Author Topic: AVAST 2015 R3(2015.10.3.2223)  (Read 76529 times)

0 Members and 2 Guests are viewing this topic.

Offline midnight

  • Massive Poster
  • ****
  • Posts: 2431
  • Always Be Kind
Re: AVAST 2015 R3 (2015.10.3.2223)
« Reply #60 on: July 14, 2015, 08:16:51 PM »
Ok then, so this is some UI Smart Scan issue - trying to include performance issues step when this component is not installed at all. We will try find out why it happens. In this case it might be helpful to have your avast5.ini, if you can submit it on support page. And thanks for you time.

I just ran Smart Scan again on my win 7 computer and even though I don't have GrimeFighter or Cleanup installed it showed I have no Performance issues.

Offline DavidR

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 87054
  • No support PMs thanks
Re: AVAST 2015 R3 (2015.10.3.2223)
« Reply #61 on: July 14, 2015, 08:58:54 PM »
Ok then, so this is some UI Smart Scan issue - trying to include performance issues step when this component is not installed at all. We will try find out why it happens. In this case it might be helpful to have your avast5.ini, if you can submit it on support page. And thanks for you time.

I just ran Smart Scan again on my win 7 computer and even though I don't have GrimeFighter or Cleanup installed it showed I have no Performance issues.

I think that is what Martin is saying - he feels that it is more an issue with the Smart Scan results being displayed incorrectly in the UI. Not that you actually have Cleanup installed or that it even ran during the smart scan.
Windows 10 Home 64bit/ Acer Aspire F15/ Intel Core i5 7200U 2.5GHz, 8GB DDR4 memory, 256GB SSD, 1TB HDD/ avast! free 22.10.6038 (build 22.10.7633.734) UI 1.0.733/ Firefox, uBlock Origin, uMatrix/ MailWasher Pro/ Avast! Mobile Security

Offline Martin Kudlicka

  • Avast team
  • Jr. Member
  • *
  • Posts: 62
Re: AVAST 2015 R3 (2015.10.3.2223)
« Reply #62 on: July 15, 2015, 07:40:25 AM »
Exactly. There is no Cleanup scan/clean, just incorrect UI message.
Avast Support Tool - https://www.avast.com/en-eu/faq.php?article=AVKB33#artTitle
Avast support - https://support.avast.com - submit a support ticket

Offline Dwarden

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Super Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 1793
  • Ideas, that's ocean without borders!
    • Bohemia Interactive
Re: AVAST 2015 R3 (2015.10.3.2223)
« Reply #63 on: July 15, 2015, 10:14:33 AM »
more problems with this new Avast vs Windows XP SP3 , it blocked Flash update (.209), Java update (.51) and Windows updates (yes the extended ones) ...

only disabling it's services allowed correct install ...

so for me it seems Avast is dead on XP , same as XP ... aka time to nuke em
https://twitter.com/FoltynD , Tech. Community, Online Services & Distribution manager of Bohemia Interactive

Offline midnight

  • Massive Poster
  • ****
  • Posts: 2431
  • Always Be Kind
Re: AVAST 2015 R3 (2015.10.3.2223)
« Reply #64 on: July 15, 2015, 02:15:49 PM »
Exactly. There is no Cleanup scan/clean, just incorrect UI message.

On both my win 7 and win 8.1 smart scan shows "your PC performance is already optimized. What does that mean?

Offline Martin Kudlicka

  • Avast team
  • Jr. Member
  • *
  • Posts: 62
Re: AVAST 2015 R3 (2015.10.3.2223)
« Reply #65 on: July 15, 2015, 02:25:07 PM »
Well, it depends whether you have Cleanup installed :) . When not installed, it's related to the issue we discussed few posts above. Otherwise it tells you that Cleanup didn't find any junk/problems on your computer so there is nothing to clean.
Avast Support Tool - https://www.avast.com/en-eu/faq.php?article=AVKB33#artTitle
Avast support - https://support.avast.com - submit a support ticket

Offline DavidR

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 87054
  • No support PMs thanks
Re: AVAST 2015 R3 (2015.10.3.2223)
« Reply #66 on: July 15, 2015, 05:00:40 PM »
more problems with this new Avast vs Windows XP SP3 , it blocked Flash update (.209), Java update (.51) and Windows updates (yes the extended ones) ...

only disabling it's services allowed correct install ...

so for me it seems Avast is dead on XP , same as XP ... aka time to nuke em

Firefox blocked my access to flash (not avast) saying it was an unsafe add-on. I don't have JAVA installed.

