Author Topic: AVAST 2015 R2 SP2 beta  (Read 35711 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Secondmineboy

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Massive Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 3651
Re: AVAST 2015 R2 SP2 beta
« Reply #15 on: April 16, 2015, 04:00:32 PM »
Any further news on the promised Right Click Icon enhancements ???


That update will come with R3, this is just R2 SP2 :)
Windows 10 1909, 4 GB DDR3 RAM, 500 GB 5400 RPM HDD, 1366 by 768 LCD Screen, Intel Core i3 5010U Dual Core, Intel HD Graphics 5500
HUAWEI P30 Pro. Android 10

Offline bob3160

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Probably Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 43710
  • 60 Years of Happiness
    • bob3160 Protecting Yourself, Your Computer and, Your Identity
Re: AVAST 2015 R2 SP2 beta
« Reply #16 on: April 16, 2015, 04:04:01 PM »
Unless you're doing a clean install, you never get to see this:
Free avast! Security Seminar: http://bit.ly/2N1eaR2  -  Important: http://www.organdonor.gov/ -- My Web Site: http://bob3160.strikingly.com/ - Win 10 Pro v1909 64bit, 24 Gig Ram, 1TB SSD, AvastOmni 20.3.xxx, How to Successfully Install Avast http://goo.gl/VLXdeRepair & Clean Install https://goo.gl/t7aJGq

Offline bob3160

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Probably Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 43710
  • 60 Years of Happiness
    • bob3160 Protecting Yourself, Your Computer and, Your Identity
Re: AVAST 2015 R2 SP2 beta
« Reply #17 on: April 16, 2015, 04:04:58 PM »
Disk Load problem still not solved ???
Free avast! Security Seminar: http://bit.ly/2N1eaR2  -  Important: http://www.organdonor.gov/ -- My Web Site: http://bob3160.strikingly.com/ - Win 10 Pro v1909 64bit, 24 Gig Ram, 1TB SSD, AvastOmni 20.3.xxx, How to Successfully Install Avast http://goo.gl/VLXdeRepair & Clean Install https://goo.gl/t7aJGq

Offline bob3160

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Probably Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 43710
  • 60 Years of Happiness
    • bob3160 Protecting Yourself, Your Computer and, Your Identity
Re: AVAST 2015 R2 SP2 beta
« Reply #18 on: April 16, 2015, 04:05:37 PM »
Remote Control still not possible without giving approval on the remote device.
Free avast! Security Seminar: http://bit.ly/2N1eaR2  -  Important: http://www.organdonor.gov/ -- My Web Site: http://bob3160.strikingly.com/ - Win 10 Pro v1909 64bit, 24 Gig Ram, 1TB SSD, AvastOmni 20.3.xxx, How to Successfully Install Avast http://goo.gl/VLXdeRepair & Clean Install https://goo.gl/t7aJGq

Offline bob3160

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Probably Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 43710
  • 60 Years of Happiness
    • bob3160 Protecting Yourself, Your Computer and, Your Identity
Re: AVAST 2015 R2 SP2 beta
« Reply #19 on: April 16, 2015, 04:12:39 PM »
Disk Load problem still not solved ???


The following still seems to work in quieting disk activity:
https://forum.avast.com/index.php?topic=19387.msg1202686#msg1202686




Free avast! Security Seminar: http://bit.ly/2N1eaR2  -  Important: http://www.organdonor.gov/ -- My Web Site: http://bob3160.strikingly.com/ - Win 10 Pro v1909 64bit, 24 Gig Ram, 1TB SSD, AvastOmni 20.3.xxx, How to Successfully Install Avast http://goo.gl/VLXdeRepair & Clean Install https://goo.gl/t7aJGq

Offline Vladimyr

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Super Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 1640
  • Super(massive black hole) Poster
Re: AVAST 2015 R2 SP2 beta
« Reply #20 on: April 16, 2015, 04:17:48 PM »

I only noticed this because I use I use WinPrivacy Plus
Not a good thing.

To the side-issue first. Good to find someone else using WinPrivacy Plus (I couldn't resist the pre-release lifetime license price).
There is a way that seems right to a man,
       but in the end it leads to death
.” - Proverbs 16:25

Offline Vladimyr

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Super Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 1640
  • Super(massive black hole) Poster
Re: AVAST 2015 R2 SP2 beta
« Reply #21 on: April 16, 2015, 04:24:28 PM »
Unless you're doing a clean install, you never get to see this:


Lately, nearly every Avast user I know - including me - has had issues with or after updating Avast versions within the GUI. Now I'm just not routinely updating Avast on machines I depend on, which in theory is potentially counter-productive but in practice, every time I update I waste heaps of time going back.
There is a way that seems right to a man,
       but in the end it leads to death
.” - Proverbs 16:25

Offline bob3160

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Probably Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 43710
  • 60 Years of Happiness
    • bob3160 Protecting Yourself, Your Computer and, Your Identity
Re: AVAST 2015 R2 SP2 beta
« Reply #22 on: April 16, 2015, 04:37:53 PM »
Unless you're doing a clean install, you never get to see this:


Lately, nearly every Avast user I know - including me - has had issues with or after updating Avast versions within the GUI. Now I'm just not routinely updating Avast on machines I depend on, which in theory is potentially counter-productive but in practice, every time I update I waste heaps of time going back.
I had no problems updating. The reason for a clean install was the inability to uncheck Skype by simply updating to this beta.
Free avast! Security Seminar: http://bit.ly/2N1eaR2  -  Important: http://www.organdonor.gov/ -- My Web Site: http://bob3160.strikingly.com/ - Win 10 Pro v1909 64bit, 24 Gig Ram, 1TB SSD, AvastOmni 20.3.xxx, How to Successfully Install Avast http://goo.gl/VLXdeRepair & Clean Install https://goo.gl/t7aJGq

Offline DavidR

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 83337
  • No support PMs thanks
Re: AVAST 2015 R2 SP2 beta
« Reply #23 on: April 16, 2015, 04:41:29 PM »
I did an update from the UI of and I didn't get Skype and would have been well pi**ed if I did. If I ever wanted Skype then it would already have been installed.

