Author Topic: How do I add Avast scan on the context / popup menu (Right-click menu)?  (Read 16669 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

REDACTED

  • Guest
So I recently just reinstalled Avast onto my laptop, and I've noticed that the Avast scan is no longer on the right click menu when selecting something to scan. How do I put it back on to the menu?

Offline Asyn

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 76029
    • >>>  Avast Forum - Deutschsprachiger Bereich  <<<
Repair Avast:
1. Control Panel -> Add/Remove programs -> Avast
2. Click on 'Repair'.
3. Follow instructions.
4. Reboot.
W8.1 [x64] - Avast Free AV 23.3.8047.BC [UI.757] - Firefox ESR 102.9 [NS/uBO/PB] - Thunderbird 102.9.1
Avast-Tools: Secure Browser 109.0 - Cleanup 23.1 - SecureLine 5.18 - DriverUpdater 23.1 - CCleaner 6.01
Avast Wissenswertes (Downloads, Anleitungen & Infos): https://forum.avast.com/index.php?topic=60523.0

REDACTED

  • Guest
Repair Avast:
1. Control Panel -> Add/Remove programs -> Avast
2. Click on 'Repair'.
3. Follow instructions.
4. Reboot.

Didn't work.

Offline Alikhan

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Super Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 2220
If the repair doesn't work, the clean install is the only option.

You need to perform a clean install:

Note: It's important you used the stub online installer from the one I linked.. NOT the offline one.

Note: You need to be ONLINE during this install (online installer works in all cases whereas offline sometimes doesn't)

1.Download your version of avast! and the avastclear tool:

Avast Free Antivirus
Avast Pro Antivirus
Avast Internet Security
Avast Premier

Download Avast Clear Tool

2. Uninstall Avast by control panel  [If you don't have Avast in control Panel go to #3]
3. Uninstall in safe mode using Avastclear. [Running Avastclear is normal mode will give a prompt to go into Safe Mode]
Check : Once uninstalled check in device manager>view>show hidden devices if there is anything related to avast with a yellow triangle.. if so, uninstall it and reboot.
5. Install the version you downloaded.
6. Reboot.

Free: If you have the Free version, register the product for free for a year from the avast! UI.
Paid: If you have a paid license, insert the license key/activation code after the reboot at stage 6.

If you have any questions, please don't hesitate to ask. It's better to ask than make a mistake and start over again with the process.
Windows 10 Home 64-bit • Avast Free (latest stable version) •  Malwarebytes 4 Premium (On-Demand) • Windows Firewall Control • Google Chrome • LastPass • CCleaner • O&O ShutUp10 •

REDACTED

  • Guest
If the repair doesn't work, the clean install is the only option.

You need to perform a clean install:

Note: It's important you used the stub online installer from the one I linked.. NOT the offline one.

Note: You need to be ONLINE during this install (online installer works in all cases whereas offline sometimes doesn't)

1.Download your version of avast! and the avastclear tool:

Avast Free Antivirus
Avast Pro Antivirus
Avast Internet Security
Avast Premier

Download Avast Clear Tool

2. Uninstall Avast by control panel  [If you don't have Avast in control Panel go to #3]
3. Uninstall in safe mode using Avastclear. [Running Avastclear is normal mode will give a prompt to go into Safe Mode]
Check : Once uninstalled check in device manager>view>show hidden devices if there is anything related to avast with a yellow triangle.. if so, uninstall it and reboot.
5. Install the version you downloaded.
6. Reboot.

Free: If you have the Free version, register the product for free for a year from the avast! UI.
Paid: If you have a paid license, insert the license key/activation code after the reboot at stage 6.

If you have any questions, please don't hesitate to ask. It's better to ask than make a mistake and start over again with the process.

That still didn't work.

Offline Alikhan

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Super Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 2220
If the repair doesn't work, the clean install is the only option.

You need to perform a clean install:

Note: It's important you used the stub online installer from the one I linked.. NOT the offline one.

Note: You need to be ONLINE during this install (online installer works in all cases whereas offline sometimes doesn't)

1.Download your version of avast! and the avastclear tool:

Avast Free Antivirus
Avast Pro Antivirus
Avast Internet Security
Avast Premier

Download Avast Clear Tool

2. Uninstall Avast by control panel  [If you don't have Avast in control Panel go to #3]
3. Uninstall in safe mode using Avastclear. [Running Avastclear is normal mode will give a prompt to go into Safe Mode]
Check : Once uninstalled check in device manager>view>show hidden devices if there is anything related to avast with a yellow triangle.. if so, uninstall it and reboot.
5. Install the version you downloaded.
6. Reboot.