I was able to download both activeX and plugin off-line installation versions from the usual distribution3 link and no problem installing both updates on my XP Pro and win7 netbook systems.
Windows 10 Home 64bit/ Acer Aspire F15/ Intel Core i5 7200U 2.5GHz, 8GB DDR4 memory, 256GB SSD, 1TB HDD/ avast! free 22.10.6038 (build 22.10.7633.734) UI 1.0.733/ Firefox, uBlock Origin, uMatrix/ MailWasher Pro/ Avast! Mobile Security

Offline RejZoR

  • Polymorphic Sheep
  • Serious Graphoman
  • *****
  • Posts: 9407
  • We are supersheep, resistance is futile!
    • RejZoR's Flock of Sheep
Re: AVAST 2015 R3 (2015.10.3.2223)
« Reply #67 on: July 15, 2015, 06:22:00 PM »
When there are critical exploits, Firefox will trigger plugin blocking faster. This is what happened with the 203 build of Adobe Flash.
Visit my webpage Angry Sheep Blog

Offline cruiser25

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 72
Re: AVAST 2015 R3 (2015.10.3.2223)
« Reply #68 on: July 15, 2015, 10:16:03 PM »
Avast pro installed without a problem on this computer which i can´t say about my other computer which has McAfee internet security installed. Since 27.06.2015 when it autoupdated the McAfee program McAfee won´t allow new virus updates to be installed without bypassing the accesprotection function and do a manual update. McAfee suport so far failes to solve the problem.
I have about 130 days left to when the license expires. I remember there was a problem with straming updates in the avast program in the past which was discussed in this forum, but it did get solved. Hopefully my problem on the other computer will get solved to. Otherwise i will change to avast on that to. I have had no other issues with Avast which I can remember.
Keep up the good work
    :)

Offline bob3160

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Probably Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 47549
  • 62 Years of Happiness
    • bob3160 Protecting Yourself, Your Computer and, Your Identity
Re: AVAST 2015 R3 (2015.10.3.2223)
« Reply #69 on: July 16, 2015, 03:38:34 AM »
Avast pro installed without a problem on this computer which i can´t say about my other computer which has McAfee internet security installed. Since 27.06.2015 when it autoupdated the McAfee program McAfee won´t allow new virus updates to be installed without bypassing the accesprotection function and do a manual update. McAfee suport so far failes to solve the problem.
I have about 130 days left to when the license expires. I remember there was a problem with straming updates in the avast program in the past which was discussed in this forum, but it did get solved. Hopefully my problem on the other computer will get solved to. Otherwise i will change to avast on that to. I have had no other issues with Avast which I can remember.
Keep up the good work
    :)
Follow the link in my signature to Successfully Install Avast.
(You should never run more than one resident AV on your system at a time.)
Free avast! Security Seminar: http://bit.ly/2N1eaR2  -  Important: http://www.organdonor.gov/ -- My Web Site: http://bob3160.strikingly.com/ - Win 11 Pro v21H2 64bit, 16 Gig Ram, 1TB SSD, Avast Free 22.5, How to Successfully Install Avast http://goo.gl/VLXdeRepair & Clean Install https://goo.gl/t7aJGq -- My Online Activity https://

Offline cruiser25

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 72
Re: AVAST 2015 R3 (2015.10.3.2223)
« Reply #70 on: July 16, 2015, 08:18:38 PM »
As I explained in my earlier post it is two different computers with two different internet connections. So there is no conflict between different Brands of Antivirusproducts. The problem with Mcafee is related to an McAfee update that occured about 19 days ago and affects many moore computers than mine. I mentioned it just to say i´m pleased that the avast update works fine so far :)
ps.
Only one computer is on at the same time. Maybe I wasn´t clear enough that I have only one Antivirusprogram installed on each computer sorry if that was the case.
« Last Edit: July 16, 2015, 08:36:26 PM by cruiser25 »

