Author Topic: Connection Timeout  (Read 4679 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

sawildcat

  • Guest
Connection Timeout
« on: November 18, 2005, 12:48:07 AM »
I keep getting a
                           avast! Connection timeout
     internet connection timeout elapsed. Continue waiting?
(javaw.exe -> static24.-72-17-212.reverse.accesscomm.ca:25)

                              [Yes]   [No]

I've had avast installed for awhile now, it is registered, & there is no problem with the internet, obviously, otherwise I couldn't post this.  if I hit yes, it comes back up a few minutes later.  If I hit no it comes up probably 30 minutes or so later. So any Ideals what is causing this?

Offline Lisandro

  • Avast team
  • Certainly Bot
  • *
  • Posts: 67247
Re: Connection Timeout
« Reply #1 on: November 18, 2005, 12:50:00 AM »
You can increase both your avast! timeout: Internet Mail provider > Customize > Advanced (tab)
and your email account timeout (generally, right click the email account, choose properties and the Advanced tab of settings).

Do you use a spamkiller application?
Are you receiving or sending emails with large file attached?
Do you use dial-up?
The best things in life are free.

sawildcat

  • Guest
Re: Connection Timeout
« Reply #2 on: November 18, 2005, 01:01:52 AM »
Tech

I use spambayes, active only when outlook is open

sometimes I get or send large attachments, not often, plus I don't have my outlook running, normally just long enough to check the mail.

I'm on Cable broadband

Offline Lisandro

  • Avast team
  • Certainly Bot
  • *
  • Posts: 67247
Re: Connection Timeout
« Reply #3 on: November 18, 2005, 01:13:03 AM »
I use spambayes, active only when outlook is open
What do you mean? Do other email clients do not use the spam application?
Or it is just email rules to filter the spam?
Do the timeouts occur while you're using MS Outlook?

sometimes I get or send large attachments, not often, plus I don't have my outlook running, normally just long enough to check the mail.
Is MS Outlook in the system tray (an icon)?
Do the timeouts occur while sending or receiving large emails?

I'm on Cable broadband
Good. Anyway, disabling the timeout or increasing a little its time won't hurt and you can test to see if they belongs to avast or to your email account. Which values of timeouts are you using?
The best things in life are free.

Offline alanrf

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Massive Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 3866
  • Just an avast user
Re: Connection Timeout
« Reply #4 on: November 18, 2005, 01:16:20 AM »
Are you using Azureus by any chance?

It is clearly a Java based application that is using port 25, probably not for SMTP (which is what avast expects port 25 to be used for).  So, if this is not an e-mail function you will probably need to set javaw.exe as an excluded process.

sawildcat

  • Guest
Re: Connection Timeout
« Reply #5 on: November 18, 2005, 01:19:15 AM »
Spambayes is a plug-in for MS outlook, it runs only when MS outlook is running, it is not a stand alone spam filter.

MS outlook is always shut down completely when I'm not using it, so no icon in system tray.

I have gotten the time outs when outlook is shut down, not open.

sawildcat

  • Guest
Re: Connection Timeout
« Reply #6 on: November 18, 2005, 01:20:34 AM »
yes i am using azureus, it sounds like thats the problem

Offline alanrf

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Massive Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 3866
  • Just an avast user
Re: Connection Timeout
« Reply #7 on: November 18, 2005, 01:23:04 AM »
Almost certainly is.  In all cases reported here with javaw.exe never has it been an e-mail issue. 

 

sawildcat

  • Guest
Re: Connection Timeout
« Reply #8 on: November 18, 2005, 01:25:32 AM »
WOOOOOHOOOOO ;D ;D thanks for the info, I saw reverse.access & was getting paranoid about what or who it could be.

Thanks for the info alanrf & Tech

Offline alanrf

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Massive Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 3866
  • Just an avast user
Re: Connection Timeout
« Reply #9 on: November 18, 2005, 01:27:47 AM »
To exlude javaw.exe you will need to edit your avast4.ini file

in the

[MailScanner]

section add a line:

IgnoreProcess=javaw.exe