Author Topic: comodo personal firewall  (Read 122253 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline szc

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Starting Graphoman
  • ***
  • Posts: 6957
Re: comodo personal firewall
« Reply #15 on: October 21, 2005, 05:18:26 PM »

Exactly, and even worse Kerio fails at that test too. So it tells us something new... Comodo Firewall didn't pass that test, but it can not be classified as worse than any other better known firewall out there. For sure it passes those tests better than ZA free.


What I said up there doesn't mean I said you or anyone else said Comodo is worse than any other firewall out there. I simply said, we can think of it as an equal runner in this "race". After all, this thread is called Comodo Personal Firewall... and I believe it is started to find out about that firewall little bit more. So, we did it. I am just happy to see that it can run shoulder to shoulder with other firewalls, that's all...

Cheers !
MB: GIGABYTE GA-Z77X-UD3H Intel 7 Series  - LGA1155, CPU: Intel Core i5-3570K - Quad Core, 3.40GHz (3.80GHz Max Turbo), CPU COOLER: Cooler Master Hyper 212 EVO Direct Heat Pipe R2, RAM: 16 GB Kingston HyperX Blu DDR3, VIDEO CARD: Galaxy GeForce GTX 560 Ti - 1GB, GDDR5, POWER SUPPLY: Corsair Enthusiast Series TX750 V2 - 750 Watts, HD: Seagate Barracuda - 2TB, 7200RPM, 64MB, SATA 6Gb/s

Offline Cloussau

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Advanced Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 897
  • AVAST! antivirus with balls
Re: comodo personal firewall
« Reply #16 on: October 22, 2005, 08:21:01 AM »
Hi ppls , I tried the breakout exe`s for both firefox (which is defalt) and for IE but again im not sure wether the lack of action after activating either was a success or a no result.  :-\ by the way all results so far have been using firefox. at least after  activating the IE breakout exe i got  the first image and the second is another snap of the VM usage which is significantly less with less programs open. Does that fit?
sys- p4  3.0D ,  1024mb ddram ;arsenal :Avast IS 5.0 pro / Firefox / adblock /noscript : win xp/pro/sp3 32 bit

Offline RNfromTN

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Advanced Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 670
  • surfin sandboxed
Re: comodo personal firewall
« Reply #17 on: October 23, 2005, 02:40:00 PM »
I hope Cloussau is still testing comodo.These alerts are generated from web surfing,(yahoo,dsl reports,avast forum,ect).I am behind nat router with stateful packet inspection,passes all online port scans that I've tried.Does anyone else with routers have log files with their software firewall simular to  this? I never have logs like this with ZA. Nothing unusual scanned by avast.
Sandboxie| IFW|Outpost firewall|Norton Ghost|Win XP,Vista,7
member since 2005| Linux Mint user

Offline szc

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Starting Graphoman
  • ***
  • Posts: 6957
Re: comodo personal firewall
« Reply #18 on: October 23, 2005, 02:49:16 PM »
And this looks really nice... really useful info over there, some detailed information.

You guys are doing great job, keep it up. Every single minute I'm thinking more and more to give it a go, and see how everything works on my spare machine.

Cheers !
MB: GIGABYTE GA-Z77X-UD3H Intel 7 Series  - LGA1155, CPU: Intel Core i5-3570K - Quad Core, 3.40GHz (3.80GHz Max Turbo), CPU COOLER: Cooler Master Hyper 212 EVO Direct Heat Pipe R2, RAM: 16 GB Kingston HyperX Blu DDR3, VIDEO CARD: Galaxy GeForce GTX 560 Ti - 1GB, GDDR5, POWER SUPPLY: Corsair Enthusiast Series TX750 V2 - 750 Watts, HD: Seagate Barracuda - 2TB, 7200RPM, 64MB, SATA 6Gb/s

Offline RNfromTN

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Advanced Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 670
  • surfin sandboxed
Re: comodo personal firewall
« Reply #19 on: October 23, 2005, 02:53:23 PM »
And this looks really nice... really useful info over there, some detailed information.

You guys are doing great job, keep it up. Every single minute I'm thinking more and more to give it a go, and see how everything works on my spare machine.

Cheers !
Makes me wonder if we're as safe as we think we are behind routers.
Sandboxie| IFW|Outpost firewall|Norton Ghost|Win XP,Vista,7
member since 2005| Linux Mint user

Offline szc

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Starting Graphoman
  • ***
  • Posts: 6957
Re: comodo personal firewall
« Reply #20 on: October 23, 2005, 03:00:21 PM »
Believe me, if properly set up, closed all those ports which needs to be closed, you don't have to worry that much... anyway, do you have any information in your computer which is unbelievable important that no one outside should see ? I don't think so, after all you are not an secret service or anything like that  ;D  ;D

If your answer is yes, then I wouldn't keep those information in there if I were you... all those information, data, and other stuff you should keep on some DVDs, CDs, or even spare hard drive.

