Author Topic: Bypass geo-restrictions  (Read 4232 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline mikeh2

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 3
Bypass geo-restrictions
« on: July 14, 2015, 02:46:35 PM »
Hi
I am new to secureline and am only testing it because I travel a lot and want to be able to access service back home that are geo specific. Very prominent on the Avast web site is that secureline will help bypass geo-restrictions but every site I have tries still tells me I am out of the country. When I look at the settings it tells me I am connected to London but that doesnt appear to be the case.
So, my question is easy - does this work and if so how.
Thanks

Offline Eddy

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Maybe Bot
  • ***
  • Posts: 31301
  • Watching (over?) you
    • Malware removal, Biljart and other things.
Re: Bypass geo-restrictions
« Reply #1 on: July 14, 2015, 03:40:04 PM »
You can select to what vpn server you want to connect.

Offline mikeh2

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 3
Re: Bypass geo-restrictions
« Reply #2 on: July 14, 2015, 04:12:31 PM »
I want to be on London as the services I want to access are UK based but all of them tell me I am out of the country.

Offline Eddy

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Maybe Bot
  • ***
  • Posts: 31301
  • Watching (over?) you
    • Malware removal, Biljart and other things.
Re: Bypass geo-restrictions
« Reply #3 on: July 14, 2015, 05:40:05 PM »
It can be the websites/services detect the proxy server and deny access.

Have you tried the BBC iPlayer ?
http://www.bbc.co.uk/bbcone

Offline mikeh2

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 3
Re: Bypass geo-restrictions
« Reply #4 on: July 14, 2015, 06:05:54 PM »
Yes - tells me I must be in the UK to watch. So as far as the BBC is concerned I am not in the UK.

Offline Eddy

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Maybe Bot
  • ***
  • Posts: 31301
  • Watching (over?) you
    • Malware removal, Biljart and other things.
Re: Bypass geo-restrictions
« Reply #5 on: July 14, 2015, 06:33:39 PM »
Strange, at least in theory it should work.
When connected to the "London server", please visit this website: http://whatismyipaddress.com/
Click on the IP address it shows and post the link here.
Or if you prefer, send the link to me in a private message.

Let's see if we can find out more about why it is not working.

Offline shelley8

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 1
Re: Bypass geo-restrictions
« Reply #6 on: July 20, 2015, 09:33:31 PM »
I have just purchased Secureline VPN and am having the same issues. I am trying to access BBC iplayer via the London Connection but it still detects that I am not in the UK. What do I have to do to be able to view iplayer?

Offline Jiri Horky

  • Avast team
  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 12
Re: Bypass geo-restrictions
« Reply #7 on: July 25, 2015, 05:17:39 PM »
Hi,

I have just tried it on Windows with both Firefox and Chrome, and it worked as expected. Without being connect to Secureline, the BBC iplayer told me that I can not see the video because I am outside UK. By selecting London, United Kingdom, it connected me to VPN. Then I hit refresh on the BBC page and it started working.
The www.whatismyipaddress.com says in IP Info that I am in Londo and the ISP is Avast Software s.r.o. Everything seems to be correct.

shelley8,  mikeh2, could you please post data from whatismyipaddress.com? Also, can you verify that you do not use some kind of HTTP proxy server? It could be that the web traffic goes to the VPN tunnel but instead of going to BBC, it first goes to your configured HTTP proxy, which would lie outside UK.

Offline mighq

  • Avast team
  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 4
Re: Bypass geo-restrictions
« Reply #8 on: July 27, 2015, 09:54:35 AM »
I can imagine BBC does detection also on higher level than the IP.
For example, I remember Firefox asking me to report my geographic location to some websites. It could be also this case.

Offline Eddy

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Maybe Bot
  • ***
  • Posts: 31301
  • Watching (over?) you
    • Malware removal, Biljart and other things.
Re: Bypass geo-restrictions
« Reply #9 on: July 27, 2015, 12:21:57 PM »
Looking at Jiri's post, I would say they only detect on IP level.
If the complainers give us the IP that is detected it can (should?) tell us more.