Author Topic: Firewalls  (Read 9627 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline justinlee

  • Poster
  • *
  • Posts: 400
Firewalls
« on: February 16, 2015, 02:05:56 AM »
Just wondering what FREE firewalls people recommend using with Avast Free?

Just installed Comodo and am seeing how it goes, but open to other suggestions.

Thanks.
Windows 7 Home Premium (64-bit) SP1,
Intel Core i5-2410M @2.30GHz, 6GB RAM
AvastFree Antivirus & ZoneAlarm Free.

Offline bob3160

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Probably Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 46565
  • 61 Years of Happiness
    • bob3160 Protecting Yourself, Your Computer and, Your Identity
Re: Firewalls
« Reply #1 on: February 16, 2015, 02:08:06 AM »
Just wondering what FREE firewalls people recommend using with Avast Free?

Just installed Comodo and am seeing how it goes, but open to other suggestions.

Thanks.
I'm on Windows 8.1 and on Windows 10 and use the firewall that MS supplies.
No problems and fully protected. :)

Free avast! Security Seminar: http://bit.ly/2N1eaR2  -  Important: http://www.organdonor.gov/ -- My Web Site: http://bob3160.strikingly.com/ - Win 11 Pro v21H2 64bit, 16 Gig Ram, 1TB SSD, Avast One 21.11, How to Successfully Install Avast http://goo.gl/VLXdeRepair & Clean Install https://goo.gl/t7aJGq -- My Online Activity https://bit.ly/BobGInternet

Offline mchain

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Ultra Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 5420
  • Spartan Warrior
Re: Firewalls
« Reply #2 on: February 16, 2015, 01:53:32 PM »
Bob's advice is sound.  Comodo is problematic, in that it has had a noticeable impact on system responsiveness in the past, and still does, in the latest iteration.  Reason for that is due to the advanced HIPS features and use of cloud transmissions.  Disabling these features helped some in the past, but did not completely lessen system impact.  Likely this is still true.

You'll need to use their uninstaller to completely remove all traces of it after a normal uninstall:  https://forums.comodo.com/install_setup_configuration_help/cleanup_tool_for_comodo_internet_security-t36499.0.html  Use this uninstall tool at your own risk, even the Comodo admin says so.

IMO. avast! natively protects you without the extra features provided by Comodo if run with Windows Firewall.  If you still wish to run a third-party firewall, then see:  http://www.techsupportalert.com/best-free-firewall.htm but ignore Comodo.

See:  http://www.howtogeek.com/165203/why-you-dont-need-to-install-a-third-party-firewall-and-when-you-do/ 

It is your call here.  In a case such as this one, always best to image your system drive first if you do not like the end result.
Windows 10 Home 64-bit 20H2 Avast Premier Security version 21.3.2459 (build 21.3.6164.652) UI version 1.0.612.

Offline Para-Noid

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Starting Graphoman
  • ***
  • Posts: 6711
  • Trust only what you test yourself!
Re: Firewalls
« Reply #3 on: February 16, 2015, 04:23:05 PM »
FWIW, I've been running Comodo Firewall for quite some time without any issues.
I wouldn't run anything from Comodo v6.0 or later due to it being bloatware and
a resource hog.

This might help http://www.techsupportalert.com/best-free-firewall.htm

Warning: Do not run a third party firewall unless you know what you are doing!
Dell Inspiron, Win10x64--HP Envy Win10x64--Both systems Avast Free v17.9.2322, Comodo Firewall v8.2 w/D+, MalwareBytes v3.0, OpenDNS, Super Anti-Spyware, Spyware Blaster, MCShield, Unchecky, Vivaldi Browser and, various browser security tools.

"Look before you leap!" Use online scanners before you click on any link.

heisiewi.hamburg@smart-mail.de

  • Guest
Re: Firewalls
« Reply #4 on: February 17, 2015, 03:27:08 PM »
Hi!

I'm running 'CIS 3.14' (Comodo) on XP, W7 and W8.1 and haven't had any problem.

HDW

rick.brucks.88@gmail.com

  • Guest
Re: Firewalls
« Reply #5 on: February 19, 2015, 11:10:13 AM »
+1 Zonealarm free firewall. It works just fine for almost 2 years.

Offline Staticguy

  • Super Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 1438
Re: Firewalls
« Reply #6 on: February 19, 2015, 01:08:33 PM »
I have used Comodo Firewall Free in the past. It's useless and every time i open up a program i.e. adobe reader or word or etc it shows up a dialog box to gain access i click on gain access (always remember) and everytime i open up programs that same dialog box appears. Just use this "WINDOWS FIREWALL AND AVAST"  :). Always have been using Windows Firewall and Avast for many many years and don't have any regrets and it does an marvelous job  :)
DELL Inspiron 15" 7000 Gaming, Windows 10 Home Version 21H1 (OS Build 19043.1237), Trend Micro Maximum Security 2021 (17.0.1333), Avast SecureLine VPN (5.12.5655), Windows Firewall, Unchecky 1.2

heisiewi.hamburg@smart-mail.de

  • Guest
Re: Firewalls
« Reply #7 on: February 19, 2015, 01:50:09 PM »
Just use this "WINDOWS FIREWALL AND AVAST"  :).