People worry too much sometimes, so I would say, we are never 100% safe, but behind a hardware router/firewall and software one as well, you are pretty safe and you can sleep tight...

Cheers !

EDIT: Also you can help yourself as well... do not surf those suspicious sites with patchs, cracks, serials, XXX sites, casino sites... be careful whe using P2P programs, enable avast! P2P provider for the P2P client you use, etc...
« Last Edit: October 23, 2005, 03:03:41 PM by S.Z.Craftec »
MB: GIGABYTE GA-Z77X-UD3H Intel 7 Series  - LGA1155, CPU: Intel Core i5-3570K - Quad Core, 3.40GHz (3.80GHz Max Turbo), CPU COOLER: Cooler Master Hyper 212 EVO Direct Heat Pipe R2, RAM: 16 GB Kingston HyperX Blu DDR3, VIDEO CARD: Galaxy GeForce GTX 560 Ti - 1GB, GDDR5, POWER SUPPLY: Corsair Enthusiast Series TX750 V2 - 750 Watts, HD: Seagate Barracuda - 2TB, 7200RPM, 64MB, SATA 6Gb/s

Offline RNfromTN

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Advanced Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 670
  • surfin sandboxed
Re: comodo personal firewall
« Reply #21 on: October 23, 2005, 03:16:33 PM »
Hi s.z.craftec, I'm just a welder  :P and don't surf the suspicious sites.Just thought it interesting to see. Must be doing its job. A little off the topic,do you make avatars for forum members?
Sandboxie| IFW|Outpost firewall|Norton Ghost|Win XP,Vista,7
member since 2005| Linux Mint user

Offline szc

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Starting Graphoman
  • ***
  • Posts: 6957
Re: comodo personal firewall
« Reply #22 on: October 23, 2005, 03:25:47 PM »
Haha, nothig wron in being a welder my friend... I was one as well when I first came to this wonderful country... this country doesn't recognize our school diplomas from Europe, even if you were Einstein, haha... so in the beginning you have to work all kind of jobs. I was welder on three spot welder as well as doing some other general labour jobs.

No work is to be ashamed of, only if you can work, are able to work and you don't want to work...  ;)

Welders also tend to visit all kinds of sites my friend, so you still have to be very careful  ;D   ;D   ;D

Well, sometimes when I catch some free time, I make some avatars for my forum pals...

See here:  http://forum.avast.com/index.php?topic=8340.0

More than 200 avatars by now...  ;D
MB: GIGABYTE GA-Z77X-UD3H Intel 7 Series  - LGA1155, CPU: Intel Core i5-3570K - Quad Core, 3.40GHz (3.80GHz Max Turbo), CPU COOLER: Cooler Master Hyper 212 EVO Direct Heat Pipe R2, RAM: 16 GB Kingston HyperX Blu DDR3, VIDEO CARD: Galaxy GeForce GTX 560 Ti - 1GB, GDDR5, POWER SUPPLY: Corsair Enthusiast Series TX750 V2 - 750 Watts, HD: Seagate Barracuda - 2TB, 7200RPM, 64MB, SATA 6Gb/s

Offline RNfromTN

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Advanced Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 670
  • surfin sandboxed
Re: comodo personal firewall
« Reply #23 on: October 23, 2005, 03:38:05 PM »
Haha, nothig wron in being a welder my friend... I was one as well when I first came to this wonderful country... this country doesn't recognize our school diplomas from Europe, even if you were Einstein, haha... so in the beginning you have to work all kind of jobs. I was welder on three spot welder as well as doing some other general labour jobs.

No work is to be ashamed of, only if you can work, are able to work and you don't want to work...  ;)

Welders also tend to visit all kinds of sites my friend, so you still have to be very careful  ;D   ;D   ;D

Well, sometimes when I catch some free time, I make some avatars for my forum pals...

See here:  http://forum.avast.com/index.php?topic=8340.0

More than 200 avatars by now...  ;D
  I can weld the crack of dawn ;D but not a broken heart :'( if you get spare time and want to make a new avatar ,I love the three stooges ;D especially shemp.thanks tim
Sandboxie| IFW|Outpost firewall|Norton Ghost|Win XP,Vista,7
member since 2005| Linux Mint user

Offline szc

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Starting Graphoman
  • ***
  • Posts: 6957
Re: comodo personal firewall
« Reply #24 on: October 23, 2005, 04:33:52 PM »
Timcan, here it is:

http://forum.avast.com/index.php?topic=8340.msg145026#msg145026

Hope you'll like it...

