Author Topic: AVAST 2015 R3 RC (2015.10.3.2222)  (Read 73240 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Rednose

  • Pirate Party Member
  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Massive Poster
  • *****
  • Posts: 3716
  • Bits of Freedom : https://www.bof.nl
    • Nederlandstalig Avast! forum
Re: NEW AVAST 2015 R3 Beta
« Reply #30 on: June 17, 2015, 11:50:50 PM »
Hi Para-Noid :)

Reading your problem and Bobs here https://forum.avast.com/index.php?topic=172345.msg1223553#msg12235 make me think that there could be a problem with the updater/installer. Maybe like Bob, a repair of Avast solves it for you too.

Greetz, Red.
OS: Win 10 / iOS 14 / Debian 10 / Tails 4
Real Time: Avast Premium Security
On Demand: Malwarebytes
VPN: NordVPN ( NordLynx ) with Cybersec

Offline TrueIndian

  • Poster
  • *
  • Posts: 434
Re: NEW AVAST 2015 R3 Beta
« Reply #31 on: June 18, 2015, 10:35:21 AM »
I think Avast should change the default HIPS action to block instead of allow.  :)
Malware Hunter/Tester/Analysis
https://twitter.com/avman1995

“When I despair, I remember that all through history the way of truth and love have always won. There have been tyrants and murderers, and for a time, they can seem invincible, but in the end, they always fall. Think of it--always.”
― Mahatma Gandhi

Offline bob3160

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Probably Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 45150
  • 61 Years of Happiness
    • bob3160 Protecting Yourself, Your Computer and, Your Identity
Re: NEW AVAST 2015 R3 Beta
« Reply #32 on: June 18, 2015, 02:32:09 PM »
I think Avast should change the default HIPS action to block instead of allow.  :)
Notify would probably make more people happy. :)
Free avast! Security Seminar: http://bit.ly/2N1eaR2  -  Important: http://www.organdonor.gov/ -- My Web Site: http://bob3160.strikingly.com/ - Win 10 Pro v20H2 64bit, 24 Gig Ram, 1TB SSD, AvastOmni 20.7.xxx, How to Successfully Install Avast http://goo.gl/VLXdeRepair & Clean Install https://goo.gl/t7aJGq

Offline DavidR

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 84777
  • No support PMs thanks
Re: NEW AVAST 2015 R3 Beta
« Reply #33 on: June 18, 2015, 03:38:59 PM »
I think Avast should change the default HIPS action to block instead of allow.  :)
Notify would probably make more people happy. :)

I would agree that would be a possible option in settings.

Personally with Outpost Firewall Pro (with HIPS) and WinPatrol Pro, I have disabled the avast HIPS. Another reason for my choice of disabling it, is not knowing exactly what it is looking for or does, so that write up about what the settings are looking for/do will be welcomed.
Windows 10 Home 2004 64bit/ Acer Aspire F15/ Intel Core i5 7200U 2.5GHz, 8GB DDR4 memory, 256GB SSD, 1TB HDD/ avast! free 21.3.2459 (build 21.3.6164.561) UI 1.0.609/ Firefox, uBlock Origin, uMatrix/ MailWasher Pro/ Avast! Mobile Security

Offline RejZoR

  • Polymorphic Sheep
  • Serious Graphoman
  • *****
  • Posts: 9359
  • We are supersheep, resistance is futile!
    • RejZoR's Flock of Sheep
Re: NEW AVAST 2015 R3 Beta
« Reply #34 on: June 18, 2015, 03:43:18 PM »
I just hope it won't be as passive and useless as it was in avast! 5 and later until they just removed it...
Visit my webpage Angry Sheep Blog

