Author Topic: ** INTRODUCING **: pre-release version of upcoming avast update (now 4.6.726)  (Read 85495 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline YLAP

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Super Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 2119
Re: ** INTRODUCING **: pre-release version of upcoming avast update (4.6.718)
« Reply #15 on: October 28, 2005, 06:08:54 PM »
OK, I've downloaded it. Works great till now, so I'm happy.  8) I had a great day: added 256MB of Ram in the morning, and now the new avast. What can be better?   ;D

Jooo, look at my new avatar, you'll see the great new icons! I hope you'll be happy at least for two weeks!  ;D

PS. Hope no one from Alwil are against my avatar, as I'm using their icons!  :-\ It's because I like their program very much!  ;D

Offline Lisandro

  • Avast team
  • Certainly Bot
  • *
  • Posts: 67235
Re: ** INTRODUCING **: pre-release version of upcoming avast update (4.6.718)
« Reply #16 on: October 28, 2005, 10:51:17 PM »
Vlk, no problems... tested all providers.
Can you tell us exactly what are the new entries at avast4.ini file?

Opinion: the old icons are better than the new ones  :P
The best things in life are free.

Offline colincr

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 87
Re: ** INTRODUCING **: pre-release version of upcoming avast update (4.6.718)
« Reply #17 on: October 29, 2005, 12:25:26 AM »
Hi folks.  I downloaded the beta version of avast earlier today and just as i came onto my computer just now i noticed that ashserv.exe is very heavy on the processor.

It will use about 94-100% of my cpu for quite a while then decrease back to the usual 2% etc. then after about 30 seconds rapidly increase to 94% again.

I am running Windows XP SP2
Hardware:
AMD Athlon 64 3000+
512 KB RAM

---------------------------------------------------
Just an update. The computer slowed down so much that I restarted the computer to see if this had any effect and when it rebooted all was back to normal and the ashserv.exe is running without using large percentage of CPU.  However, does anyone know why ashserve.exe would use so much cpu before rebooting and whether it is normal?
« Last Edit: October 29, 2005, 12:39:39 AM by colincr »

Offline Lisandro

  • Avast team
  • Certainly Bot
  • *
  • Posts: 67235
Re: ** INTRODUCING **: pre-release version of upcoming avast update (4.6.718)
« Reply #18 on: October 29, 2005, 02:02:35 AM »
However, does anyone know why ashserve.exe would use so much cpu before rebooting and whether it is normal?
What does the log entries say? Can you dig there and find anything that helps?
Into Windows Events, is there anything interesting to troubleshoot here?
The best things in life are free.

Offline colincr

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 87
Re: ** INTRODUCING **: pre-release version of upcoming avast update (4.6.718)
« Reply #19 on: October 29, 2005, 11:08:37 AM »
I did a little fishing around before restarting and found when i paused the standard shield the cpu usage decresed straight away.  Pausing other services had no effect.  Also, I had installed a program earlier in day and did not restart my pc.  Could this have an effect?  I will check the logs to see if there are any problems and will try and get update asap but I am working today.
Thanks
Colin

Offline Vlk

  • Avast CEO
  • Serious Graphoman
  • *
  • Posts: 11660
  • Please don't send me IM's. Email only. Thx.
    • ALWIL Software
Re: ** INTRODUCING **: pre-release version of upcoming avast update (4.6.718)
« Reply #20 on: October 29, 2005, 02:22:27 PM »
Was the avast tray icon spinning? That would mean that avast was scanning something.
BTW do you have the Standard Shield sensitivity set to Normal or High? On high, it is scanning all files which may be very expensive.

Thanks
Vlk
If at first you don't succeed, then skydiving's not for you.

cvsa

  • Guest
Re: ** INTRODUCING **: pre-release version of upcoming avast update (4.6.718)
« Reply #21 on: October 29, 2005, 02:35:34 PM »
everything works perfectly so far  ;D

2 questions to vlk :

- is it enough to set standard shield on "normal"

- did you do something about incompatibility problem (reboot) with ZA 6 ?

