Firewall 7.0,  MBAM, WinPatrol and Thunderbird 24.6.0

Offline Lisandro

• Avast team
  • Certainly Bot
« Reply #4 on: September 16, 2005, 10:02:43 PM »
Would it be a good idea to stop the web shield permanently?

No, it won't.
Check this link http://www.avast.com/eng/webshield_issues.html

You should uninstall avast, boot, and while installing it again at the question avast! Web Shield compatibility dialogue - Install/Update Question - YES or NO you should click NO, because privacy features are not present in ZoneAlarm Free this will not turn off webshield transparent mode proxy.

Offline tbird

• Proud avast user