Author Topic: Bit of a noob question, which probably has an obvious answer but...  (Read 1982 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Booster Gold

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 1
Avast is using up buckets of processing power on my (underpowered) laptop's cpu. Now I've been to multiple webpages which say that you can go to settings and choose to lower the priority of the scan, thereby increasing performance. But when I go to settings I see nothing of the sort. My options are

General
Active Protection
Update
Registration
Tools
Troubleshooting
About Avast

Could anyone offer any advice for how to find the performance option/lower Avast's cpu usage?

Thanks

Offline Para-Noid

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Starting Graphoman
  • ***
  • Posts: 6711
  • Trust only what you test yourself!
Re: Bit of a noob question, which probably has an obvious answer but...
« Reply #1 on: June 18, 2015, 04:37:19 PM »
GUI>Scan>Scan for Viruses>select scan from drop down menu>scan settings
Dell Inspiron, Win10x64--HP Envy Win10x64--Both systems Avast Free v17.9.2322, Comodo Firewall v8.2 w/D+, MalwareBytes v3.0, OpenDNS, Super Anti-Spyware, Spyware Blaster, MCShield, Unchecky, Vivaldi Browser and, various browser security tools.

"Look before you leap!" Use online scanners before you click on any link.

Offline Pondus

  • Probably Bot
  • ****
  • Posts: 36992
Re: Bit of a noob question, which probably has an obvious answer but...
« Reply #2 on: June 18, 2015, 06:35:15 PM »
Quote
Avast is using up buckets of processing power on my (underpowered) laptop's cpu.
do you have any other security programs running?


Quote
Now I've been to multiple webpages which say that you can go to settings and choose to lower the priority of the scan, thereby increasing performance.
Is this what you are looking fore?  http://www.sevenforums.com/tutorials/83361-priority-level-set-applications-processes.html


Offline DavidR

  • Avast √úberevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 84759
  • No support PMs thanks
Re: Bit of a noob question, which probably has an obvious answer but...
« Reply #3 on: June 18, 2015, 06:39:43 PM »
@ Booster Gold
Processing power should also be related to what you have running as avast doesn't go off on its own. As a resident (on-access) antivirus scanner it scans activity. It doesn't just scan for no reason, it is activity based.

When does this happen ?

What is using the resources and how much ?

What is your Operating System, CPU and RAM ?
Windows 10 Home 2004 64bit/ Acer Aspire F15/ Intel Core i5 7200U 2.5GHz, 8GB DDR4 memory, 256GB SSD, 1TB HDD/ avast! free 21.2.2455 (build 21.2.6096.648) UI 1.0.608/ Firefox, uBlock Origin, uMatrix/ MailWasher Pro/ Avast! Mobile Security

Offline Para-Noid

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Starting Graphoman
  • ***
  • Posts: 6711
  • Trust only what you test yourself!
Re: Bit of a noob question, which probably has an obvious answer but...
« Reply #4 on: June 18, 2015, 08:02:09 PM »
I thought of something else to check, does your Win7 have virtual technology?
If so you may have NG installed and that could raise CPU usage during start-up.
If this high CPU usage is random check out the link David provided.
Dell Inspiron, Win10x64--HP Envy Win10x64--Both systems Avast Free v17.9.2322, Comodo Firewall v8.2 w/D+, MalwareBytes v3.0, OpenDNS, Super Anti-Spyware, Spyware Blaster, MCShield, Unchecky, Vivaldi Browser and, various browser security tools.

"Look before you leap!" Use online scanners before you click on any link.