I did get the usual Screen with the Google Chrome cr4p after install and restart, which I again declined.

When are avast going to honour the fact that I have declined Chrome on every install since the ark and continue to pre-check it on program updates, when it wasn't on the previous program updates.

If you are going to offer Skype here would be a place to confirm, so you get the chance to opt-out if you have done a program update an not a custom install.
WinXP ProSP3/ Core2Duo E8300/ 4GB Ram/ avast! free 18.5.2342/ Firefox ESR, uBlock Origin, uMatrix/ MailWasher Pro7.11.0/ DropMyRights/ WinPatrol+/ Drive Image 7.1/ SnagIt 10.0/ avast! mobile security
Windows 10 Home 1909 64bit/ Acer Aspire F15/ Intel Core i5 7200U 2.5GHz, 8GB DDR4 memory, 256GB SSD, 1TB HDD/ avast! free 20.5.2415 (build 20.5.5410.561) UI-1.0.532/ WinPatrol+/ Firefox, uBlock Origin, uMatrix/ MailWasher Pro

Offline Rednose

  • Pirate Party Member
  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Massive Poster
  • *****
  • Posts: 3624
  • Bits of Freedom : https://www.bof.nl
    • Nederlandstalig Avast! forum
Re: AVAST 2015 R2 SP2 beta
« Reply #24 on: April 16, 2015, 04:44:49 PM »
Bob,

So you updated from the GUI ( Beta channel ) first ?

Greetz, Red.
OS: Win 7 x64 SP1 / Ubuntu / Qubes OS / iOS
Real Time: Avast Premier Beta + AMS for iOS Beta WinPatrol Plus Unchecky MCShield  HOSTS File: MVPS + MDL
On Demand: MBAM SUMo
Backup: Win 7 Image
Proxy: ASL VPN's Socks 5 Tor

Offline Vladimyr

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Super Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 1640
  • Super(massive black hole) Poster
Re: AVAST 2015 R2 SP2 beta
« Reply #25 on: April 16, 2015, 04:57:27 PM »
Bob,

So you updated from the GUI ( Beta channel ) first ?

Greetz, Red.

That's what I presumed Bob did. "Duke" (the WinPrivacy hound) alerted him and allowed him to block the installer.
There is a way that seems right to a man,
       but in the end it leads to death
.” - Proverbs 16:25

Offline bob3160

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Probably Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 43710
  • 60 Years of Happiness
    • bob3160 Protecting Yourself, Your Computer and, Your Identity
Re: AVAST 2015 R2 SP2 beta
« Reply #26 on: April 16, 2015, 06:25:11 PM »
Red and Vladimyr,
You are both correct.
Since I didn't get a chance to choose or reject this option using a simple custom install over the existing version,
I decided to do a clean install to find out where this added install was hiding.  :(
Free avast! Security Seminar: http://bit.ly/2N1eaR2  -  Important: http://www.organdonor.gov/ -- My Web Site: http://bob3160.strikingly.com/ - Win 10 Pro v1909 64bit, 24 Gig Ram, 1TB SSD, AvastOmni 20.3.xxx, How to Successfully Install Avast http://goo.gl/VLXdeRepair & Clean Install https://goo.gl/t7aJGq

Offline priest_lucas

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 46
Re: AVAST 2015 R2 SP2 beta
« Reply #27 on: April 16, 2015, 06:37:35 PM »
For the past few years people have been writing on this forum that Chrome was being installed without giving them a chance to opt out, but other people just commented that this was not the case and the opt out option was missed on another screen that the user missed.

Now the same problem is being found with Skype.

Maybe the original complaints about Chrome were valid and should have been taken seriously as a bug or something with the install process?

Offline bob3160

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Probably Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 43710
  • 60 Years of Happiness
    • bob3160 Protecting Yourself, Your Computer and, Your Identity
Re: AVAST 2015 R2 SP2 beta
« Reply #28 on: April 16, 2015, 06:42:40 PM »
For the past few years people have been writing on this forum that Chrome was being installed without giving them a chance to opt out, but other people just commented that this was not the case and the opt out option was missed on another screen that the user missed.

Now the same problem is being found with Skype.

Maybe the original complaints about Chrome were valid and should have been taken seriously as a bug or something with the install process?
Since an install of Avast over an existing installation apparently doesn't show the initial installation screen,

An install over an existing version doesn't need to welcome you to Avast and,
your comment may well be true.
Free avast! Security Seminar: http://bit.ly/2N1eaR2  -  Important: http://www.organdonor.gov/ -- My Web Site: http://bob3160.strikingly.com/ - Win 10 Pro v1909 64bit, 24 Gig Ram, 1TB SSD, AvastOmni 20.3.xxx, How to Successfully Install Avast http://goo.gl/VLXdeRepair & Clean Install https://goo.gl/t7aJGq

Offline Chitoge

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 1
Re: AVAST 2015 R2 SP2 beta
« Reply #29 on: April 16, 2015, 07:11:19 PM »
Is it possible or not to install 2015.10.2.2216 without skype? I'm going to do clean install, but previous posts are frightening me.