Offline bob3160

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Probably Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 47549
  • 62 Years of Happiness
    • bob3160 Protecting Yourself, Your Computer and, Your Identity
Re: AVAST 2015 R3 (2015.10.3.2223)
« Reply #71 on: July 16, 2015, 08:34:15 PM »
As I explained in my earlier post it is two different computers with two different internet connections. So there is no conflict between different Brands of Antivirusproducts. The problem with Mcafee is related to an McAfee update that occured about 19 days ago and affects many moore computers than mine. I mentioned it just to say i´m pleased that the avast update works fine so far :)
ps.
Only one computer is on at the same time.
Sorry but news about McAfee or any other third party AV problems really don't have an audience here. :)
Hope you reported it in their Forum. :)

Free avast! Security Seminar: http://bit.ly/2N1eaR2  -  Important: http://www.organdonor.gov/ -- My Web Site: http://bob3160.strikingly.com/ - Win 11 Pro v21H2 64bit, 16 Gig Ram, 1TB SSD, Avast Free 22.5, How to Successfully Install Avast http://goo.gl/VLXdeRepair & Clean Install https://goo.gl/t7aJGq -- My Online Activity https://

Offline cruiser25

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 72
Re: AVAST 2015 R3 (2015.10.3.2223)
« Reply #72 on: July 16, 2015, 08:48:02 PM »
I realy don´t know what to say about an answer like yours. I reported that i´ve was pleased with the update procedure on Avast pro antivirus and that it worked fine. I did mention the McAfee issue just to point out the difference between the two updates. Not for any advice on that matter. I didn´t know that this was such a sensible matter in this forum.

Offline bob3160

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Probably Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 47549
  • 62 Years of Happiness
    • bob3160 Protecting Yourself, Your Computer and, Your Identity
Re: AVAST 2015 R3 (2015.10.3.2223)
« Reply #73 on: July 16, 2015, 08:52:29 PM »
I realy don´t know what to say about an answer like yours. I reported that i´ve was pleased with the update procedure on Avast pro antivirus and that it worked fine. I did mention the McAfee issue just to point out the difference between the two updates. Not for any advice on that matter. I didn´t know that this was such a sensible matter in this forum.
It isn't sensitive not just something you'll find any one interested in.
Knowing that your version of Avast updated with out incident is always good news but, it's also expected.
If it does have issues, reporting and solving those issues is what this forum is all about. :)

Free avast! Security Seminar: http://bit.ly/2N1eaR2  -  Important: http://www.organdonor.gov/ -- My Web Site: http://bob3160.strikingly.com/ - Win 11 Pro v21H2 64bit, 16 Gig Ram, 1TB SSD, Avast Free 22.5, How to Successfully Install Avast http://goo.gl/VLXdeRepair & Clean Install https://goo.gl/t7aJGq -- My Online Activity https://

Offline ky331

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 303
Re: AVAST 2015 R3 (2015.10.3.2223)
« Reply #74 on: July 17, 2015, 03:44:14 AM »
As best as I can determine, something in this newest build is blocking the MSRT  (Microsoft's Malicious Software Removal Tool) from running on XP:   when avast is enabled, the MSRT starts/tries to run, but it just "dies" and exits from memory... there are no warning messages from avast, and nothing appears to have been quarantined. 

But if I disable avast's shields --- specifically, the File System shield --- I can then run the MSRT.   Seems to be a clear "cause and effect" relationship here.
« Last Edit: July 17, 2015, 03:54:37 AM by ky331 »
Lenovo T530 laptop, Intel Core i5-3320M @ 2.60 GHz, 8GB RAM, Windows 7 Pro SP1 (64-bit), avast! 17 Free, MBAM3 Pro, Windows Firewall, MVPS HOSTS file, OpenDNS Family Shield, Zemana AntiLogger Free, SpywareBlaster, IE11 & Firefox [both using WOT (IE set to WARN, FF set to BLOCK)], WinPatrol PLUS, uBlock Origin, MBAE, MCShield, CryptoPrevent, SAS (on-demand scanner). 
[I believe computer-users who sandbox (Sandboxie) are acting prudently.]