Author Topic: cpu utilisation while using thunderbird 1.0.7  (Read 8875 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

zivilist

  • Guest
cpu utilisation while using thunderbird 1.0.7
« on: September 30, 2005, 11:07:34 PM »
Hello,

while sending a message through thunderbird the cpu utilisation increased from 40%
When receiving a message and look in this mail for the first time the cpu goes to 100% (sometimes "only 70 %")

If I disable avast completely no problem.

With activated avast I disable the outlook provider (I try to switch to thunderbird) although the problem exists.

I'm using windows xp sp2

How can I install the thunderbird provider? If I "change" the installed program I can see only "The Bat!" as an extra provider (can't select bacause its not installed).

thanks
« Last Edit: September 30, 2005, 11:26:39 PM by zivilist »

Offline Lisandro

  • Avast team
  • Certainly Bot
  • *
  • Posts: 67236
Re: cpu utilisation while using thunderbird 1.0.7
« Reply #1 on: September 30, 2005, 11:36:07 PM »
while sending a message through thunderbird the cpu utilisation increased from 40%
When receiving a message and look in this mail for the first time the cpu goes to 100% (sometimes "only 70 %")
How long does it take? avast! tries to scan as fast as it can and then release the computer to other applications running.

With activated avast I disable the outlook provider (I try to switch to thunderbird) although the problem exists.
MS Outlook plugin just scans MS Outlook (not the Express).

How can I install the thunderbird provider? If I "change" the installed program I can see only "The Bat!" as an extra provider (can't select bacause its not installed).
The provider for TB is the Internet Mail provider.  8)
The best things in life are free.

zivilist

  • Guest
Re: cpu utilisation while using thunderbird 1.0.7
« Reply #2 on: October 01, 2005, 12:05:29 AM »
So I completely remove the provider: nothing.

Quote
How long does it take? avast! tries to scan as fast as it can and then release the computer to other applications running.

approximate 2-3 seconds. If I recording some TV shows (with hardware encoder) the tv application hangs awhile.  :(
Changing the efficiency factor from high to normal with no effect.

Offline Lisandro

  • Avast team
  • Certainly Bot
  • *
  • Posts: 67236
Re: cpu utilisation while using thunderbird 1.0.7
« Reply #3 on: October 01, 2005, 01:28:44 AM »
So I completely remove the provider: nothing.
Which one?

approximate 2-3 seconds. If I recording some TV shows (with hardware encoder) the tv application hangs awhile.  :(
Changing the efficiency factor from high to normal with no effect.
In fact 2-3 seconds is not that much but...
Maybe someone from Alwil could say something...
The best things in life are free.

zivilist

  • Guest
Re: cpu utilisation while using thunderbird 1.0.7
« Reply #4 on: October 01, 2005, 02:07:57 PM »
2-3 seconds for a plain text email? It's ok but the cpu utilisation it's not.

Offline Lisandro

  • Avast team
  • Certainly Bot
  • *
  • Posts: 67236
Re: cpu utilisation while using thunderbird 1.0.7
« Reply #5 on: October 01, 2005, 02:12:57 PM »
Maybe you can add the following line to the [MailScanner] section of <avast>\data\avast4.ini:

Log=20

Then generate some traffic, simulate the problem (i.e. force the avast mail scanner to time out by sending an email with attachment) and then post here the contents of the file <avast>\data\log\aswMaiSv.log

Details: http://forum.avast.com/index.php?topic=12234.msg103474#msg103474
The best things in life are free.


Offline Lisandro

  • Avast team
  • Certainly Bot
  • *
  • Posts: 67236
Re: cpu utilisation while using thunderbird 1.0.7
« Reply #7 on: October 01, 2005, 04:58:45 PM »
Zivilist, although I've asked the logs I can't analyse them as I'm not the guy for that. Sorry.
I've asked for superior help. Maybe Vojtech. Maybe on Monday  8)
The best things in life are free.

Offline vojtech

  • Avast team
  • Advanced Poster
  • *
  • Posts: 939
    • ALWIL Software
Re: cpu utilisation while using thunderbird 1.0.7
« Reply #8 on: October 03, 2005, 11:26:16 AM »
Which particular resident provider needs to be stopped to avoid the problem ?

zivilist

  • Guest
Re: cpu utilisation while using thunderbird 1.0.7
« Reply #9 on: October 03, 2005, 12:02:47 PM »
I must disable the "Standard Shield".
With enabled "Internet Mail" and disabled "Standard Shield" it seems working fine (shows scanned email in Internet Mail) but I need the standard shield.

The CPU utilisation is also high when deleting a mail from thunderbird (with enabled Standard Shield).
« Last Edit: October 03, 2005, 12:19:25 PM by zivilist »

Offline vojtech

  • Avast team
  • Advanced Poster
  • *
  • Posts: 939
    • ALWIL Software
Re: cpu utilisation while using thunderbird 1.0.7
« Reply #10 on: October 03, 2005, 12:30:41 PM »
It's similar to this: http://forum.avast.com/index.php?topic=16272.0
Try compacting (emptying) mail folders in TB, or putting TB directory (containing mailboxes) to Standard Shield exclusions.

zivilist

  • Guest
Re: cpu utilisation while using thunderbird 1.0.7
« Reply #11 on: October 03, 2005, 05:59:04 PM »
Does anybody working on a fix (not workaround)?
Can I help you providing some another logs?

Exclusion entry: C:\Documents and Settings\<username>\Application Data\Thunderbird\*
works
« Last Edit: October 03, 2005, 08:36:06 PM by zivilist »

Offline alanrf

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Massive Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 3866
  • Just an avast user
Re: cpu utilisation while using thunderbird 1.0.7
« Reply #12 on: October 03, 2005, 09:35:11 PM »
Sounds like you are allowing the size of your Thunderbird folders get too large.  Have you looked at the folder sizes, especially for the trash folder(s)?

zivilist

  • Guest
Re: cpu utilisation while using thunderbird 1.0.7
« Reply #13 on: October 03, 2005, 09:51:35 PM »
Trash is always very small. Each folder consists of 5-900 mails. Where is the problem?
With outlook there are no limitations of mail folder (and size).

Offline Lisandro

  • Avast team
  • Certainly Bot
  • *
  • Posts: 67236
Re: cpu utilisation while using thunderbird 1.0.7
« Reply #14 on: October 03, 2005, 11:36:23 PM »
2-3 seconds for a plain text email? It's ok but the cpu utilisation it's not.
Where do you keep the 5 to 900 emails, in the inbox?
If so, I won't be surprised about 2-3 minutes but I almost can't believe it take so few time...
The best things in life are free.