Author Topic: New AVAST 2015 R2 Beta1  (Read 39992 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline MartinZ

  • Moderator
  • Advanced Poster
  • *
  • Posts: 994
  • Product Manager
New AVAST 2015 R2 Beta1
« on: February 05, 2015, 05:23:20 PM »
Hi all,

I'm glad to announce new beta version: AVAST 2015 R2 Beta1 (build number 2015.10.2.2209)

What's new:

-          Improved Windows 10 Compatibility

-          Changed setup flow for better license activation

-          Avast NG – lot’s of performance and stability fixes

-          AccessAnywhere function is removed and replaced with new remote connection feature available through Account screen in all editions

-          Browser Cleanup integrated to Avast UI and added to Smart Scan

-          GrimeFighter now supports UEFI

-          Stability and performance improvements

-          Changed version number to support minor versions - 2015.10.2.2209(previously 2015.10.0.2208)


Known issues:

-          AOS plugin for chrome still needs some UI fixes

-          Some features on Windows 10 might not work correctly (Sandbox, DeepScreen, browser plugin in IE)

-          Avast UI crashes on Windows XP64b

How to install:

1. If you have installed some beta version before you can update it to this latest version via Settings->Update->Program.

2. Or you can download and install from here:

http://files.avast.com/beta9x/avast_free_antivirus_setup.exe
http://files.avast.com/beta9x/avast_pro_antivirus_setup.exe
http://files.avast.com/beta9x/avast_internet_security_setup.exe
http://files.avast.com/beta9x/avast_premier_antivirus_setup.exe

Avast cleaner:
http://files.avast.com/beta9x/avastclear.exe

It should be possible to install this version on top of your existing avast! installation (all settings should be preserved).

We are looking for your feedback!

Thank you
Avast team
« Last Edit: February 13, 2015, 05:05:15 PM by hectic-mmv »

Offline Giraffe

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 240
  • I'm not a Lama!
Re: New AVAST 2015 R2 Beta1
« Reply #1 on: February 05, 2015, 05:40:23 PM »
Thanks!
Has the problem of Avastsvc.exe eating the CPU been solved? If so, I'll give this a go.
W7 Pro SP1 32 bit
Intel Core i5 5675C; 4GB DDR3 1600 RAM
Avast!: 2328; Comodo Firewall

Offline CraigB

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Serious Graphoman
  • *****
  • Posts: 10888
  • No support PM's thanks
Re: New AVAST 2015 R2 Beta1
« Reply #2 on: February 05, 2015, 05:44:33 PM »
Thanks!
Has the problem of Avastsvc.exe eating the CPU been solved? If so, I'll give this a go.
The only way you'll know for sure is to install it, make a system image first just in case you need to return.

Offline Secondmineboy

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Massive Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 3645
Re: New AVAST 2015 R2 Beta1
« Reply #3 on: February 05, 2015, 05:45:25 PM »
Will NG be moved away from the system restore points in 2015 R2 or later (2016) maybe?
HUAWEI P30 Pro. Android 9

Offline Eddy

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Maybe Bot
  • ***
  • Posts: 31367
  • Watching (over?) you
    • Malware removal, Biljart and other things.
Re: New AVAST 2015 R2 Beta1
« Reply #4 on: February 05, 2015, 05:53:47 PM »
Upgraded on a Windows XP-SP3 system.
No improvement when it comes to speed.
Both the file shield and the web shield.

BCU is still saying that I have the Adguard Webfilter installed, but it doesn't list it at any of the browsers.
Choosing remove does not change a thing, next scan it still says it is there.

Offline Rednose

  • Pirate Party Member
  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Massive Poster
  • *****
  • Posts: 3624
  • Bits of Freedom : https://www.bof.nl
    • Nederlandstalig Avast! forum
Re: New AVAST 2015 R2 Beta1
« Reply #5 on: February 05, 2015, 06:05:03 PM »
Nice, but I am going to make a system image first :P

Greetz, Red.
OS: Win 7 x64 SP1 / Ubuntu / Qubes OS / iOS
Real Time: Avast Premier Beta + AMS for iOS Beta WinPatrol Plus Unchecky MCShield  HOSTS File: MVPS + MDL
On Demand: MBAM SUMo
Backup: Win 7 Image
Proxy: ASL VPN's Socks 5 Tor

Offline CraigB

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Serious Graphoman
  • *****
  • Posts: 10888
  • No support PM's thanks
Re: New AVAST 2015 R2 Beta1
« Reply #6 on: February 05, 2015, 06:11:11 PM »
BCU is still saying that I have the Adguard Webfilter installed, but it doesn't list it at any of the browsers.
Choosing remove does not change a thing, next scan it still says it is there.
@Eddy, have you ever had Adguard or an Adguard extension installed ? possibly there are remnants in the registry that avast is seeing.

