Author Topic: Setup Not Working  (Read 5698 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

hns

  • Guest
Setup Not Working
« on: November 04, 2003, 03:56:18 AM »
Hello,

I am installing Avast Home on a ThinkPad 240 running Win98.

Setup starts but hangs never finishing the process.

I can see setup in task manager.

Any thoughts?

Thanks.

HNS

Offline Lisandro

  • Avast team
  • Certainly Bot
  • *
  • Posts: 67236
Re:Setup Not Working
« Reply #1 on: November 04, 2003, 12:59:06 PM »
Hello,

I am installing Avast Home on a ThinkPad 240 running Win98.
Setup starts but hangs never finishing the process.
I can see setup in task manager.
Any thoughts?
Thanks.
HNS

What version of avast! do you want to installed?
What language of avast! are you using? Just English?
And also, do you use any proxy filter, firewall or any spyware block application?
Do you have any other antivirus application installed right now in your system?

Any error window or pop up appeared when setup failed?
The best things in life are free.

hns

  • Guest
Re:Setup Not Working
« Reply #2 on: November 04, 2003, 02:51:25 PM »
Hi,

Latest version of Avast 4 Home.

Just English to be installed.

SpyBot installed.  No firewall or proxy filter.

No other AV software installed.

I get this message:  "error82 (00000052) has occured. Last performed operation was: extracting main.exe"

Thanks.

hns
« Last Edit: November 04, 2003, 03:07:53 PM by hns »

Offline Vlk

  • Avast CEO
  • Serious Graphoman
  • *
  • Posts: 11664
  • Please don't send me IM's. Email only. Thx.
    • ALWIL Software
Re:Setup Not Working
« Reply #3 on: November 04, 2003, 04:31:46 PM »
Do you have enough space in your temporary directory?
Is the temporary directory set at all?
If at first you don't succeed, then skydiving's not for you.

hns

  • Guest
Re:Setup Not Working
« Reply #4 on: November 04, 2003, 05:00:45 PM »
Hi,

Temp directory was set to C:\Temp.

Changed to D:\Temp and the install worked.

Had about 995 MB of space on the C: drive.

Thanks!

HNS

Offline Vlk

  • Avast CEO
  • Serious Graphoman
  • *
  • Posts: 11664
  • Please don't send me IM's. Email only. Thx.
    • ALWIL Software
Re:Setup Not Working
« Reply #5 on: November 04, 2003, 05:36:47 PM »
Strange indeed. What does the C:\TEMP directory look like -- is it like full of subdirectories and other files...?
If at first you don't succeed, then skydiving's not for you.

Offline Lisandro

  • Avast team
  • Certainly Bot
  • *
  • Posts: 67236
Re:Setup Not Working
« Reply #6 on: November 05, 2003, 03:11:51 AM »
Cleaning the temp folder as Vlk said...
I guess if this is not a problem with the downloaded file (setup)...
The best things in life are free.

kubecj

  • Guest
Re:Setup Not Working
« Reply #7 on: November 06, 2003, 12:59:07 AM »
The setup file should be okay. Broken file recognizes it very soon.

This error should happen only on two occassions:
a) Self-extract stub can't create the file at all.
b) It can create, but can't write to it.

Everything points to messy temp, low disk space or some strange write-protection(?)


Offline Lisandro

  • Avast team
  • Certainly Bot
  • *
  • Posts: 67236
Re:Setup Not Working
« Reply #8 on: November 06, 2003, 01:26:55 AM »
Now I suggest a full scandisk (better bootting from DOS)!  ;)
The best things in life are free.