Regards !
MB: GIGABYTE GA-Z77X-UD3H Intel 7 Series  - LGA1155, CPU: Intel Core i5-3570K - Quad Core, 3.40GHz (3.80GHz Max Turbo), CPU COOLER: Cooler Master Hyper 212 EVO Direct Heat Pipe R2, RAM: 16 GB Kingston HyperX Blu DDR3, VIDEO CARD: Galaxy GeForce GTX 560 Ti - 1GB, GDDR5, POWER SUPPLY: Corsair Enthusiast Series TX750 V2 - 750 Watts, HD: Seagate Barracuda - 2TB, 7200RPM, 64MB, SATA 6Gb/s

Offline RNfromTN

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Advanced Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 670
  • surfin sandboxed
Re: comodo personal firewall
« Reply #25 on: October 23, 2005, 07:40:07 PM »
Timcan, here it is:

http://forum.avast.com/index.php?topic=8340.msg145026#msg145026

Hope you'll like it...

Regards !
Like it? I love it! You were all over that one. :)Again thank you
Sandboxie| IFW|Outpost firewall|Norton Ghost|Win XP,Vista,7
member since 2005| Linux Mint user

Offline szc

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Starting Graphoman
  • ***
  • Posts: 6957
Re: comodo personal firewall
« Reply #26 on: October 23, 2005, 07:46:17 PM »
I am really happy to see you are being so grateful, but there is really no need to thank me my friend. I am happy if you like it, and my reward is to see you "wearing" it in this forum... you sure "welded" it nicely in your profile timcan, hehe  ;D  ;D
MB: GIGABYTE GA-Z77X-UD3H Intel 7 Series  - LGA1155, CPU: Intel Core i5-3570K - Quad Core, 3.40GHz (3.80GHz Max Turbo), CPU COOLER: Cooler Master Hyper 212 EVO Direct Heat Pipe R2, RAM: 16 GB Kingston HyperX Blu DDR3, VIDEO CARD: Galaxy GeForce GTX 560 Ti - 1GB, GDDR5, POWER SUPPLY: Corsair Enthusiast Series TX750 V2 - 750 Watts, HD: Seagate Barracuda - 2TB, 7200RPM, 64MB, SATA 6Gb/s

Offline Cloussau

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Advanced Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 897
  • AVAST! antivirus with balls
Re: comodo personal firewall
« Reply #27 on: October 23, 2005, 11:17:50 PM »
To be honest i havent paid much attention to the reporting side as yet.
 There is a nice feature that i hadnt revealed to anyone yet but as im at work it`ll have to wait.
There`s a whole bunch of learning wizards for applications like Avast!,A2,messenger programs,and mail clients that use web connection that i hadnt picked up on. Makes the whole process of enabling access so much easier. :)
« Last Edit: October 24, 2005, 08:34:44 AM by Cloussau »
sys- p4  3.0D ,  1024mb ddram ;arsenal :Avast IS 5.0 pro / Firefox / adblock /noscript : win xp/pro/sp3 32 bit

Offline Cloussau

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Advanced Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 897
  • AVAST! antivirus with balls
Re: comodo personal firewall
« Reply #28 on: October 25, 2005, 02:03:58 PM »
worth noting that since I can recall a software firewall would automatically de-activate windows firewall but not any more. I noticed today that windows firewall was active alongside CPF.
When i de-activate windows firewall windows security centre then decides it wont play ball and monitor CPF so this must have happened  recently .  ???
Or maybe my heads been in the sand. :P
sys- p4  3.0D ,  1024mb ddram ;arsenal :Avast IS 5.0 pro / Firefox / adblock /noscript : win xp/pro/sp3 32 bit

Offline RNfromTN

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Advanced Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 670
  • surfin sandboxed
Re: comodo personal firewall
« Reply #29 on: October 25, 2005, 11:09:54 PM »
Same here Cloussau,had to turn off windows firewall manually and tell security center I would monitor myself.Maybe como do can fix this in an update. I believe sygate pro is not reconized either.
« Last Edit: October 25, 2005, 11:15:29 PM by timcan »
Sandboxie| IFW|Outpost firewall|Norton Ghost|Win XP,Vista,7
member since 2005| Linux Mint user