Author Topic: NEW Version: Avast Antivirus 2015 R2 (2015.10.2.2214)  (Read 86036 times)

0 Members and 2 Guests are viewing this topic.

Offline abruptum

  • Super Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 1870
Re: NEW Version: Avast Antivirus 2015 R2 (2015.10.2.2214)
« Reply #30 on: March 03, 2015, 12:29:39 AM »
Can you link me to the full uninstaller and instructions?
Did a full uninstall and a clean install and still have two AvastUI.exe running.  Are we sure this isn't normal?
I believe Lukor said that it is normal.I also have two AvastUI.exe in Task Manager.

@Dumi86
Thanks for Full Installer links.



Offline bob3160

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Probably Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 40990
  • 59 Years of Happiness
    • bob3160 Protecting Yourself, Your Computer and, Your Identity
Re: NEW Version: Avast Antivirus 2015 R2 (2015.10.2.2214)
« Reply #31 on: March 03, 2015, 12:31:35 AM »
Can you link me to the full uninstaller and instructions?
Did a full uninstall and a clean install and still have two AvastUI.exe running.  Are we sure this isn't normal?
Free avast! Security Seminar: https://goo.gl/kh3cqR  -  Important: http://www.organdonor.gov/ -- My Web Site: http://bob3160.strikingly.com/ - Win 10 Pro v1903 64bit, 8 Gig Ram, AvastFree 19.5.2378, How to Successfully Install Avast http://goo.gl/VLXdeRepair & Clean Install https://goo.gl/t7aJGq

Offline abruptum

  • Super Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 1870
Re: NEW Version: Avast Antivirus 2015 R2 (2015.10.2.2214)
« Reply #32 on: March 03, 2015, 12:31:55 AM »
Mine is showing the correct version number installed (2015.10.2.2214) but Avast central seems to be telling it that 2015.10.0.2214 is available and that I should update. As Dprout69 has said, it's probably just a case of waiting for Avast to broadcast the correct version number.

Same here.

Offline EmoHobo

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 327
Re: NEW Version: Avast Antivirus 2015 R2 (2015.10.2.2214)
« Reply #33 on: March 03, 2015, 12:33:15 AM »
So why is there suddenly two instances of AvastUI running?  Can I disable the other one?

Offline EmoHobo

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 327
Re: NEW Version: Avast Antivirus 2015 R2 (2015.10.2.2214)
« Reply #34 on: March 03, 2015, 12:34:35 AM »
Can you link me to the full uninstaller and instructions?
Did a full uninstall and a clean install and still have two AvastUI.exe running.  Are we sure this isn't normal?
I believe Lukor said that it is normal.I also have two AvastUI.exe in Task Manager.

@Dumi86
Thanks for Full Installer links.
Can you link me to where he said this?  I can't find it.

Offline Rednose

  • Pirate Party Member
  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Massive Poster
  • *****
  • Posts: 3624
  • Bits of Freedom : https://www.bof.nl
    • Nederlandstalig Avast! forum
Re: NEW Version: Avast Antivirus 2015 R2 (2015.10.2.2214)
« Reply #35 on: March 03, 2015, 12:38:25 AM »
Can you link me to the full uninstaller and instructions?
Did a full uninstall and a clean install and still have two AvastUI.exe running.  Are we sure this isn't normal?
I believe Lukor said that it is normal.I also have two AvastUI.exe in Task Manager.

@Dumi86
Thanks for Full Installer links.
Can you link me to where he said this?  I can't find it.

https://forum.avast.com/index.php?topic=166172.msg1184502#msg1184502

Greetz, Red.
OS: Win 7 x64 SP1 / Ubuntu / Qubes OS / iOS
Real Time: Avast Premier Beta + AMS for iOS Beta WinPatrol Plus Unchecky MCShield  HOSTS File: MVPS + MDL
On Demand: MBAM SUMo
Backup: Win 7 Image
Proxy: ASL VPN's Socks 5 Tor

Offline pk

  • Avast team
  • Super Poster
  • *
  • Posts: 2081
Re: NEW Version: Avast Antivirus 2015 R2 (2015.10.2.2214)
« Reply #36 on: March 03, 2015, 12:38:48 AM »
The first AvastUI.exe instance is main GUI application, the second instance is for displaying web-content inside GUI (main page) or for popups with web content.