Offline Asyn

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 69997
    • >>>  Avast Forum - Deutschsprachiger Bereich  <<<
Re: NEW AVAST 2015 R3 Beta
« Reply #35 on: June 18, 2015, 04:19:33 PM »
Personally with Outpost Firewall Pro (with HIPS) and WinPatrol Pro, I have disabled the avast HIPS. Another reason for my choice of disabling it, is not knowing exactly what it is looking for or does, so that write up about what the settings are looking for/do will be welcomed.
Same here with D+, and agreed Dave, any feedback from the devs will be welcome.
Win 8.1 [x64] - Avast PremSec 21.3.2459.BUC [UI.612] - EEK - Firefox ESR 78.9 [NS/uBO/PB] - TB 78.9
Avast-Tools: Secure Browser 89.1 - Cleanup 21.1 - SecureLine 5.11 - Driver Updater 21.1 - CCleaner 5.78
Avast Wissenswertes (Downloads, Anleitungen & Infos): https://forum.avast.com/index.php?topic=60523.0

Offline teuzao123

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 23
Re: NEW AVAST 2015 R3 Beta
« Reply #36 on: June 18, 2015, 06:05:54 PM »
It could be 2016 version added a cloud just to make avast more complete and also a p2p module

Offline Secondmineboy

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Massive Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 3651
Re: NEW AVAST 2015 R3 Beta
« Reply #37 on: June 18, 2015, 06:16:30 PM »
Avast has Cloud protection already, and a P2P Module, they got merged down to the 3 shields that we have today :)
Windows 10 1909, 4 GB DDR3 RAM, 500 GB 5400 RPM HDD, 1366 by 768 LCD Screen, Intel Core i3 5010U Dual Core, Intel HD Graphics 5500
HUAWEI P30 Pro. Android 10

Offline YLAP

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Super Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 2119
Re: NEW AVAST 2015 R3 Beta
« Reply #38 on: June 18, 2015, 08:12:55 PM »
During update virtualization was not installed, although it was installed and working fine before BETA  ??? Bug?

Offline Para-Noid

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Starting Graphoman
  • ***
  • Posts: 6711
  • Trust only what you test yourself!
Re: NEW AVAST 2015 R3 Beta
« Reply #39 on: June 18, 2015, 09:07:55 PM »
Finally, now running v2015.10.3.2219 beta.
I feel the same as others unless there is more info about the HIPS I have it disabled.
It's the old "behavior shield" revisited. And it wasn't much good or didn't do much, if anything.
My firewall already has HIPS and I don't see the need for the duplication in efforts.

Could we get more documentation about the "new" HIPS?  ???
Dell Inspiron, Win10x64--HP Envy Win10x64--Both systems Avast Free v17.9.2322, Comodo Firewall v8.2 w/D+, MalwareBytes v3.0, OpenDNS, Super Anti-Spyware, Spyware Blaster, MCShield, Unchecky, Vivaldi Browser and, various browser security tools.

"Look before you leap!" Use online scanners before you click on any link.

Offline schmidthouse

  • VIRUS FREE A Long Time
  • Avast Evangelist
  • Starting Graphoman
  • ***
  • Posts: 6792
  • When you think you know, Think Again
Re: NEW AVAST 2015 R3 Beta
« Reply #40 on: June 19, 2015, 12:34:09 AM »
Will the 'newly written' Sandbox and SafeZone be active in the next beta build?
Thank you
***HP ENVY 15K LT W10 Pro 20H2 64Bit/750GB HD/16GB Ram/Avast Premium 21.3.2459b/Secureline VPN v.5.11b/ADU v.21.1b/ASB v.89.1b/ACP 21.1b/ SANDBOXIE-plus/MailWasherPRO
**HP Compaq 8510p LT W10 Pro 20H2 64Bit/1TB HD/8GB Ram/Avast Premium 21.3.2459b/ADU v.21.1b/ACP 21.1b/SANDBOXIE/MailWasherPRO/HotSpot Shield
     
*Dell Inspiron XPsp4 PRO 32Bit/Avast(since 2002)18.8.2356/WP/Comodo FW 3.14/Secureline/Comodo IceDragon v.40
LAYERED SECURITY SOFTWARE

Offline Rednose

  • Pirate Party Member
  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Massive Poster
  • *****
  • Posts: 3716
  • Bits of Freedom : https://www.bof.nl
    • Nederlandstalig Avast! forum
Re: NEW AVAST 2015 R3 Beta
« Reply #41 on: June 19, 2015, 01:18:45 AM »
Will the 'newly written' Sandbox and SafeZone be active in the next beta build?
Thank you

Personally I had expected more functionality, like creating different Sandboxes for different purposes.
So far I don't see any changes.

