Author Topic: Firefox: extra 20 MB on start-up  (Read 9993 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline bob3160

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Probably Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 45131
  • 61 Years of Happiness
    • bob3160 Protecting Yourself, Your Computer and, Your Identity
Re: Firefox: extra 20 MB on start-up
« Reply #15 on: July 17, 2015, 05:56:08 PM »
Using an older version also gives you less protection.
Your computer, your choice. :)
Free avast! Security Seminar: http://bit.ly/2N1eaR2  -  Important: http://www.organdonor.gov/ -- My Web Site: http://bob3160.strikingly.com/ - Win 10 Pro v20H2 64bit, 24 Gig Ram, 1TB SSD, AvastOmni 20.7.xxx, How to Successfully Install Avast http://goo.gl/VLXdeRepair & Clean Install https://goo.gl/t7aJGq

Offline ItNoWork

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 10
Re: Firefox: extra 20 MB on start-up
« Reply #16 on: July 17, 2015, 06:42:50 PM »
@ItNoWork,
Thanks for testing it.
What OS do you use?

***
I uninstalled Avast using http://files.avast.com/iavs9x/avastclear.exe.
Without Avast, Firefox consumes 220 MB on start-up.

Clean-installing v2015.10.3.2223:
Firefox consumes 240 MB.

Clean-installing v2015.10.2.2215:
Firefox consumes 220 MB.

Best regards.

Sorry forgot to mention, I use Windows 7 (most recent version)

As for the problem, the only thing that I can think of that would affect Firefox's memory would be Avast! Online Security (aka AOS) as mentioned by bob3160, its a browser plugin that (I think) gets automatically installed when you install Avast!. You mentioned that you reinstalled Avast!, did you do the default install or a custom install?

Offline Yaron10

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 88
Re: Firefox: extra 20 MB on start-up
« Reply #17 on: July 17, 2015, 08:12:13 PM »
@ItNoWork,

Thanks again. I really appreciate it.

Custom install. No tools/plugins.


@bob3160,

I want a better protection, but I'm afraid there's something wrong with the new version on my machine.
Thanks.

***
Does anybody know how to  contact Avast team?

Offline bob3160

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Probably Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 45131
  • 61 Years of Happiness
    • bob3160 Protecting Yourself, Your Computer and, Your Identity
Re: Firefox: extra 20 MB on start-up
« Reply #18 on: July 17, 2015, 09:39:29 PM »
@ItNoWork,

Thanks again. I really appreciate it.

Custom install. No tools/plugins.


@bob3160,

I want a better protection, but I'm afraid there's something wrong with the new version on my machine.
Thanks.

***
Does anybody know how to  contact Avast team?

https://support.avast.com/Tickets/Submit/RenderForm/27/&cls02&ptf01&lic01&scr06
Choose your language and submit your problem directly to Avast.
Free avast! Security Seminar: http://bit.ly/2N1eaR2  -  Important: http://www.organdonor.gov/ -- My Web Site: http://bob3160.strikingly.com/ - Win 10 Pro v20H2 64bit, 24 Gig Ram, 1TB SSD, AvastOmni 20.7.xxx, How to Successfully Install Avast http://goo.gl/VLXdeRepair & Clean Install https://goo.gl/t7aJGq

Offline Yaron10

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 88
Re: Firefox: extra 20 MB on start-up
« Reply #19 on: July 17, 2015, 10:02:06 PM »
@Bob,

I've submitted a ticket. Thank you so much.

Offline bob3160

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Probably Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 45131
  • 61 Years of Happiness
    • bob3160 Protecting Yourself, Your Computer and, Your Identity
Re: Firefox: extra 20 MB on start-up
« Reply #20 on: July 17, 2015, 10:52:33 PM »
@Bob,

I've submitted a ticket. Thank you so much.
My pleasure. Please let us know what answer you receive. :)
Free avast! Security Seminar: http://bit.ly/2N1eaR2  -  Important: http://www.organdonor.gov/ -- My Web Site: http://bob3160.strikingly.com/ - Win 10 Pro v20H2 64bit, 24 Gig Ram, 1TB SSD, AvastOmni 20.7.xxx, How to Successfully Install Avast http://goo.gl/VLXdeRepair & Clean Install https://goo.gl/t7aJGq

Offline Yaron10

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 88
Re: Firefox: extra 20 MB on start-up
« Reply #21 on: July 17, 2015, 11:04:49 PM »
I certainly will. If and when... :)

Best regards.

Offline GTX66

  • AIS User Today
  • Poster
  • *
  • Posts: 460
  • AIS User Till Today
Re: Firefox: extra 20 MB on start-up
« Reply #22 on: July 17, 2015, 11:38:43 PM »
Do a repair and remove the plugin for browser protection.