Offline YLAP

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Super Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 2119
Re: ** INTRODUCING **: pre-release version of upcoming avast update (4.6.718)
« Reply #22 on: October 29, 2005, 02:44:31 PM »
Hey, it seems to be very interesting... I've never tried Normal resident level, I always used high, so now I give a try to normal level, and I'll see if it effects my system speed somehow...  ;)

joooo

  • Guest
Re: ** INTRODUCING **: pre-release version of upcoming avast update (4.6.718)
« Reply #23 on: October 29, 2005, 05:40:52 PM »
That box of acknowledgment of update that it is in the bar of tasks will be brought up to date as was said previously in this link?

http://forum.avast.com/index.php?topic=12640.210

http://forum.avast.com/index.php?topic=12640.225

Offline Vlk

  • Avast CEO
  • Serious Graphoman
  • *
  • Posts: 11660
  • Please don't send me IM's. Email only. Thx.
    • ALWIL Software
Re: ** INTRODUCING **: pre-release version of upcoming avast update (4.6.718)
« Reply #24 on: October 29, 2005, 11:45:09 PM »
To cvsa:

Quote
- is it enough to set standard shield on "normal"

Yes, I would say. We tried to preset the Standard Shield so that it would give you adequate protection when set to Normal. I'd say it is an ideal balance between reliability and performance...


Quote
- did you do something about incompatibility problem (reboot) with ZA 6 ?

Well.. that's a funny story. To sum up, it turned out to be a regular (quite serious) bug in the ZoneAlarm driver. We pinpointed the part of code that was causing the bug, and even suggested a fix. So -- the fix will be included in the next ZA update, and I also have a version of the ZA driver that has the problem fixed. If you want, I can send it to you.


Cheers
Vlk
If at first you don't succeed, then skydiving's not for you.

Iso-G

  • Guest
Re: ** INTRODUCING **: pre-release version of upcoming avast update (4.6.718)
« Reply #25 on: October 30, 2005, 02:14:38 AM »
Quote
- did you do something about incompatibility problem (reboot) with ZA 6 ?

Well.. that's a funny story. To sum up, it turned out to be a regular (quite serious) bug in the ZoneAlarm driver. We pinpointed the part of code that was causing the bug, and even suggested a fix. So -- the fix will be included in the next ZA update, and I also have a version of the ZA driver that has the problem fixed. If you want, I can send it to you.

What a good news !
Why don't you give every avast! user the fixed ZA driver ?
I think many avast! users are using ZA. :D

Offline Lisandro

  • Avast team
  • Certainly Bot
  • *
  • Posts: 67235
Re: ** INTRODUCING **: pre-release version of upcoming avast update (4.6.718)
« Reply #26 on: October 30, 2005, 02:16:56 AM »
Why don't you give every avast! user the fixed ZA driver ?
I think many avast! users are using ZA. :D
Yeah... Can't it be allowed to download?
The best things in life are free.

MrBabis

  • Guest
Re: ** INTRODUCING **: pre-release version of upcoming avast update (4.6.718)
« Reply #27 on: October 30, 2005, 02:32:06 AM »
If patch is from ZoneAlarm then link wil be good.....

Offline colincr

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 87
Re: ** INTRODUCING **: pre-release version of upcoming avast update (4.6.718)
« Reply #28 on: October 30, 2005, 02:01:06 AM »
Was the avast tray icon spinning? That would mean that avast was scanning something.
BTW do you have the Standard Shield sensitivity set to Normal or High? On high, it is scanning all files which may be very expensive.

Thanks
Vlk

I have it set to high.  The avast icon was spinning quite a lot whcih would mean it was scanning something a lot.  I haven't had the same problem today and my pc has been running all day so i will leave avast and will see how it goes.  Will update you if the problem occurs again. 
Thanks for everybodys help
Colin

cvsa

  • Guest
Re: ** INTRODUCING **: pre-release version of upcoming avast update (4.6.718)
« Reply #29 on: October 30, 2005, 08:47:20 AM »
Quote

 If you want, I can send it to you.

Quote
Thanks vlk, but i already switched to kerio  ;)..... and i'm satisfied with it... ;D

but that's a good news !