Author Topic: infected with win32:vibpack  (Read 5372 times)

zwymou

infected with win32:vibpack
« on: October 13, 2005, 08:13:22 PM »
I am a very novice user of antiviruses, thought i should have start earlier.
I have scan my computer with avast first and found my computer was infected with
win32: vibpack (wrm)

first in programfiles\winupdates\winupdates.exe

I've look over the net and have not find any complete info on this worm
I may not did the right thing but i have deleted this file because i was not able to repair it.
I have deleted me temp file to make sure there was no problem also.

after next scan I found it back in:
c:\System Volume Information\_restore{C346D86B-B88F-4D89-AC8E-B3FD5C2AF40D}\RP157\A0017584.EXE

zwymou

Re: infected with win32:vibpack
« Reply #1 on: October 13, 2005, 08:17:21 PM »
sorry i had not finished.

last file(listed above) I just asked to ignore.

i made another scan after and now avast have not find anything?

Was it a true virus\worm? Nobody never confirm it in any forum I did research on?

I have succed in getting ride of?! or just have chance to get a very big surprise later?

Offline DavidR

• Avast Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • No support PMs thanks
« Reply #2 on: October 13, 2005, 08:32:46 PM »
Disable system restore, reboot, that will clear all restore points. Do another scan and if all clear, enable system restore again.

It is unlikely that it could repair only certain files are repairable, e.g. files that have been infected (and are monitored/protected by the VRDB), rather than the virus file, which is totally malicious.

It is best to send it to the virus chest, first do no harm and investigate as you have done here by asking questions and searching google (see below), etc. This way if the file has been incorrectly it can be restored from the chest.