Free: If you have the Free version, register the product for free for a year from the avast! UI.
Paid: If you have a paid license, insert the license key/activation code after the reboot at stage 6.

If you have any questions, please don't hesitate to ask. It's better to ask than make a mistake and start over again with the process.

That still didn't work.


Odd. Did you import any avast config after the install?
Windows 10 Home 64-bit • Avast Free (latest stable version) •  Malwarebytes 4 Premium (On-Demand) • Windows Firewall Control • Google Chrome • LastPass • CCleaner • O&O ShutUp10 •

REDACTED

  • Guest
If the repair doesn't work, the clean install is the only option.

You need to perform a clean install:

Note: It's important you used the stub online installer from the one I linked.. NOT the offline one.

Note: You need to be ONLINE during this install (online installer works in all cases whereas offline sometimes doesn't)

1.Download your version of avast! and the avastclear tool:

Avast Free Antivirus
Avast Pro Antivirus
Avast Internet Security
Avast Premier

Download Avast Clear Tool

2. Uninstall Avast by control panel  [If you don't have Avast in control Panel go to #3]
3. Uninstall in safe mode using Avastclear. [Running Avastclear is normal mode will give a prompt to go into Safe Mode]
Check : Once uninstalled check in device manager>view>show hidden devices if there is anything related to avast with a yellow triangle.. if so, uninstall it and reboot.
5. Install the version you downloaded.
6. Reboot.

Free: If you have the Free version, register the product for free for a year from the avast! UI.
Paid: If you have a paid license, insert the license key/activation code after the reboot at stage 6.

If you have any questions, please don't hesitate to ask. It's better to ask than make a mistake and start over again with the process.

That still didn't work.


Odd. Did you import any avast config after the install?

Not that I know of. I followed your instructions to the word.

Offline Alikhan

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Super Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 2220
I don't think you imported any custom settings then since it wasn't mentioned above.

avast! UI > Settings > General > Special Scans

Is Explorer scan listed there?

Click settings and ensure scan all files is checked?
Windows 10 Home 64-bit • Avast Free (latest stable version) •  Malwarebytes 4 Premium (On-Demand) • Windows Firewall Control • Google Chrome • LastPass • CCleaner • O&O ShutUp10 •

Offline lakrsrool

  • Advanced Poster
  • **
  • Posts: 711
  • Get the Picture !
When you posted quote: "I've noticed that the Avast scan is no longer on the right click menu when selecting something to scan", what you're right/clicking on to get the context menu for either files or folders would apply to your respective "File Manager" function for your OS.   

In the case of Windows it is either "Windows Explorer" unless your OS is WIN8 in which case it is called "File Explorer", in any case whatever the "File Manager" is called this is what your using to right/click on either the files and or folders listed in the "File Manager", RIGHT?

Because outside of the OS's "File Manager" there are some places the right/click context menu does not apply to the Avast scanner.
Processor: i3 2.53 GHz 4 GIG RAM, OS: WIN 7, Connection: High Speed, Virus/Malware Protection: Avast-2015, SpywareBlaster, Windows Firewall & Defender. Email: Outlook 2010 w/ POP Peeper Email Notifiers.

REDACTED

  • Guest
I don't think you imported any custom settings then since it wasn't mentioned above.

avast! UI > Settings > General > Special Scans

Is Explorer scan listed there?

Click settings and ensure scan all files is checked?

It is checked. So what's the problem?

When you posted quote: "I've noticed that the Avast scan is no longer on the right click menu when selecting something to scan", what you're right/clicking on to get the context menu for either files or folders would apply to your respective "File Manager" function for your OS.   

In the case of Windows it is either "Windows Explorer" unless your OS is WIN8 in which case it is called "File Explorer", in any case whatever the "File Manager" is called this is what your using to right/click on either the files and or folders listed in the "File Manager", RIGHT?

Because outside of the OS's "File Manager" there are some places the right/click context menu does not apply to the Avast scanner.

That is correct. Also the files I'm trying to scan are in either the "Downloads" folder or the "Documents" folder.