Offline Eddy

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Maybe Bot
  • ***
  • Posts: 31367
  • Watching (over?) you
    • Malware removal, Biljart and other things.
Re: New AVAST 2015 R2 Beta1
« Reply #7 on: February 05, 2015, 06:20:28 PM »
Nope, never had it installed.

Offline CraigB

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Serious Graphoman
  • *****
  • Posts: 10888
  • No support PM's thanks
Re: New AVAST 2015 R2 Beta1
« Reply #8 on: February 05, 2015, 06:26:23 PM »
That's very odd then and something the devs need to look into.

Offline DavidR

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 81459
  • No support PMs thanks
Re: New AVAST 2015 R2 Beta1
« Reply #9 on: February 05, 2015, 06:28:25 PM »
Quote from: MartinZ
Browser Cleanup integrated to Avast UI and added to Smart Scan

The Browser Cleanup I feel should remain an independent optional choice - I have so far been less than impressed with this tool, seeing many of the posts in the forums and even in this topic - I keep my browser clean, being a trusting sort, NOT. As a rule I don't run automated tools.

If it is integrated into the UI how can we opt-out of it in a custom install

Quote from: MartinZ
It should be possible to install this version on top of your existing avast! installation (all settings should be preserved).

If you have opted out of the Browser Cleanup - how would it be possible to retain your existing avast installation - when it is integrated into the UI and included in the Smart Scan (when I also deleted that scan from the drop down list).
WinXP ProSP3/ Core2Duo E8300/ 4GB Ram/ avast! free 18.5.2342/ Firefox ESR, uBlock Origin, uMatrix/ MailWasher Pro7.11.0/ DropMyRights/ WinPatrol+/ Drive Image 7.1/ SnagIt 10.0/ avast! mobile security
Windows 10 Home 64bit/ Acer Aspire F15/ Intel Core i5 7200U 2.5GHz, 8GB DDR4 memory, 256GB SSD, 1TB HDD/ avast! free 19.5.2378/ WinPatrol+/ Firefox, uBlock Origin, uMatrix/ MailWasher Pro7.11.0/ WinPatrol+/

Offline Eddy

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Maybe Bot
  • ***
  • Posts: 31367
  • Watching (over?) you
    • Malware removal, Biljart and other things.
Re: New AVAST 2015 R2 Beta1
« Reply #10 on: February 05, 2015, 06:28:42 PM »
I already reported it directly to the BCU team, just hoped that it was solved in this version.

edit:
I wonder if a browser has it build in or something...
« Last Edit: February 05, 2015, 06:33:11 PM by Eddy »

Offline Secondmineboy

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Massive Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 3645
Re: New AVAST 2015 R2 Beta1
« Reply #11 on: February 05, 2015, 06:34:26 PM »
Im thinking about moving away from Avast when i see these more or less not working or completely developed features being added rather
then focusing on security features.

Like GrimeFighter and similar features.
HUAWEI P30 Pro. Android 9

Offline abruptum

  • Super Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 1858
Re: New AVAST 2015 R2 Beta1
« Reply #12 on: February 05, 2015, 06:51:25 PM »
If Browser Cleanup is integrated in Avast UI I'm not going to update Avast.
Why are you doing this ? In my opinion Browser Cleanup is horrible and very dangerous app.

Offline -midnight

  • Super Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 2346
  • WWJD
Re: New AVAST 2015 R2 Beta1
« Reply #13 on: February 05, 2015, 06:59:37 PM »
If Browser Cleanup is integrated in Avast UI I'm not going to update Avast.
Why are you doing this ? In my opinion Browser Cleanup is horrible and very dangerous app.


+1

Offline Eddy

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Maybe Bot
  • ***
  • Posts: 31367
  • Watching (over?) you
    • Malware removal, Biljart and other things.
Re: New AVAST 2015 R2 Beta1
« Reply #14 on: February 05, 2015, 07:03:26 PM »
Someone already removed the BCU to see what happens with the UI ?