Author Topic: How to delete viruses from Network Manager  (Read 5342 times)

HomeNet

How to delete viruses from Network Manager
« on: October 04, 2005, 06:46:43 PM »
OK, I'm new to the Distributed Network Manager and am rather pleased with the app thus far.  I've figured out how to schedule the scans and I run them @ 1900 (while they aren't using the PC).  It has returned the results and I see that I have some cleaning up to do.  I told the scanner to move the infections to the Chest but if that fails, delete them on the next reboot.  I figured out how to remotely connect to their Chests and remove the files in there but some are elsewhere in the system.  I'm sure the files are in use and cannot be moved due to Windows security.  On an unmanaged PC, I can use the "Boot-time scanner" to delete items that would normally be in use or otherwise protected (ie: items in System Restore directories).  I can't figure out how to schedule a Boot-time scan from the "server" or the client machines.

Another thing...  I scheduled an "Infection Report Generation" task.  I'm not sure how to just get all the infections, what PC they are on and the address (what directory) so I can track them down.  I'd like to have the infection reports emailed to me.  This task fails but gives no errors other than "Failed" (in the tasks menue).  It looks like I have all the SMTP info correct but it never sends the PDF files that are generated.  Do I need to set up a mail client (Outlook Express/MS-Outlook) or does the Network Manager software handle all that?  If it does handle that, what could I be doing wrong?

To sum all this up:
1: How do I clean/move/delete infections, on the client PCs, from the server?

2: If possible, how could i schedule a boot-time scan for the clients?

3: How can I get those reports sent to my email?

10-4-05
1246 EDT
Rob

Offline Vlk

• Avast CEO
  • Serious Graphoman
  • Please don't send me IM's. Email only. Thx.
    • ALWIL Software