Offline Alikhan

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Super Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 2220
Re: How do I add Avast scan on the context / popup menu (Right-click menu)?
« Reply #10 on: March 21, 2015, 11:25:01 PM »
I don't think you imported any custom settings then since it wasn't mentioned above.

avast! UI > Settings > General > Special Scans

Is Explorer scan listed there?

Click settings and ensure scan all files is checked?

It is checked. So what's the problem?

When you posted quote: "I've noticed that the Avast scan is no longer on the right click menu when selecting something to scan", what you're right/clicking on to get the context menu for either files or folders would apply to your respective "File Manager" function for your OS.   

In the case of Windows it is either "Windows Explorer" unless your OS is WIN8 in which case it is called "File Explorer", in any case whatever the "File Manager" is called this is what your using to right/click on either the files and or folders listed in the "File Manager", RIGHT?

Because outside of the OS's "File Manager" there are some places the right/click context menu does not apply to the Avast scanner.

That is correct. Also the files I'm trying to scan are in either the "Downloads" folder or the "Documents" folder.

Jamie, I'm going to get some attention to your thread from a malware analyst.

They can dig deeper than me as I don't see any issues.
Windows 10 Home 64-bit • Avast Free (latest stable version) •  Malwarebytes 4 Premium (On-Demand) • Windows Firewall Control • Google Chrome • LastPass • CCleaner • O&O ShutUp10 •

REDACTED

  • Guest
Re: How do I add Avast scan on the context / popup menu (Right-click menu)?
« Reply #11 on: March 21, 2015, 11:30:13 PM »
I don't think you imported any custom settings then since it wasn't mentioned above.

avast! UI > Settings > General > Special Scans

Is Explorer scan listed there?

Click settings and ensure scan all files is checked?

It is checked. So what's the problem?

When you posted quote: "I've noticed that the Avast scan is no longer on the right click menu when selecting something to scan", what you're right/clicking on to get the context menu for either files or folders would apply to your respective "File Manager" function for your OS.   

In the case of Windows it is either "Windows Explorer" unless your OS is WIN8 in which case it is called "File Explorer", in any case whatever the "File Manager" is called this is what your using to right/click on either the files and or folders listed in the "File Manager", RIGHT?

Because outside of the OS's "File Manager" there are some places the right/click context menu does not apply to the Avast scanner.

That is correct. Also the files I'm trying to scan are in either the "Downloads" folder or the "Documents" folder.

Jamie, I'm going to get some attention to your thread from a malware analyst.

They can dig deeper than me as I don't see any issues.

It can't be Malware so soon though because I have Malwarebytes installed and it was only yesterday that I did a factory reset on my computer.

Offline Alikhan

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Super Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 2220
Re: How do I add Avast scan on the context / popup menu (Right-click menu)?
« Reply #12 on: March 21, 2015, 11:33:39 PM »
Well, he'll analyse the system if there are any conflicts with avast etc. Doesn't need to be an issue with malware. He'll reply to the thread when he's online.
Windows 10 Home 64-bit • Avast Free (latest stable version) •  Malwarebytes 4 Premium (On-Demand) • Windows Firewall Control • Google Chrome • LastPass • CCleaner • O&O ShutUp10 •

REDACTED

  • Guest
Re: How do I add Avast scan on the context / popup menu (Right-click menu)?
« Reply #13 on: March 21, 2015, 11:35:52 PM »
Well, he'll analyse the system if there are any conflicts with avast etc. Doesn't need to be an issue with malware. He'll reply to the thread when he's online.

How will he analyse my computer? Will he connect to it via online connection?

Offline Alikhan

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Super Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 2220
Re: How do I add Avast scan on the context / popup menu (Right-click menu)?
« Reply #14 on: March 21, 2015, 11:38:19 PM »
Well, he'll analyse the system if there are any conflicts with avast etc. Doesn't need to be an issue with malware. He'll reply to the thread when he's online.

How will he analyse my computer? Will he connect to it via online connection?

He'll request logs from software. It's up to you if you want to do it or not. There won't be any private information in logs etc.
Windows 10 Home 64-bit • Avast Free (latest stable version) •  Malwarebytes 4 Premium (On-Demand) • Windows Firewall Control • Google Chrome • LastPass • CCleaner • O&O ShutUp10 •