Author Topic: AIS  (Read 2909 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Yash Khan

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 91
AIS
« on: May 02, 2015, 01:07:58 PM »
I am running AIS on Win 7 64 with 4 GB RAM.

I have done full scan & its been 2 weeks since install.

I have only AIS as autostart program i.e msconfig-startup- only AIS is checked.

I have noticed boot time have increased, not very long but quite noticeable compared to any other security software I have used in the past. My last software was Bitdefender free & I uninstalled it & also used Bd free cleanup tool.

I have Win FW disabled.

Boot time with AIS is app 2-3 mins. Previously it was always around 1 min.

And also once desktop is reached, Avast takes quite a few secs i.e app 20-40 secs to appear in task tray & till that time system doesn't respond smoothly i.e anything clicked either appears late or appears only after Avast is loaded in the task tray.

I have also noticed that with AIS install I get page cannot be displayed prob in browser & sometimes page keeps loading & have to refresh & it works, though not often but time to time. I dont have this prob with AIS uninstalled. I keep HTTPS on Webshield disabled. I guess SecureDNS is the prob coz the page cannot be displayed mention something like DNS probe was not finished.

I have tried completely uninstalling Avast 3 times including Avast clear tool but boot time & browser prob remains.

I tried disabling SecureDNS & FW & think page cannot be displayed prob is due to SecureDNS & page keeps loading is due to both SDNS & FW coz the prob disappears only when both are disabled.

Does SecureDNS enabled means it uses Avast DNS instead of system DNS?

I use Adblock Plus with the default i.e only 1 category i.e ads only i.e Easy List, no other addons. Tried disabling ABP too but the prob remains.

No other security software.

Any info?
« Last Edit: May 02, 2015, 01:13:36 PM by yesnoo »

Offline Asyn

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 66891
    • >>>  Avast Forum - Deutschsprachiger Bereich  <<<
Re: AIS
« Reply #1 on: May 02, 2015, 05:01:40 PM »
- Which version of AIS..?
- Which AV(s) did you use before Avast..?
Win 8.1 [x64] - Avast PremSec 20.8.2428.B#3 [UI.562] - CC 5.72 - EEK - FF ESR 78.3 [NS/AOS/uBO/PB] - TB 68.12 - SB/CP/SL/DU.BC
Deutschsprachiger Bereich -> Avast Wissenswertes (Downloads, Anleitungen & Infos): https://forum.avast.com/index.php?topic=60523.0

Offline Yash Khan

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 91
Re: AIS
« Reply #2 on: May 02, 2015, 07:00:43 PM »
Latest AIS .2218

Bd free from quite a long time & was uninstalled & also ran Bd free uninstall clear tool.

Offline Asyn

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 66891
    • >>>  Avast Forum - Deutschsprachiger Bereich  <<<
Re: AIS
« Reply #3 on: May 02, 2015, 07:05:05 PM »
First, be sure to get rid of all remnants of your prior installed AV(s)..!!
-> https://www.avast.com/faq.php?article=AVKB11

Then:
1. Download Avast Internet Security: https://files.avast.com/iavs9x/avast_internet_security_setup.exe
2. Follow instructions: https://www.avast.com/uninstall-utility (Run this tool for all prior installed Avast versions..!!)
3. Reinstall Avast with the downloaded installer from point 1.
4. Reboot.
Win 8.1 [x64] - Avast PremSec 20.8.2428.B#3 [UI.562] - CC 5.72 - EEK - FF ESR 78.3 [NS/AOS/uBO/PB] - TB 68.12 - SB/CP/SL/DU.BC
Deutschsprachiger Bereich -> Avast Wissenswertes (Downloads, Anleitungen & Infos): https://forum.avast.com/index.php?topic=60523.0

Offline Yash Khan

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 91
Re: AIS
« Reply #4 on: May 03, 2015, 12:36:10 PM »
I have already done everything.
From quite a long time I have used only Avast free/ Comodo IS & Bd free on this system. I have uninstalled them properly & completely with uninstall tool too.

Offline Asyn

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 66891
    • >>>  Avast Forum - Deutschsprachiger Bereich  <<<
Re: AIS
« Reply #5 on: May 04, 2015, 07:50:19 AM »
Attach your basic diagnostic logs from FRST.
Instructions: https://forum.avast.com/index.php?topic=53253.0
Win 8.1 [x64] - Avast PremSec 20.8.2428.B#3 [UI.562] - CC 5.72 - EEK - FF ESR 78.3 [NS/AOS/uBO/PB] - TB 68.12 - SB/CP/SL/DU.BC
Deutschsprachiger Bereich -> Avast Wissenswertes (Downloads, Anleitungen & Infos): https://forum.avast.com/index.php?topic=60523.0

Offline Yash Khan

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 91
Re: AIS
« Reply #6 on: May 05, 2015, 01:15:37 PM »
Its strange but disabling SecureDNS solved the browsing prob.
From yesterday, yet dont have browsing prob.

May be previously I disabled SecureDNS 10 mins only so after 10 mins prob was back.

From yesterday I have disabled SecureDNS permanently & no browsing probs yet.
Boot prob too seems improving with each passing day.

If any query will post here.

But have to disable SecureDNS & thats bad.

And one point, when I keep SecureDNS enabled, I have noticed that sometimes GUI shows something like SecureDNS cannot connect to this network & after few secs everything fine. I have noticed this quite a few times.

Offline Asyn

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 66891
    • >>>  Avast Forum - Deutschsprachiger Bereich  <<<
Re: AIS
« Reply #7 on: May 06, 2015, 06:01:04 AM »
Its strange but disabling SecureDNS solved the browsing prob.
But have to disable SecureDNS & thats bad.

And one point, when I keep SecureDNS enabled, I have noticed that sometimes GUI shows something like SecureDNS cannot connect to this network & after few secs everything fine. I have noticed this quite a few times.
Submit a ticket: https://support.avast.com/Tickets/Submit
Win 8.1 [x64] - Avast PremSec 20.8.2428.B#3 [UI.562] - CC 5.72 - EEK - FF ESR 78.3 [NS/AOS/uBO/PB] - TB 68.12 - SB/CP/SL/DU.BC
Deutschsprachiger Bereich -> Avast Wissenswertes (Downloads, Anleitungen & Infos): https://forum.avast.com/index.php?topic=60523.0