Offline Yaron10

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 88
Re: Firefox: extra 20 MB on start-up
« Reply #23 on: July 18, 2015, 12:25:04 AM »
I don't have the plugin installed.

Thanks.

Offline ItNoWork

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 10
Re: Firefox: extra 20 MB on start-up
« Reply #24 on: July 18, 2015, 01:26:43 PM »
There is a way to see where the extra memory is coming from. Firefox has memory meassuring capabilities, to access it open a new tab and type in the address bar "about:memory" click meassure and it will create a memory report which will show how Firefox is using memory. If there is a difference of 20MB with latest version of Avast! about:memory should be able to see where that extra 20MB is coming from.

Creating about:memory reports of Firefox without Avast! installed and with Avast! installed will really help. I won't be able to read the reports but the people at Mozilla will be able to. If Avast support is unable to help, I suggest filing a bug report on Bugzilla.mozilla.org with "memshink" in the Whiteboard, this will get the attention of the mozilla developers that deal will memory usage issues.

Hope this helps.

Offline Yaron10

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 88
Re: Firefox: extra 20 MB on start-up
« Reply #25 on: July 18, 2015, 04:43:23 PM »
Hi ItNoWork,

That's a good idea. Thank you.
I've uninstalled and reinstalled Avast a few times during the last three days (quite a headache).
I'm currently trying Panda AV, and I'd rather wait for an explanation From Avast team before installing it again.

I'm not sure about filing a bug in Mozilla; the problem seems to be in Avast new version.

Best regards.

Offline bob3160

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Probably Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 45131
  • 61 Years of Happiness
    • bob3160 Protecting Yourself, Your Computer and, Your Identity
Re: Firefox: extra 20 MB on start-up
« Reply #26 on: July 18, 2015, 06:34:34 PM »
Hi ItNoWork,

That's a good idea. Thank you.
I've uninstalled and reinstalled Avast a few times during the last three days (quite a headache).
I'm currently trying Panda AV, and I'd rather wait for an explanation From Avast team before installing it again.

I'm not sure about filing a bug in Mozilla; the problem seems to be in Avast new version.

Best regards.
Problem is you interpretation. I personally don't see a problem at all.
No two version ever have the same MB usage unless there hasn't been any change.
Even without change, there are many other factor that weight into this situation none of which may be Avast related.
Free avast! Security Seminar: http://bit.ly/2N1eaR2  -  Important: http://www.organdonor.gov/ -- My Web Site: http://bob3160.strikingly.com/ - Win 10 Pro v20H2 64bit, 24 Gig Ram, 1TB SSD, AvastOmni 20.7.xxx, How to Successfully Install Avast http://goo.gl/VLXdeRepair & Clean Install https://goo.gl/t7aJGq

Offline Eddy

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Maybe Bot
  • ***
  • Posts: 31332
  • Watching (over?) you
    • Malware removal, Biljart and other things.
Re: Firefox: extra 20 MB on start-up
« Reply #27 on: July 20, 2015, 04:53:53 AM »
I agree with Bob.
I don't also see no problem at all.

Yaron, what you are doing is saying e.g.
1000 km + 1 mm is more than 1000 km.
But do you really notice a difference when walking both distances ?
I bet you don't.

Offline Yaron10

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 88
Re: Firefox: extra 20 MB on start-up
« Reply #28 on: July 20, 2015, 05:39:34 PM »
Martin and Lukas (Avast team) have contacted me. Thank you both.

I'll update later.

Offline Yaron10

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 88
Re: Firefox: extra 20 MB on start-up
« Reply #29 on: July 22, 2015, 11:30:29 PM »
Hello all,

I've just sent the following lines to Lukas.

***
I think I've found the explanation:

I use Roboform which (in a certain configuration) does not attach to Firefox 39.
I've changed (with Resource Hacker FX) the version in firefox.exe from 39 to 38, and thus Roboform works properly.

Prior to v2223, Avast wouldn't try to prevent the change, and also there was no difference between running the the original firefox.exe and the new modified one.
With v2223 , Avast tried to prevent the change (I chose to exclude). Also, when running the new modified firefox.exe - it consumes an extra 20 MB on start-up.
Interestingly - adding "firefox.exe" to Settings -> Exceptions, solved the problem (no extra 20 MB) for that session; but after reboot it's there again: a difference between the original file to the modified one.

I'd be grateful for a solution.
(I'd be glad to send you the dump files if you still think it might help).
***

Best regards.
« Last Edit: August 04, 2015, 08:59:57 PM by Yaron10 »