Offline EmoHobo

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 327
Re: NEW Version: Avast Antivirus 2015 R2 (2015.10.2.2214)
« Reply #37 on: March 03, 2015, 12:41:29 AM »
Thanks everyone, is there any way to make it one instance again?  It's not a huge deal if not, I'm assuming it's not using any more resources then it used to and it's just another instance splintered off to prevent crashing or such things.  Steam recently did something similar.

I just don't like the idea of "Poups with web content." sounds like a way to allow some obtrusive advertising.

Offline abruptum

  • Super Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 1870
Re: NEW Version: Avast Antivirus 2015 R2 (2015.10.2.2214)
« Reply #38 on: March 03, 2015, 12:45:11 AM »
This is from MyAvast account :

  http://oi59.tinypic.com/2wcegdx.jpg

Why there is red X next to Program Version ?

Offline DavidR

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 81620
  • No support PMs thanks
Re: NEW Version: Avast Antivirus 2015 R2 (2015.10.2.2214)
« Reply #39 on: March 03, 2015, 12:50:21 AM »
Thanks everyone, is there any way to make it one instance again?  It's not a huge deal if not, I'm assuming it's not using any more resources then it used to and it's just another instance splintered off to prevent crashing or such things.  Steam recently did something similar.

I just don't like the idea of "Poups with web content." sounds like a way to allow some obtrusive advertising.

When you click on the Account tab within the avastUI you get another window open - this is for your my.avast.com information.

So I can't see you being able to just run one instance and how would you know which instance was doing what to be able to try and stop it. Not to mention the avast self-defence module would most likely object.

The same is true of other instances when you get another window being opened by the avastUI.
WinXP ProSP3/ Core2Duo E8300/ 4GB Ram/ avast! free 18.5.2342/ Firefox ESR, uBlock Origin, uMatrix/ MailWasher Pro7.11.0/ DropMyRights/ WinPatrol+/ Drive Image 7.1/ SnagIt 10.0/ avast! mobile security
Windows 10 Home 64bit/ Acer Aspire F15/ Intel Core i5 7200U 2.5GHz, 8GB DDR4 memory, 256GB SSD, 1TB HDD/ avast! free 19.6.2383 (build: 19.6.4546.508)/ WinPatrol+/ Firefox, uBlock Origin, uMatrix/ MailWasher Pro7.11.0/ WinPatrol+/

Offline DavidR

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 81620
  • No support PMs thanks
Re: NEW Version: Avast Antivirus 2015 R2 (2015.10.2.2214)
« Reply #40 on: March 03, 2015, 12:56:35 AM »
This is from MyAvast account :
  http://oi59.tinypic.com/2wcegdx.jpg
Why there is red X next to Program Version ?

Have you rebooted yet ?
WinXP ProSP3/ Core2Duo E8300/ 4GB Ram/ avast! free 18.5.2342/ Firefox ESR, uBlock Origin, uMatrix/ MailWasher Pro7.11.0/ DropMyRights/ WinPatrol+/ Drive Image 7.1/ SnagIt 10.0/ avast! mobile security
Windows 10 Home 64bit/ Acer Aspire F15/ Intel Core i5 7200U 2.5GHz, 8GB DDR4 memory, 256GB SSD, 1TB HDD/ avast! free 19.6.2383 (build: 19.6.4546.508)/ WinPatrol+/ Firefox, uBlock Origin, uMatrix/ MailWasher Pro7.11.0/ WinPatrol+/

Offline EmoHobo

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 327
Re: NEW Version: Avast Antivirus 2015 R2 (2015.10.2.2214)
« Reply #41 on: March 03, 2015, 01:02:39 AM »
Thanks everyone, is there any way to make it one instance again?  It's not a huge deal if not, I'm assuming it's not using any more resources then it used to and it's just another instance splintered off to prevent crashing or such things.  Steam recently did something similar.