I can't stand a firewall, which doesn't show me that it works.

HDW

Offline Para-Noid

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Starting Graphoman
  • ***
  • Posts: 6711
  • Trust only what you test yourself!
Re: Firewalls
« Reply #8 on: February 19, 2015, 04:23:16 PM »
It's the HIPS which causes the most noise. I have been running CFW v5.12 w/D+ for quite a while
with no ill affects. By the way, CIS v3.14 won't work on Win7 or later. If you run CFW on Win7 or
later you can run CFW v5.12 or later.
Dell Inspiron, Win10x64--HP Envy Win10x64--Both systems Avast Free v17.9.2322, Comodo Firewall v8.2 w/D+, MalwareBytes v3.0, OpenDNS, Super Anti-Spyware, Spyware Blaster, MCShield, Unchecky, Vivaldi Browser and, various browser security tools.

"Look before you leap!" Use online scanners before you click on any link.

heisiewi.hamburg@smart-mail.de

  • Guest
Re: Firewalls
« Reply #9 on: February 19, 2015, 05:00:54 PM »
By the way, CIS v3.14 won't work on Win7 or later. If you run CFW on Win7 or
later you can run CFW v5.12 or later.

I'm sorry, but you're wrong: it does work on W7! You don't need updating to '5.12', '7.0' or later.
I didn't try yet, if it's running on 'W8.1'.
 ;)
HDW
« Last Edit: February 19, 2015, 05:03:06 PM by HDW38 »

Offline Para-Noid

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Starting Graphoman
  • ***
  • Posts: 6711
  • Trust only what you test yourself!
Re: Firewalls
« Reply #10 on: February 19, 2015, 09:01:47 PM »
You must be running 32 bit machines. I tried more than several times to install
CFW v3.14 on 64 bit laptops and it was no-go. I also know it can't be done on
a Win 8.1 64 bit machine. Not even in a VM.
Dell Inspiron, Win10x64--HP Envy Win10x64--Both systems Avast Free v17.9.2322, Comodo Firewall v8.2 w/D+, MalwareBytes v3.0, OpenDNS, Super Anti-Spyware, Spyware Blaster, MCShield, Unchecky, Vivaldi Browser and, various browser security tools.

"Look before you leap!" Use online scanners before you click on any link.

heisiewi.hamburg@smart-mail.de

  • Guest
Re: Firewalls
« Reply #11 on: February 19, 2015, 09:09:57 PM »

You're completely right. Thought, you took a glance on my forum-signature (only 32 bit machines). So sorry, that you failed.
 :)
HDW

Offline mchain

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Ultra Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 5420
  • Spartan Warrior
Re: Firewalls
« Reply #12 on: February 19, 2015, 09:39:34 PM »
@ HDW38,
I see only one mention of a 32-bit machine.  Why that is relevant is only due to what os bit version that software supports.  Older versions of software may or may not support the newer version, 64-bit.  For that, one needs to go to the software specifications page and see what operating systems are supported there.

Not at all clear from your sig that all your machines are 32-bit.  That does make a difference, especially with older software.

@ Para-Noid,
Glad you two have worked it out.  Anyway, this is OT.  OP has yet to return.  Let's wait for his answer.
Windows 10 Home 64-bit 20H2 Avast Premier Security version 21.3.2459 (build 21.3.6164.652) UI version 1.0.612.

Offline Pondus

  • Probably Bot
  • ****
  • Posts: 37170
Re: Firewalls
« Reply #13 on: February 19, 2015, 09:53:43 PM »
Why You Don’t Need an Outbound Firewall On Your Laptop or Desktop PC
http://www.howtogeek.com/172349/why-you-dont-need-an-outbound-firewall-on-your-laptop-or-desktop-pc/

HTG Explains: I Have a Router, Do I Need a Firewall?
http://www.howtogeek.com/122065/htg-explains-i-have-a-router-do-i-need-a-firewall/

« Last Edit: February 19, 2015, 09:57:57 PM by Pondus »

Offline Eddy

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Maybe Bot
  • ***
  • Posts: 31301
  • Watching (over?) you
    • Malware removal, Biljart and other things.
Re: Firewalls
« Reply #14 on: February 19, 2015, 09:53:51 PM »
Many people are not aware that they already may have a hardware firewall which is much better than a software one.
Check your modem/router manual to see if it has a firewall or not.
If it has, login to the modem/router and make adjustments to the settings (if needed/wanted)
If you have a hardware firewall, there is no need to have a software one as well.

As I have said several times before on this webboard:
See the firewall as a doorman.
Put him outside and in front of the door and he will not let unwanted people in. (hardware firewall)
Put him inside and the unwated people are already in before he sees them. (software firewall)

And I am having a déjà vu with this thread...