Greetz, Red.
OS: Win 10 / iOS 14 / Debian 10 / Tails 4
Real Time: Avast Premium Security
On Demand: Malwarebytes
VPN: NordVPN ( NordLynx ) with Cybersec

Offline schmidthouse

  • VIRUS FREE A Long Time
  • Avast Evangelist
  • Starting Graphoman
  • ***
  • Posts: 6792
  • When you think you know, Think Again
Re: NEW AVAST 2015 R3 Beta
« Reply #42 on: June 19, 2015, 02:03:37 AM »
Will the 'newly written' Sandbox and SafeZone be active in the next beta build?
Thank you

Personally I had expected more functionality, like creating different Sandboxes for different purposes.
So far I don't see any changes.

Greetz, Red.

This beta has more interest in Grimefighter and HIPS then the SafeZone Browser, which for my needs personally is far more important.
But hey I'm just one user.
***HP ENVY 15K LT W10 Pro 20H2 64Bit/750GB HD/16GB Ram/Avast Premium 21.3.2459b/Secureline VPN v.5.11b/ADU v.21.1b/ASB v.89.1b/ACP 21.1b/ SANDBOXIE-plus/MailWasherPRO
**HP Compaq 8510p LT W10 Pro 20H2 64Bit/1TB HD/8GB Ram/Avast Premium 21.3.2459b/ADU v.21.1b/ACP 21.1b/SANDBOXIE/MailWasherPRO/HotSpot Shield
     
*Dell Inspiron XPsp4 PRO 32Bit/Avast(since 2002)18.8.2356/WP/Comodo FW 3.14/Secureline/Comodo IceDragon v.40
LAYERED SECURITY SOFTWARE

Offline Rednose

  • Pirate Party Member
  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Massive Poster
  • *****
  • Posts: 3716
  • Bits of Freedom : https://www.bof.nl
    • Nederlandstalig Avast! forum
Re: NEW AVAST 2015 R3 Beta
« Reply #43 on: June 19, 2015, 03:45:48 AM »
Will the 'newly written' Sandbox and SafeZone be active in the next beta build?
Thank you

Personally I had expected more functionality, like creating different Sandboxes for different purposes.
So far I don't see any changes.

Greetz, Red.

This beta has more interest in Grimefighter and HIPS then the SafeZone Browser, which for my needs personally is far more important.
But hey I'm just one user.

You are right : A flawlessly working SafeZone is even more important.

Greetz, Red.
OS: Win 10 / iOS 14 / Debian 10 / Tails 4
Real Time: Avast Premium Security
On Demand: Malwarebytes
VPN: NordVPN ( NordLynx ) with Cybersec

Offline HDW38

  • Massive Poster
  • ****
  • Posts: 3406
Re: NEW AVAST 2015 R3 Beta
« Reply #44 on: June 19, 2015, 11:34:33 AM »
Why are all these proactive features stuffed under individual shields or even under broad settings? It's so confusing. Why not create a dedicated proactive shield that has the Hardened mode controls under it, HIPS controls and other global features that are designed for proactive protection?

I don't se cramming of everything into already crowded settings and there you have the sheild list that is 3/4 empty...

Currently, HIPS settings are hidden underneath File System Shield -> Sensitivity submenu which is frankly a bit inconvenient place to have it...
Totally agree. All the extra protection is nice but if you can't find it, what good is it going to do anyone.
Most users including me believe in "Keep it Simple Stupid".
+1  :)