I just don't like the idea of "Poups with web content." sounds like a way to allow some obtrusive advertising.

When you click on the Account tab within the avastUI you get another window open - this is for your my.avast.com information.

So I can't see you being able to just run one instance and how would you know which instance was doing what to be able to try and stop it. Not to mention the avast self-defence module would most likely object.

The same is true of other instances when you get another window being opened by the avastUI.
So two should be running at all times however if you go to the Account area a third one starts, is this correct?

Offline abruptum

  • Super Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 1870
Re: NEW Version: Avast Antivirus 2015 R2 (2015.10.2.2214)
« Reply #42 on: March 03, 2015, 01:06:32 AM »
This is from MyAvast account :
  http://oi59.tinypic.com/2wcegdx.jpg
Why there is red X next to Program Version ?

Have you rebooted yet ?
Twice.I guess it is because of this :

  http://oi60.tinypic.com/2mcivky.jpg

Offline DavidR

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 81620
  • No support PMs thanks
Re: NEW Version: Avast Antivirus 2015 R2 (2015.10.2.2214)
« Reply #43 on: March 03, 2015, 01:09:51 AM »
<snip quote>

When you click on the Account tab within the avastUI you get another window open - this is for your my.avast.com information.

So I can't see you being able to just run one instance and how would you know which instance was doing what to be able to try and stop it. Not to mention the avast self-defence module would most likely object.

The same is true of other instances when you get another window being opened by the avastUI.
So two should be running at all times however if you go to the Account area a third one starts, is this correct?

If you go to my.avast.com using your browser, no, there won't be another avastUI.exe as your browsing is handled by the main avast scanning function avastSvc.exe.

The two are running and as mentioned they handle different tasks if you want to go to your my.avast.com account from the avast GUI. When you click the Account tab in the GUI, the main GUI avastUI.exe would open another window - this is handled by the second instance. It doesn't open yet another one.
WinXP ProSP3/ Core2Duo E8300/ 4GB Ram/ avast! free 18.5.2342/ Firefox ESR, uBlock Origin, uMatrix/ MailWasher Pro7.11.0/ DropMyRights/ WinPatrol+/ Drive Image 7.1/ SnagIt 10.0/ avast! mobile security
Windows 10 Home 64bit/ Acer Aspire F15/ Intel Core i5 7200U 2.5GHz, 8GB DDR4 memory, 256GB SSD, 1TB HDD/ avast! free 19.6.2383 (build: 19.6.4546.508)/ WinPatrol+/ Firefox, uBlock Origin, uMatrix/ MailWasher Pro7.11.0/ WinPatrol+/

Offline DavidR

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 81620
  • No support PMs thanks
Re: NEW Version: Avast Antivirus 2015 R2 (2015.10.2.2214)
« Reply #44 on: March 03, 2015, 01:12:51 AM »
This is from MyAvast account :
  http://oi59.tinypic.com/2wcegdx.jpg
Why there is red X next to Program Version ?

Have you rebooted yet ?
Twice.I guess it is because of this :

  http://oi60.tinypic.com/2mcivky.jpg

I guess so (2015.10.0.2214) though I don't know how this might be corrected; possibly an avast repair to correct out of sync information.
WinXP ProSP3/ Core2Duo E8300/ 4GB Ram/ avast! free 18.5.2342/ Firefox ESR, uBlock Origin, uMatrix/ MailWasher Pro7.11.0/ DropMyRights/ WinPatrol+/ Drive Image 7.1/ SnagIt 10.0/ avast! mobile security
Windows 10 Home 64bit/ Acer Aspire F15/ Intel Core i5 7200U 2.5GHz, 8GB DDR4 memory, 256GB SSD, 1TB HDD/ avast! free 19.6.2383 (build: 19.6.4546.508)/ WinPatrol+/ Firefox, uBlock Origin, uMatrix/ MailWasher Pro7.11.0/ WinPatrol+/